Customer Reviews for

The Wanderer (Thunder Point Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 255 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Robin Carr!!!

The first book of a new series and I loved it!!! Great introduction to characters who will be appearing in future books... Great story... Link to the Virgin River Series (which I can't get enough of) and lots of interesting things going on in a small coastal town... Th...
The first book of a new series and I loved it!!! Great introduction to characters who will be appearing in future books... Great story... Link to the Virgin River Series (which I can't get enough of) and lots of interesting things going on in a small coastal town... This book grabbed me from page one and I could not put it down... Didn't want it to end and I can't wait for Book 2 due out in June... Was it murder??

posted by SaraBetty on March 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Why some people feel they need to tell the plot again after B&am

Why some people feel they need to tell the plot again after B&Ns synopsis is beyond me and very rude to other readers. That said, I have enjoyed all of the Virgin River series, but this book was very disappointing to me. The main character Cooper was very wishy-wash...
Why some people feel they need to tell the plot again after B&Ns synopsis is beyond me and very rude to other readers. That said, I have enjoyed all of the Virgin River series, but this book was very disappointing to me. The main character Cooper was very wishy-washy and I could never get a strong sense of who he was. For me there were too many townspeople introduced right away, and difficult to keep straight, plus so many love stories. It seemed that there was nothing to build on and I would have liked more descriptive scenery of that beautiful Oregon coast. I'll give the next one a try and hope it is better than the first one.

posted by mysteriesformeCA on March 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Wonderful Robin Carr!!!

    The first book of a new series and I loved it!!! Great introduction to characters who will be appearing in future books... Great story... Link to the Virgin River Series (which I can't get enough of) and lots of interesting things going on in a small coastal town... This book grabbed me from page one and I could not put it down... Didn't want it to end and I can't wait for Book 2 due out in June... Was it murder??

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    Why some people feel they need to tell the plot again after B&am

    Why some people feel they need to tell the plot again after B&Ns synopsis is beyond me and very rude to other readers. That said, I have enjoyed all of the Virgin River series, but this book was very disappointing to me. The main character Cooper was very wishy-washy and I could never get a strong sense of who he was. For me there were too many townspeople introduced right away, and difficult to keep straight, plus so many love stories. It seemed that there was nothing to build on and I would have liked more descriptive scenery of that beautiful Oregon coast. I'll give the next one a try and hope it is better than the first one.

    12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    I try not to read the reviews from readers since some give away

    I try not to read the reviews from readers since some give away the plot so I depend on the "overview" which in this case made it sound more like a drama than a romance novel. If I knew it was a romance novel I would not have bought it. I'm not interested in this type of book.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    I have loved Virgin River was disappointed it has ended but this

    I have loved Virgin River was disappointed it has ended but this new series seems like it will be great. Robyn's books are my favorite and this one did not disappoint. Looking forward to the next one.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    I am a fan of Robyn Carr's Virgin River series, so when I saw th

    I am a fan of Robyn Carr's Virgin River series, so when I saw that she was started a series similar to that one I had to give it a go.

    Cooper has been a nomad most of his life. Having never felt the need to stay at one place long enough or commit to someone fully, he has lived his life as a wanderer - going from job to job and from town to town. After his friend dies unexpectedly, he decides to head to Thunder Point where he soon makes friends with the townsfolk, falls for a woman and learns the meaning of commitment.

    Sarah has given up on love. Legal guardian of her 16-year brother for ten years and after being betrayed by her husband and best friend, the Coast Guard helicopter pilot moves to the town to nurse her wounds, attempt a new start and give her brother the stability he needs. She is lonely but is not looking for a commitment, so when the handsome wanderer makes his move she accepts to his friendship with benefits.

    As expected, Robyn Carr delivers an amazing start to the Thunder Point series with The Wanderer. This book has all the elements I have come to expect from this author - small town charm, great camaraderie between the neighbors, a couple of engaging storylines, great characters and a wonderful romance.

    Robyn Carr introduces you to the small town of Thunder Point where you get to meet an interesting set of characters that brings to the front this author's amazing ability of establishing a successful series. Cooper, Sarah and her brother Landon are just a few of the characters that make this story great. In addition to Cooper and Sarah's relationship, Carr gives us a sweet side story about Mac and Gina's relationship, a couple of parents who have been unlucky in love and go from friends to lovers after being best friends for years. There is also the revelation of Lou and Joe's relationship, a unusual coupling between older characters. All these characters plus a few more that were introduced, added to the story nicely and made The Wanderer a entertaining read.

    I can't wait to discover more about these characters in upcoming books. I am looking forward to reading more books from this series.

    I received this title from Harlequin through NetGalley in exchange of my honest opinion.

    8 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Not Virgin River

    I am a huge Virgin River fan. I've actually read all of Carr's books, but enjoy the Virgin River series best. Wanderer was okay, but did not meet my expectations. I did not feel an immediate connection with the characters. That being said I will give the next book a shot.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    First book in a series and a I really enjoyed it, several things

    First book in a series and a I really enjoyed it, several things going on and can keep up with all of it. I hope the series is as long as Virgin River. Love Robyn Carr.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this latest Carr romance. Once again Ms Carr warms your

    I loved this latest Carr romance. Once again Ms Carr warms your heart and excites your senses with the romantic entanglements
    of the townsfolk, all of whom you cannot forget. I loved the setting on the Oregon coast. I loved the people who inhabit the town.
     I loved that there were several couples falling in love all at once. It was as if someone sprinkled magic dust over the town to make
    each resident find someone and fall in love.
    In this book we have strong masculine and feminine characters, just up Robyn Carr's alley. There are single parents, commitment
    phobic men, and a few women who want to change their minds. 
    The only tiny complaint I had when I finally put the book down is that the ending was too abrupt for me. But maybe that is because
     I wanted the story to go on and on.
    Hurry, Ms Carr, don't leave me hanging.

    .  

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    The Wanderer  A Carr book is always more than just a romance.  

    The Wanderer 

    A Carr book is always more than just a romance.  The worlds she create are so powerful that you are convinced you can just get in a car and go for a visit. - full review available at either BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Plot spoilers

    These frustrated old english majors really need to get a life outside their houses. The rest of us who want a review for real only have to go to the tab section that will give us lowly non inflated egos the info we what and the college "book review" we don't. My review for this book: interesting but it doesn't have the flair that the Virgin River series had. So I gave it three stars.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    I am a big fan of Robyn Carr couldn't wait for the new series to

    I am a big fan of Robyn Carr couldn't wait for the new series to come out the Wanderer is just boring i don't know if i can keep reading it .

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A new town where

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings
    A new town where a character from her other town - Virgin River goes to see where an old friend has passed away and to tie up the loose ends associated with his departure.  He arrives in a small town on the Oregon coast and gets to know the town and the people that make up it.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Robin Carr does it again!

    Looks like another success for Robin Carr's new series. I am looking forward to the next book!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Loved It!

    A great read as all of Robyn's books are. Can hardly wait for the next book in this series.
    LA-TXN

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Anonymous

    Glad to read Coop's story. And loved the secondary romance
    With the deputy and Gina. Ive read all of Robyns books. Yes they are a bit formulaic but I love them and consider her the best in this genre of series community romances. Virgin river is mentioned. Thats where Coop was introduced, so hopefully some of those great characters will show up in these books situated in beautiful coastal Oregon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Pretty engaging good read

    A lovely little novel about some nice characters, almost everything about them seems thought out and well put. Not the most beautifully written work, things are missing, but if you want a quant story about romance to occupy your free time this could be your book. However I will say it takes a bit for the book to really get off the ground. The beginning I found to be a bit dull. Other parts seemed to drag on for a while but if you stick through it, there are some good bits.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2014

    This novel was utterly dreadful. Much like the title, the autho

    This novel was utterly dreadful. Much like the title, the author roamed from idea to idea, resulting in only a shallow exploration of the characters, their emotions, and the contrived and obvious plot. Even Ms. Carr's exploration of her characters' sexual escapades leaves the reader limp--sad commentary, since it is obvious that Ms. Carr is reliving her own sexual fantasies through these characters. Ms. Carr also obviously does not understand--or listen to--the way men talk, because every male character in the book sounded like he was speaking and emoting the way women fantasize that men speak and emote, not the way men actually do speak and emote. The only reason I finished this book is so I could write an honest review; here it is: this book is garbage.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Glad this was cheap.

    Boring - no character development & very little of the story was intetesting. Won't read anything else by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Okay.

    Didn't care for the story. The book is about the town's people and their lives. Too much informantion. Writing is good but, not enough to hold my interest. Would have perfered only one couples story.

    S.A.K.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Robyn does it again!

    Another series and what a beginning!!! Her ability to reach out and surround you with a story that you don't want to put down abounds in yet another of her books. I can't wait for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13