BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Voyage Out

Average Rating 3.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Great for first time Virginia Woolf readers

    I'd wanted to read her novels for years, but wasn't sure I was up for them. This is a great first read, her first novel, in beginner's style, before she got too far out there. The prose is great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    Fantastic!

    This book was fantastic! I love to read classic novels and this one not only drew me in immediately, but kept me hooked. V.W has a literary style that is unsurpassed by other women of her time, with an ebb and flow that most women fail to possess. It is an accurate portrayl of a woman that is secluded from the rest of society and has a lack of basic social knowledge. Though I didn't agree with the aspects of feminism, I must say that all men would benifit from reading this, as it lends a window into the mind of women. If this don't make you stop and think of your life and mentality every ten pages, then nothing will.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Review

    'The Voyage Out' is a very interesting story about the education and growth of a 24 year old girl in the 20th Century. I highly recommended reading it in Barnes & Nobles edition specially to students like me who are beginning the American Classics because it contains very helpful explanations of historical facts or expressions of that time. It includes also a detailed biography of the author and an introductory explanation of the book's context which was great because I was unfamiliar with Virginia Wolf's life or work. Only with this help I could fully understand this extraordinary book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Fantastic!

    This was the first Barnes and Noble classic I read, and the story instantly drew me in. I had recently seen 'The Hours' and wondered if Virginia Woolf wrote similarly to the way she was in real life. I was completely wrong. This story is entertaining and refreshing just like a voyage out!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    Nice,,,, Great...!

    Nice,,,, Great...!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful novel by Woolf

    The Voyage out is Woolf's first published novel. This shows through her timidity, and the style, techniques we are used to in her later novels have not developed, or concretely settled down yet. So it's like discovering a whole new Virginia Woolf that is so different from the one, we might be used to by her "Mrs.Dalloway", "Orlando" or "Jacob's Room". In it, there is a whole new thrill and excitement about this book that is very different than the rest of her novels.
    Rachel, the story's protagonist is just a young girl who is coming of age and is learning to break through her shell which she has developed by living in her own world that has the walls of a voyage ship. Finally settling down with her aunt and uncle, she has new experiences and builds new relationships in which increasingly pushes her to the path of marital bliss. There are a lot of tensions, social and political commentary and a great way to understand the England of the time and the different kinds of English women are portrayed in the book, quite cleverly might I add?
    Just as everything is going great for Rachel and her fiancee, Rachel who meets a tragic end leaves the novel with a lot of questions that even arises in our own modern interpretation of our own worlds that we live in today.
    It's a great reflective novel that which portrays so many different kinds of women, circumstances and ideology that it is impossible not to relay those reflections into our own inner and physical worlds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    Okay, but not her best.

    I would not suggest starting with this book if you have not read anything by Virginia Woolf. I am not really sure why Barnes and Noble picked this novel to publish instead of her later works. "The Voyage Out" is okay but you probably won't finish being wowed or wanting to read another one of her books soon after. I would start with "Mrs. Dalloway" or "To the Lighthouse" first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Loving the Classics

    :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not her best

    Woolfe has done better like with Day and Night, Mrs. Dalloway.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5