Customer Reviews for

The Walking Dead, Volume 1: Days Gone Bye

Average Rating 4
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Graphic novels are not my thing so giving this five stars is a r

Graphic novels are not my thing so giving this five stars is a really big thing. When I first saw the previews of the tv series, I wanted to read the comics first. I was hooked from the beginning.

Since I am accustomed to very long books, The Walking Dead seemed a lit...
Graphic novels are not my thing so giving this five stars is a really big thing. When I first saw the previews of the tv series, I wanted to read the comics first. I was hooked from the beginning.

Since I am accustomed to very long books, The Walking Dead seemed a little choppy at first. In addition, I had some problems following the bubbles and would mix them up, which of course messes up the flow and tempo because I had to go back and re-read. But I quickly got the flow of it and the reading got easier.

I am in the process of reading the series a second time. I am taking it slower and studying the pictures better, which obviously enhances the story- something I am sure any graphic novel/ comic fan would tell you is a must. I am enjoying it even more the second time around. For any first time readers, I would recommend reading slowly. It is tempting to get through it fast just to finish it, but it is much more satisfying to take your time. Also, you'll remember more and when you watch the tv series, that will help you compare the tv show with the series.

I think Kirkman did a great job developing the characters quickly. Right away I had my favorites. Unfortunately, my least favorite character is Lori. She is a nag, nowhere near self-sufficient and has totally refused to accept that her environment has drastically changed and she will have to change with it if she wants to survive. It's annoying.

And no one is safe. So while you may not be able to detach yourself from a particular character, don't be surprised if that character doesn't make it. Even main characters aren't safe. That is one of the things I really like about Kirkman. He can make me scream at a book.

If you have already watched the tv series, you will notice a lot of differences from the very beginning. While the tv series stays true to the spirit of the books, the details are much different. Characters are different and they don't die in the same order or in the same way. I know some people don't like that, but I think it works in this case. If the tv series was exactly the same, there would be no surprises for me. This way, while I know the general direction of the tv series, I am constantly surprised.

Bottom line, give it a try. This is coming from someone who had never read a graphic novel before this one. Now I follow 4 different series. The Walking Dead may make a convert out of you.

posted by Suvorov on June 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Bad!

It is a very, very short comic and is not worth the money

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Graphic novels are not my thing so giving this five stars is a r

    Graphic novels are not my thing so giving this five stars is a really big thing. When I first saw the previews of the tv series, I wanted to read the comics first. I was hooked from the beginning.

    Since I am accustomed to very long books, The Walking Dead seemed a little choppy at first. In addition, I had some problems following the bubbles and would mix them up, which of course messes up the flow and tempo because I had to go back and re-read. But I quickly got the flow of it and the reading got easier.

    I am in the process of reading the series a second time. I am taking it slower and studying the pictures better, which obviously enhances the story- something I am sure any graphic novel/ comic fan would tell you is a must. I am enjoying it even more the second time around. For any first time readers, I would recommend reading slowly. It is tempting to get through it fast just to finish it, but it is much more satisfying to take your time. Also, you'll remember more and when you watch the tv series, that will help you compare the tv show with the series.

    I think Kirkman did a great job developing the characters quickly. Right away I had my favorites. Unfortunately, my least favorite character is Lori. She is a nag, nowhere near self-sufficient and has totally refused to accept that her environment has drastically changed and she will have to change with it if she wants to survive. It's annoying.

    And no one is safe. So while you may not be able to detach yourself from a particular character, don't be surprised if that character doesn't make it. Even main characters aren't safe. That is one of the things I really like about Kirkman. He can make me scream at a book.

    If you have already watched the tv series, you will notice a lot of differences from the very beginning. While the tv series stays true to the spirit of the books, the details are much different. Characters are different and they don't die in the same order or in the same way. I know some people don't like that, but I think it works in this case. If the tv series was exactly the same, there would be no surprises for me. This way, while I know the general direction of the tv series, I am constantly surprised.

    Bottom line, give it a try. This is coming from someone who had never read a graphic novel before this one. Now I follow 4 different series. The Walking Dead may make a convert out of you.

    51 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ROBERT KIRKMAN'S "WALKING DEAD: DAYS GONE BY" (A REVIEW)

    ROBERT KIRKMAN'S "WALKING DEAD: DAYS GONE BY"
    (A REVIEW)

    Once upon a time I was one of those women that was scared to death of zombies and I wouldn't even watch anything that had them on it. I didn't want to see pictures I would turn my head in disgust and literally run away almost screaming at the sight. I think deep down it was always the thought of 'what if' that kept me from wanting to have anything to do with a genre that is becoming rapidly more popular. Those days ended when my husband decided we were going to watch "The Walking Dead" on AMC.

    I was instantly hooked, and it really had nothing to do with the zombies as much as it did the humanity of the people that were still living. The books are no different. Having read the first one in a series I can honestly say I intend to seek them all out one by one.
    You get a feeling of what it would truly be like to live through such a horrible plague and discover that you are perhaps one of the last living people on the planet. There is emotion, turmoil, truth and sincerity in these graphic novels as well as the show on television.

    You soon even begin to feel sorry for those that have been turned and you have to ask yourself what you would do if that happened to someone in your family. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised and now I'm not as horrified by the zombies as I once was. Robert Kirkman has done a phenomenal job and I can only hope he'll continue with the story for as long as he can.

    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Bad!

    It is a very, very short comic and is not worth the money

    12 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Being a fan of the series on AMC I thought the comic series migh

    Being a fan of the series on AMC I thought the comic series might prove interesting. Jeeze was I right. Despite knowing the gist of some of the goings on in the beginning due to the tv series, I found the read still very addicting. The only time I became upset was when I finished reading because I needed more...

    All in all, Days Gone Bye is an awesome read and I suggest those interested should buy it. I know I will be buying the rest of the series.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Shane

    Great comic book. It is a lot better then the seris on tv cuz the graphic novel has more action, more suspense and more guts and blood. I am not saying that the tv seris is bad in all, i just liked the comics better.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Refreshing!

    I love how the conflict between humanity and survival plays such a vital role throughout these novels.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    why is this available as a nook book if only after purchasing do

    why is this available as a nook book if only after purchasing does it state nook does not support this content??

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    I CAN'T READ IT!!!!

    It isn't mentioned anywhere that I can't read it on my iPad or my P.C. Waste of money.

    5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Great

    I never really got into comics until this one which says alot...I honestly love this series

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    Not a zombie fan here at all but I got hooked on the tv series when Season 1 came out ton DVD. But I am intrigued I must say.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    And it begins

    Ok, this should be in your collection just because it's the only walking dead volume drawn by Tony Moore. The book is beautiful. Even fans of the t.v. show will still get enjoyment out of this. They are not the same, the tv show is almost a "what if". I'm on volume 7 and still find myself going "They didn't really do that did they" Characters show up that arn't on the show and characters die that are still on the show. I love it. But if you do get this book be prepared to get more of them. You almost beg to find out what happens. The later volumes are drawn by Charlie Adlard and while they are good still Tony wins in my book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Amazing,outstanding,phenomenal,epic,legendary

    This Graphic novel was amazing,I was at B&N checking out books and stumbled across this series in the Comic Book section,I was somewhat interested when I saw the title cause I am a big fan of George A. Romero.So I began to read this first book in the series in the cafe and I also grabbed Vol. 2. Not even 10mins later I find myself checking out buying the first and 2nd book, I sat outside Reading the first one,finished it then began the second one, I was instantly hooked,I finished the 2nd one walked in and bought the third book couldnt wait to get home to read it finished that when I got home,The Art is beautiful and the storyline is well done filled with drama,action,terror,suspense,and romance. I am so stoked to get the rest of the serious I would highly recommend this series to anyone who likes George A. Romero,Zombie Apocalypse scenarios,Survival situations,and anyone who is open to reading new things buy it now

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    When it comes zombies I am a huge fan and  other zombie fans sho

    When it comes zombies I am a huge fan and  other zombie fans should be satisfy when reading this book. The Walking Dead: Days gone bye is great because of story, characters, and action. For instance of this is when Rick Grimes is struggling to find his family during the zombie apocalypse. As Rick is trying to find his family he faces danger of zombies from many areas. Its a challenge that puts the main character in difficult situations. Zombies look great in this novel series gets me under my skin when I look at them. On the other hand the book is wonderful for people that are zombie lovers.    

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Nostalgia Critic (Spoiler Alert)

    This is one of the best books I've ever read in my life.
    The story is about a cop, Rick, as he and a group of survivors try to live among the undead souls walking. It shows how people react to tragic moments in their lives and how characters die, such as Jim and Amy perish in the camp attack.This book gets a 5 out of 5. See my review on volume 2.
    :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    Life As You Know It Has Ended

    Alternately funny and sad, "Walking Dead" is never preachy and walks the fine line of having morals, but not a lesson. As good a zombie story as you're likely to find.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Walking Dead, Vol. 1: Days Gone Bye

    I'm a big fan of the tv show, The Walking Dead, so I was curious to see how the comics are. So far, from reading this first comic, the show stays pretty close to it. This first installment ends with Shane's death and if I remember correctly, that was how season 2 of the tv show ended. There's a few characters in the comic that aren't in the tv series, but from what I see the show pretty much follows the comic. So far, anyway because I have heard the two are different. However, I think the tv show and the actors truly bring these characters to life. Rick Grimes is one of my favorite characters, ever, and to see his character change over these four seasons has really been one of my favorite aspects of the story. Actor Andrew Lincoln is truly wonderful in this role and does an amazing job. Creator Robert Kirkman promises that we will know what happens to Rick in the end, there will be no wondering. I think the comics are a nice complimentary reading for fans of The Walking Dead series. The illustrations are pretty neat, I like how they capture the grim reality of what is going on in this post apocalyptic world. I'm a fan of zombie stories because I feel like it's interesting to see what such a world can do to people, and how it can change them. The zombies aren't the scariest part, the people are. It's human nature to want to survive, but at what cost? Robert Kirkman paints a dark and difficult new world here in a realistic and intriguing way. What I really want to get my hands on are the Walking Dead books, starting with the The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor, also written by Kirkman. disclaimer: This review is my honest opinion. I did not receive any type of compensation for reading and reviewing this book. While I receive free books from publishers and authors, I am under no obligation to write a positive review. I purchased my copy of The Walking Dead, Vol. 1: Days Gone Bye.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    The best graphic novel

    This is one of my top ten favorite graphic novel series.If you are a zombie book lover then this is your comic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Addicting

    I love the show. So i decided to start reading the books. And i love them as much as the show.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Tv Show is Great or What?

    What do you people think of the tv show because i think the tv show better then the comic book because well its less suspense full then the comic books and trying not to accidently give out spoilers but sophia dies and well im sad about that part and in the comic book she lives. NOW WHICH IS BETTER THE TV SHOW OR THE COMIC BOOK! You decide im staying out of it because well im the one who asked and not you!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Best comic series ever!!!

    Amazing! I was impressed with Marvel Zombies but this is spectacular! Well written love the plot, but don't get to stuck to characters! And most importantly, learn who your friends and enemies are!



    Beware of...
    ZOMBIES!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8