Customer Reviews for

The Walking Dead, Volume 1: Days Gone Bye

Average Rating 4
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Graphic novels are not my thing so giving this five stars is a r

Graphic novels are not my thing so giving this five stars is a really big thing. When I first saw the previews of the tv series, I wanted to read the comics first. I was hooked from the beginning.

Since I am accustomed to very long books, The Walking Dead seemed a lit...
Graphic novels are not my thing so giving this five stars is a really big thing. When I first saw the previews of the tv series, I wanted to read the comics first. I was hooked from the beginning.

Since I am accustomed to very long books, The Walking Dead seemed a little choppy at first. In addition, I had some problems following the bubbles and would mix them up, which of course messes up the flow and tempo because I had to go back and re-read. But I quickly got the flow of it and the reading got easier.

I am in the process of reading the series a second time. I am taking it slower and studying the pictures better, which obviously enhances the story- something I am sure any graphic novel/ comic fan would tell you is a must. I am enjoying it even more the second time around. For any first time readers, I would recommend reading slowly. It is tempting to get through it fast just to finish it, but it is much more satisfying to take your time. Also, you'll remember more and when you watch the tv series, that will help you compare the tv show with the series.

I think Kirkman did a great job developing the characters quickly. Right away I had my favorites. Unfortunately, my least favorite character is Lori. She is a nag, nowhere near self-sufficient and has totally refused to accept that her environment has drastically changed and she will have to change with it if she wants to survive. It's annoying.

And no one is safe. So while you may not be able to detach yourself from a particular character, don't be surprised if that character doesn't make it. Even main characters aren't safe. That is one of the things I really like about Kirkman. He can make me scream at a book.

If you have already watched the tv series, you will notice a lot of differences from the very beginning. While the tv series stays true to the spirit of the books, the details are much different. Characters are different and they don't die in the same order or in the same way. I know some people don't like that, but I think it works in this case. If the tv series was exactly the same, there would be no surprises for me. This way, while I know the general direction of the tv series, I am constantly surprised.

Bottom line, give it a try. This is coming from someone who had never read a graphic novel before this one. Now I follow 4 different series. The Walking Dead may make a convert out of you.

posted by Suvorov on June 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Bad!

It is a very, very short comic and is not worth the money

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    This zombie trade has life to it!!!

    I really don't buy graphic novels but I love those corny Zombie films. And I was amazed at how this story line grabbed me. This series is worth looking into.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    Robert Kirkman has done no less than write Greatest Zombie Story EVER. Think of the best parts of the George A. Romero films. Consider what are your favorite scenes in Zack Snyder's Dawn of the Dead remake. Ponder the best chapters and narrators in Max Brooks' World War Z. The Walking Dead has all of that, put together, plus a whole lot more. More in-depth, fully fleshed out characters, simple yet stunning plots, heartbreaking humanity, and buckets of zombie gore! Today, as in the zombie-infested future, this will be seen as a benchmark of the genre. The Walking Dead: There Is No Substitute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    1st Graphic Novel

    The world of comics and graphic novels is new to me. I picked this particular one at my fiancés house. At first I thought, 'Oh great, another zombie, blood killing book' but, instead I found myself completely involved. I liked that Robert Kirman incorporated a bit of a love triangle. This was definitely a breath of fresh air from all the novels that I've been reading. I can't wait to get my hands on the remaining volumes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    best comic i've read in a while

    great story, believable characters and good art. Once i started, i couldn't put it down. Can't wait to read the 2nd TPB!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2004

    great

    its great if u love horror and the walking dead i read it in one night and i wish i never read it that fast it was so good i cant wait till the second one comes out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Great!!!!!

    It is the best thing out there!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Thats funny

    I have not read it, but its funny that someone said do not get stuck with the charactors because in the walking dead video game all my favorite charactors die. Except for Clem. Even the main charactor dies! Also it sounds kind of cool, definetly getting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    The Walking Dead

    I have been watching the tv show and just started reading the comics and they are amazing. I love the story and it is a MUST BUY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Love

    Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    The dead




    Its awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Fantastic!

    I just recently watched the tv show and was immediately hooked. So I thought to fill my Walking Dead needs till Oct I would read the comics. I must say they are amazing and I am looking forward to reading the next volume!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    As good as could be expected!

    Can't say enough about this series. Love the artwork and the story is great. If you love the show, as with all things written and then adapted to the screen, you'll love this better!

    Can't wait to finish reading all the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Better than the series

    As always the book is better than the series. Only downside is there is not more story for your buck! Not a big comic fan, but this is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    OMG

    OMG I REALLY WANT TO READ THIS IS THIS A GOOD GRAPIC NOVEL BECAUSE I DONT REALLY READ THEM AND I WANTED TO KNOW BECAUSE I WATCH THE SHOW AND ITS GOOD I HEARD GREAT THINGS ABOUT IT!!!!!!!! THE SEASON FINALE WAS GREAT ON THE SHOW R.I.P Andrea R.I.P Milton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    .

    Cheese

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Awwsomeee graphic novel This is the only graphic novel I will ev

    Awwsomeee graphic novel
    This is the only graphic novel I will ever read it is really good I like everything about it the pictures to the text..if u love zombie books I highly recommend you to read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Whoever has played the game before reading this DONT! The game is almost the exact same as the game so if you did dont buy the book! By the way AWESOME COMIC SERIES!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    AWESOME

    Robert Kirkman is the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Awesome

    This is an awesome comic it'sas awesome as the tv show

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Great

    I haven't read many graphic novels but when I started the show I heard good things about them so I decided to give them a try and they are marvelous the art is not to much but it is still more than enough to get what the author is trying to convey which is an exciting and page turning story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5