Customer Reviews for

The Wake of the Wind

Average Rating 5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 31 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2000

    Just Can't Stop Reading.....

    This is an excellent book. Do not listen to the critics. This author demonstrates a depth of understanding and compassion for the lives of so many that have struggled to prepare the way for so many of us. Keep writing because I and many others just can't stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2000

    We must work together - to overcome!

    This is a powerful and moving saga. We are strong and no matter what the obstacle - Love, family and community bound together are essential ingredients in the move for freedom. This book is a complete illustration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2000

    Suwaibu and Kola...Mor and Lifee...forever flowing

    So eloquently written... So refreshing...from start to FINISH! I just couldn't wait to pick it up again. What a wonderful and telling masterpiece. J. California wove such a enchanting story of the will to live and to help fellow brethren along the way...Life now, should be like it was back then...where there was a strong kinship to ones in the same race, regardless of bloodlines. I can't say enough about this piece...suspenseful, enlightening, refreshing, intriguing....in each phase, she painted the exact picture for the setting that particular phase was told in. Almost like a fairytale... A must read and share!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2000

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOK EVER WRITTEN

    THE WAKE OF THE WIND WAS EXCELLENT. IT IS THE FIRST TIME I HAVE EVER READ ABOUT MY PEOPLE, AND WHAT THEY HAD TO GO THRU SO THAT WE CAN HAVE THE THINGS THAT WE TAKE FOR GRANTED. I HOPE THERE ARE MORE TO COME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    I Love Your wok

    I really enjoyed reading your work so much. I have learned so much about my cultural just by reading your novel. I can't wait to read your next novel. God bless you and continue the excellent work you are doing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2000

    The Wake Of the Wind is a master piece.

    A story of survival against the greatest of odds and over-coming them. A story about hope and dreams, hard work and success, faith and love and commitment. A story about the power of strong families and extended families. A great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    This is her best book yet...

    J. California Cooper is such a good writer. I can't wait until she has another book out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2000

    I am Lif(ee)

    J. California Cooper cannot write fast enough for me. I've read everything she's got and I still want more. She is the best at storytelling. When is the next one expected?????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    Something to make you think about

    My favorite part of 'The Wake Of The Wind' was how everyone stuck together as one happy family and how everyone looked out for each other.I would really recommend anyone to read this book. 'The Wake of the Wind' is a book that will really take you back to your roots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 1999

    Our Stories in the Wind

    J. California Cooper is more of a cultural historian in the tradition of Zora Neale Hurston than a novelist. Her stories reflect not only the images of their time but they resonate with the accents and sensibilities of our grandmothers and forefathers. Reading a J. California Cooper story is like sitting at your grandmother's knee. The Wake of the Wind is no exception. Unlike some of Cooper's earlier novels this story is leaner and more linear without many of the side stories with which Cooper likes to populate her tales. There is still plenty going on in Wake. Cooper traces the merging of two families descended from enslaved Africans to the time of Emancipation. Though there are no claims of the story belonging to any one family as in Alex Haley's Roots you know that these events happened. There is a truth in the pain of these characters that is too clear to be simple fiction. The darkness of Mor, Lifee, Abby, Luzy et al's suffering casts it's shadow still on our days as we continue to deal with the ramifications of slavery and it's aftermath. These stories, with their brutality, harshness, sorrow, and simple joys belong to anyone of African American heritage, they belong to any of American heritage, they belong to us all. This book is wonderful. Share it with your Grandmother and remember, share it with your children and teach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 31 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2