Customer Reviews for

The Wall

Average Rating 5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

the wonders of the wall

the wall is the best album out there. It is a look into the despairs of post WWII Europe and the wall Roger Waters wished to put up around the fans that loved him, giving a deeper reflection into the mind of the genius, Roger Waters. Music and lyrics blend together to...
the wall is the best album out there. It is a look into the despairs of post WWII Europe and the wall Roger Waters wished to put up around the fans that loved him, giving a deeper reflection into the mind of the genius, Roger Waters. Music and lyrics blend together to paint an incredible picture worth millions of words. It is no doubt a requirement for any aspiring musician, but also for anyone with any sort of music appreciation. It is the greatest concept album of all time

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Album

The Wall is one of the most famous albums that Pink Floyd has made, but it's definitely not the best. 50% of it is just filler, and then 25% of the regular songs aren't that great. It does have it's moments though. Comfortably Numb has an amazing guitar solo, Hey You is...
The Wall is one of the most famous albums that Pink Floyd has made, but it's definitely not the best. 50% of it is just filler, and then 25% of the regular songs aren't that great. It does have it's moments though. Comfortably Numb has an amazing guitar solo, Hey You is my favorite song on the album, Mother is a nice acoustic song, and In the Flesh? has a sweet beat. If you're new to Pink Floyd, stay away from this album. This was the first album by PF I bought, and I thought that THIS was good. Go get Animals or Wish You Were instead...but if you're big on Pink Floyd and don't have this (which is very unlikely), go get it.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREATEST ALBUM EVER!!!

    From "In The Flesh?" to "Outside The Wall", this album completely blew me away!!! I've had it for three years and I've listened to it, from start to finish, at least 100 times, and I'm not exagerating. This album got me into Pink Floyd, and it has become my all-time avorite album. The stroy it tells and the way it tells it sends shivers up my spine. "The Trial" is basically an opera piece, it's unbelievable how any band could achieve what this album did. If you can only buy one album, for the rest of your life, buy this one. It never gets old, it never disappoints...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Floyd's Greatest

    Roger Waters' materpiece is one of the greatest albums ever, ever made. The story is second to none. The way the band uses music to tell you a story is amazing. How Waters wrote this we will never know. The album's focus is set around an imaginary rocker called "Pink Floyd". Each song is like a chapter of Floyd's life. "The Thin Ice" depicts the insecurities of his childhood, then "Another Brick In The Wall Pt.1" tells how his father died in WW2. "Another Brick In The Wall Pt.2" tells about the evil influence of his teachers. "Mother' explains about how his mother was over-protective. And so on. By the second part of the album Pink has built up a psychological wall around himself. And through the second disc it tells about his life with the wall. In "Stop" Floyd says he is tired of the wall and wants out. In "The Trial" he mentally prosecutes himself and the wall comes crashing down. Then "Outside the Wall" it shows how life is better without the wall. The End. An unbeatable album. Don't pass this one up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Floyds Best Lyrics

    This album is pure maddness, and the lyrics are out of control. You have to be a guiniess to write these, and thats what pink Floyd was, Watters over did him self on this one. Musicall its not the best of pink Floyd but the story makes up for it. This is totally Different then the dark Side of the moon, so if you think you know them by that album your dead wrong, and This is just as much of a masturpiece its just different. The reason I say its not the best musically is because (like the White Album) some parts are totally weak, I would say about 25%. But the Guitar work on Certain songs is some of the best Ive Heard. So stop reading this review and buy your self a copy, however if your just starting with pink floyd I Would look for the Dark side of the moon or wish you were here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Decent Album

    The Wall is one of the most famous albums that Pink Floyd has made, but it's definitely not the best. 50% of it is just filler, and then 25% of the regular songs aren't that great. It does have it's moments though. Comfortably Numb has an amazing guitar solo, Hey You is my favorite song on the album, Mother is a nice acoustic song, and In the Flesh? has a sweet beat. If you're new to Pink Floyd, stay away from this album. This was the first album by PF I bought, and I thought that THIS was good. Go get Animals or Wish You Were instead...but if you're big on Pink Floyd and don't have this (which is very unlikely), go get it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing album ... one of the best of all time!!

    This is one of the greatest albums of all time, not just Pink Floyd's but of anyone's in general. I remember the TV ads that said "they've been building up to this" back in Nov 1979, when the album first came out. Indeed, Pink Floyd built one helluva record! Having moved away from the post-psychedelia mid 70's classics 'Dark Side of the Moon' and 'Wish You Were Here' (both contenders for 'best late-night album to side around getting stoned to') into the more darker, heavier, stripped-down sound of 'Animals', 'The Wall' was an album without precedence and, to this day, without equal. "Another Brick in the Wall, pt 2" sure got lots of airplay (and some of the 'disco kids' in my school at the time liked it as much as any Donna Summer or Village People song, considering how danceable it was), and "Comfortably Numb" was as epic and grand a Floyd song as they got (arguably their best track ever). Taken as a whole, 'The Wall' was not the easiest of listens at first (especially the next album 'The Final Cut', clearly not a party album!), it can be a fairly downbeat and depressing song cycle, but for many of us in our rooms with time on our hands, and headphones on our ears, 'The Wall' became part of the soundtrack to our lives, a perfect end of the 70s/beginning of the 80s album, and ... for this reviewer ... the end of Pink Floyd as we knew them (as the core quartet of Roger, David, Richard and Nick). True, Pink Floyd went on to exist without Roger Waters after Rog declared the group 'a spent force', but heights of rock music were hardly scaled higher than 'The Wall' back in the fall of 1979. A must-have album for all Pink Floyd, classic rock, and even heavy metal fans (the string arrangements on 'The Wall' were influential to Queensryche and Metallica, both of whom employed the same arranger, the late Michael Kamen, to get that tasteful orchestra flavor that Floyd used so well)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Wall is a unique cd

    The Wall is the only cd i have ever listened to where it feels like i have been taking on a journey through someone's life. NO other concept album or any album blends so well togehter. It is a cd where you can't just skip songs you have to listen to it all tie in together until the dramatic end. It's so close to a movie setup its scary

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wall

    Any album by the Floyd is great, but this is their best. The story of a rock singer and his insanity. The movie was good too. David Gilmour plays buttkicking solos, and the lyrics are well-written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST ALBUM EVER!!!!!

    Pink Floyd's ''The Wall'', is THE best album ever. I listen to it every day. The songs are the BEST. A must-have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Definite Classic

    Some of the critical comments about Waters being self indulgent etc. are true but the album suceeds in spite of that. On repeated listening, the album actually makes sense. This is the last great PF album.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An unfortunate failure by a great band

    Representing the end of Floyd's Roger Watters era, this album is a hugely ambitious, hugely egotistical rock opera. Watters's ambitons do not translate well into a coherent album, and The Wall falls well short of other Floyd efforts. A few noteworthy tracks (Another Brick in the Wall part 2, Comfortably Numb)helped to make the album a hit, but I felt that the album was lacking something that was always present in Dark Side of the Moon and Wish You Were Here. This album also marks a departure from the ''normal'' Pink Floyd sound. The album contains far more lyrical material than any previous album, and the psycadellic freak-outs are nearly absent. ''Comfortably Numb'' is the only song that seems ''Floydian'' in sound. Certainly worth the money for a die-hard Floyd fan, but not for a casual observer. I do enjoy this album, and I listen to it frequently, but the quality is much lower than other Floyd works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A couple bricks short

    Probably the best Pink Floyd album to start out with if you're new to the band. It's a double album, and the first CD/Cassette is very good. The second CD/Cassette is lesser so, and tracks like 'Waiting For The Worms' and 'The Trial' sort of ruin the album a bit. But the rock centrepieces like 'Comofortabley Numb', the brick in the wall series, and 'Hey You' compensate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the wonders of the wall

    the wall is the best album out there. It is a look into the despairs of post WWII Europe and the wall Roger Waters wished to put up around the fans that loved him, giving a deeper reflection into the mind of the genius, Roger Waters. Music and lyrics blend together to paint an incredible picture worth millions of words. It is no doubt a requirement for any aspiring musician, but also for anyone with any sort of music appreciation. It is the greatest concept album of all time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Full Circle

    " The Wall" is a nigh legendary album, whenever you mention it in company, you'll likely find half the people around you have listened to it and, of course, love it.

    First released in 1979, Pink Floyd was in a tight spot, they had made some bad investments, and it was coming back around to them. Thus the band reconvened to discuss what their next album would be. Roger Waters,
    of course, gave them an ultimatum, a storyline and concept that would later become his first solo album " The Pros and Cons of Hitchhiking" and the other choice, a ninety minute demo, he'd made entitled, " Bricks In The Wall" the band chose the latter.

    Though the final product wasn't very near the original demo Water's presented them with, with the help of producer Bob Ezrin, the album became something truly special.

    This album was very different from anything they'd previously created, it has a much Harsher, and overall, more Theatrical tone to it, instead of the more polished perfectionist feel of " Wish You Were Here" and " Darkside of The Moon" That being said, that doesn't mean the album is bad, in fact the band uses their newly found rawness, as if they'd been that way since their first album. From the opening riff of " In The Flesh?" its hard not to get hooked. They seemed to be fully aware and in control of what they're doing.

    The album has many,many, highlights, that being said the album is in my opinion, not as perfect as you may've been led to believe. Despite its overall great music, and lyrics, the album is not without its low spots. I enjoyed most of the songs, the ones I found to be a letdown, are as follows: " Dont Leave Me Now", and ( dare I say it) " Comfortably Numb".
    My favorites are arguably so, the entire rest of the album.

    Now, I know you probably want to kill me for insulting Comfortably Numb, I know most people will tell you that song is perfect and a masterpiece.
    But, for me, it seems out of place with the rest of the album being so slow, now, I dont mind slowness, but this song it absolutely exasperating, it just drones, on, and on, and on, and on and on.........
    Floyd has much longer songs, but its just not interesting like, at all.
    Though we do get to hear David Gilmour perform a great solo, but considering he has 2 great solo's on Darkside, a gazillion guitar parts on Wish You Were Here, it just seems like its coming to a party that's well over.

    That being said, the rest of the album is fantastic, and shouldn't be missed, the only thing thats irritating, about it, is that after the Wall is torn down, the narrative ceases, and we are given no clue as to Pink's final fate, maybe Roger Waters wanted us to be haunted by this, who knows, but the album as a whole, is good enough to cover that qaulm, hence you should definately purchase it, as a piece of Rock History - CM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Better than nothing

    I recently bought this to replace my cassette version that was very tired. The songs are all there, but much of the fire that drove the original is gone. Several of the voice parts are overplayed. The parts that gave me that shiver- don't. The deep welling bass on many parts is gone - just for example. It's as though they went in and actually re-sang the whole thing, just sang the words, but didn't feel it. My daughter thought I was just being dramatic until I played portions of my cassette, then the cd. She clearly saw the difference. I have never been satisfied with any remastered music I've purchased, but on such a piece as this, I thought surely they'd do it up right. I don't know how it's done, but I've often thought that the remaster people never even listen to the original. Why would they think we want something different this time around? As I headlined- it's better than nothing- sadly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A brilliant album from a disturbed mind

    This is a masterpiece, but a masterpiece of depression. That's something you ought to be aware of before buying it. It is absolutely worth buying as a masterful piece of music but if you really want to get depressed, get the Movie instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Uhh... Yes!!!

    Honestly, have you ever heard a Pink Floyd song that you REALLY did not like??? Another Brick in the Wall all the way!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ah, my favorite

    The ultimate behind Dark Side. One's mental breakdown becomes ultimate dictatoracy into an internal self-trial inevitably leading to his demise. Excellent premise. This album is almost flaw-free, albeit "One of My Turns". The third most successful album of all time, over 26,000,000 copies. Wow. All hail The Wall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome cd

    my dad first got me into pink floyd and bought me this cd when he found out i like them so much just as he does...amazing cd that is great to listen to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good, but not great

    i think The Wall is an extremely good, well-made album. The tone and feel to it is disapointing thought. THe Wall doesn't flow smoothly or with ease. in fact, at times it is quite "loud" and outspoken, but not in a bad way, i love loud music. I think it is possibly the most overrated album ever. very enjoyable... ps- this album led me 2 the finding of my girlfriend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Philosophical

    If you felt like you were the only person in the universe that felt like you are pinned down by the nails of society, this CD is for you. It gives you a feeling of being release from the world that we know and going to a wonderful place that helps with your pains. Highly adictive. You will for the rest of your life go back and keep listening to this CD. Maybe this is why people like drugs......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4