Customer Reviews for

The Wary Widow (Regency Historical Romance)

Average Rating 4
( 574 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(207)

3 Star

(108)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!!

I am a sucker for mischievous twins. And Andrew and Michael are perfectly mischievous in every way. My heart went out to Chloe, she was so easy to relate to. And I found myself falling in love with Andrew right along with her. I am SOOO looking forward to The Bedeviled ...
I am a sucker for mischievous twins. And Andrew and Michael are perfectly mischievous in every way. My heart went out to Chloe, she was so easy to relate to. And I found myself falling in love with Andrew right along with her. I am SOOO looking forward to The Bedeviled Bride, because I think that's Andrew's twin - Michael's story.

posted by A-Reader73 on April 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Mediocre

Oy… by far, the hardest review I've ever written. This book had tons of promise, but inevitably it was simply mediocre in my eyes. While it was decently written and a real page turner, I couldn't really get into the story. Although, I did like that, even though it was l...
Oy… by far, the hardest review I've ever written. This book had tons of promise, but inevitably it was simply mediocre in my eyes. While it was decently written and a real page turner, I couldn't really get into the story. Although, I did like that, even though it was long, it was a fairly quick read. It was also very descriptive, it was like I was watching it all unfold on a screen. I love when that happens. Which is probably the sole saving grace from a lower rating from me. As for my complaints, I had just a few. First was the ability for this story to dwell/drone on certain things. There were many times where I said "just get on with it already!" I was tempted to just start skimming to the good parts at several points because it was beginning to get boring. I also didn't care for the characters very much. They were very self-centered and, toward the end, cruel. I didn't feel this was about romance, I felt it was about deception and making fools of the friends/family the main characters are supposed to love. As for the end… it was pretty bad. I felt like I was cheated out of the complete story. There was no mention of Elizabeth and Michael. In the epilogue when the reader is caught up years later, we reunite with everyone but the two people that played such a huge role in the H/h being together. The end effectively ruined the whole book for me. I was so disappointed. I can't recommend this one for the lack of completeness. And yes, I am aware that Elizabeth and Michael have their own book in the next of this series. It does not change the fact however, that I would have liked to see it in this book.

posted by Island_Reader_Tina on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    lovely story

    although this book has 500 pages it was a quick but lovely story. i especiall love the rags to riches aspect.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Great read; 538 pages

    Ok, not perfect, not the best I've ever read, BUT, a great read nonetheless.

    Just happen to be really partial to Regency era stories, and this only had a couple minor bumps.

    No major problems with characters acting 'out-of-character', storyline flowed all connections intact.

    Apparently one story in a series of stories about these characters, so if you like this, there are plenty more where it came from! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Great historical romance

    I thought the book was well written with loveable charactors. Totally loved both families. Like one reviewer said, they woud all make great friends. Highly recmd!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Good romance

    Has you wanting to read more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    good romance book

    I liked it, try it...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    I loved this book.

    I loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Very Enjoyable - Fast Read

    Confirms the confusion created by the custom of what was once the practice of traditions of chosing marriage partners at infancy. Also, the distinction of social classes indicating the blatant fact that money determines a persons social status. The total disregard of the true feelings of individuals is ignored. The ultimate importance is to marry and create an empire or salvage one on the brink of ruin.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Very Good

    A very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Excellent book! I loved it.

    I've never read any of Jerrica Knight books before but this was so good I had to get some more of her's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    This is a must read.....I loved it.

    This is a must read.....I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Plesant

    A simple story and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Darn Good Reading.................................

    Add a star if you ever fell in love with the wrong person. Chloe finds her self in love with her cousins groom to be. To make matters worse Andrew--the groom finds himself in love with his future brides cousin Chloe the chapperone. And did I mention Andrew brother Michael is in love with the bride. Sticky mess--but it all gets sorted out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Heartfelt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Total Fan

    I will read the rest, this is book 3 skipped 1 an 2 wish 1 was the free one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Decent read.

    I read this in one sitting, not because it was short, but because it had me hooked. If you are a Jane Austen fan and enjoy reading period pieces, this is a perfect novel for you. I was impressed with the fluidity of the plot and my love for the characters, and felt that it stayed true to the customs of the nineteenth century. If you have a spare couple of hours, definitely pick this up to pass the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    A wonderful read!

    EXCELLENT READ! A real page turner. Found myself unable to stop reading this book.Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Karen

    I enjoyed this book. The twin brothers were likeable and so were both of the ladies. It was a quick read for 500 pages and offered some funny moments along with the drama. You will find yourself urging Andrew to follow his heart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Good book

    Enjoyed this story a lot.. i personallly would have followed thruu with the deception! Just the right amount of description for all aspects. Would have liked to know what happened to th other twin and his wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Good book

    I liked the book. Its not the best romance Ive read but kept me entertained. A quick read, not a long book, it was written ok, the characters are interesting enough to keep one reading. The story line was ok as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book was amazing. I couldn't put it down. It had romance, humor, and I even cried! This was a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11