Customer Reviews for

The Voyage Out

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Great for first time Virginia Woolf readers

    I'd wanted to read her novels for years, but wasn't sure I was up for them. This is a great first read, her first novel, in beginner's style, before she got too far out there. The prose is great.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    Fantastic!

    This book was fantastic! I love to read classic novels and this one not only drew me in immediately, but kept me hooked. V.W has a literary style that is unsurpassed by other women of her time, with an ebb and flow that most women fail to possess. It is an accurate portrayl of a woman that is secluded from the rest of society and has a lack of basic social knowledge. Though I didn't agree with the aspects of feminism, I must say that all men would benifit from reading this, as it lends a window into the mind of women. If this don't make you stop and think of your life and mentality every ten pages, then nothing will.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Review

    'The Voyage Out' is a very interesting story about the education and growth of a 24 year old girl in the 20th Century. I highly recommended reading it in Barnes & Nobles edition specially to students like me who are beginning the American Classics because it contains very helpful explanations of historical facts or expressions of that time. It includes also a detailed biography of the author and an introductory explanation of the book's context which was great because I was unfamiliar with Virginia Wolf's life or work. Only with this help I could fully understand this extraordinary book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Fantastic!

    This was the first Barnes and Noble classic I read, and the story instantly drew me in. I had recently seen 'The Hours' and wondered if Virginia Woolf wrote similarly to the way she was in real life. I was completely wrong. This story is entertaining and refreshing just like a voyage out!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Clara

    She watched, smiling slightly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Shard

    A cloud a mist appeared around her again in the humans places was a large ice blue dragon with opal claws and spikes down her back. " Much better i can only stat in human form for so long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Zoey

    She sighed and sat down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Hachling to Clara

    Ummm i havent decided yet i think i might do fireblossom but meh im not sure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Kyno

    The dragon flie in and looks around at everyine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Lily

    Her heart nearly stopped. "Same." She gently removed the grey/black pup from the wolf's tail, cuddling with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    **Dezrena**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Lily

    She watched everyone, smiling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Wolf

    Went to lily lying down so her pup could nurse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Dezrena

    "LILYYYYY!!!! COMMME IN!!" She called.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Mackenzie

    Stands up. "I'm going to bed. See you tomorrow!" Callie's ears perk up. She rolls off of Katsu and trots after Mackenzie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Anyone on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Jack

    Essay? They suck. What on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Red

    Disregard last post
    Wut happened?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Red to blue feathe

    Hey.. howsbit goin?( yup straight male)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Scott

    He scratches his head holding the bonnie mask. "Man noone can take a good joke. I'm leaving and sorry sis, i'm not helping you get out of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10