Customer Reviews for

The Washington Post

Average Rating 3.5
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Washington Post on the Nook

Even though one of the reasons I decided to buy the Nook was the possibility of moving my home delivery subscription to the WP to an electronic format, I then hesitated when I read the top reader reviews, which were mostly negative (and, of course, this review is really...
Even though one of the reasons I decided to buy the Nook was the possibility of moving my home delivery subscription to the WP to an electronic format, I then hesitated when I read the top reader reviews, which were mostly negative (and, of course, this review is really not about the Washington Post *per se,* which is one of the great national newspapers, in spite of the deterioration in the quality of its editorial pages since Fred Hiatt took over - it's about the experience of getting the WP on the Nook). After two weeks of getting the Post every day on the Nook, I can only say that I have not had any of the problems that were cited in the January reviews. It has been available each day but one when I first turned on the Nook - with a notice in the "My Daily" page that my periodical has arrived. On the day that it was not there, I simply went to My Library and tapped "Check for new B&N content," and I had the edition a few moments later. One has to get used to the navigation, but it's straightforward enough: each section gives you short summaries of the articles within, and you can select any article, or just go to the end of the summary pages and dive in, article by article. It is not hard to move to the front page or to any of that day's sections. Only the current day's edition is visible, but you can go to earlier days by selecting them in the menu. I understand that only ten days are kept on the server, unless you archive an edition - which you can easily do either on the Nook or in your online account. If you wish, you can manually archive your copies by plugging in your Nook and copying the WP files to your own backup spot.

The edition on the Nook is not identical to the paper edition. Visuals (photos, graphics, etc.) are not as easy to see. The Nook edition does not have the letters to the editor, the comics, or the classifieds (and no advertising, of course). I haven't compared the content systematically with the paper edition, but it seems that most everything else is there.

I recommend the Nook subscription service to the Washington Post. It has worked very well, so far, for me.

posted by katari on April 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Reluctantly Cancelled My Subscription

While I like the newspaper itself, the electronic version seems to have been relegated to a failed experiment that is not worthy of the attention of the paid staff; rather it seems that the (intern?) responsible for preparing the paper's content for electronic publicati...
While I like the newspaper itself, the electronic version seems to have been relegated to a failed experiment that is not worthy of the attention of the paid staff; rather it seems that the (intern?) responsible for preparing the paper's content for electronic publication is too lazy to order the content based on newsworthiness and has chosen instead to allow his word processor to arrange the articles alphabetically. The paper opens on the Letters to the Editor section. I barely have time to read the "important" stuff and now I have to try to guess where it might be stashed (perhaps in the "asection" as it is listed in the contents? "business"? or way at the bottom of the list in "world"?). The section titles as listed in the contents aren't capitalized, aren't presented in title case text, or even written using elemtary school level English. The A Section is listed as I have shown it, above: "asection", without spaces. It almost looks as if a high school sophmore prepared it via text message: omg, u r gonna luv it! I believe that something valuable is worth paying for; in this spirit I subcribed to the electronic edition in addition to my home delivery so that I can get my "hometown" newspaper when I travel and, in so doing, support a medium that I believe is important. Unfortunately, the publisher of the electronic version of the Post does not believe that the complementary rule holds true: that people who pay for a service should get what they pay for. My inquiry to the newspaper went unanswered (unless you count the automated response that my inquiry had been received). It is with true reluctance that I am about to cancel my subscription to the electronic edition of the Washington Post. I will view the limited content available on-line when I travel, and by so doing contribute to the demise of the printed news industry.

posted by rrbegin on December 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Washington Post on the Nook

    Even though one of the reasons I decided to buy the Nook was the possibility of moving my home delivery subscription to the WP to an electronic format, I then hesitated when I read the top reader reviews, which were mostly negative (and, of course, this review is really not about the Washington Post *per se,* which is one of the great national newspapers, in spite of the deterioration in the quality of its editorial pages since Fred Hiatt took over - it's about the experience of getting the WP on the Nook). After two weeks of getting the Post every day on the Nook, I can only say that I have not had any of the problems that were cited in the January reviews. It has been available each day but one when I first turned on the Nook - with a notice in the "My Daily" page that my periodical has arrived. On the day that it was not there, I simply went to My Library and tapped "Check for new B&N content," and I had the edition a few moments later. One has to get used to the navigation, but it's straightforward enough: each section gives you short summaries of the articles within, and you can select any article, or just go to the end of the summary pages and dive in, article by article. It is not hard to move to the front page or to any of that day's sections. Only the current day's edition is visible, but you can go to earlier days by selecting them in the menu. I understand that only ten days are kept on the server, unless you archive an edition - which you can easily do either on the Nook or in your online account. If you wish, you can manually archive your copies by plugging in your Nook and copying the WP files to your own backup spot.

    The edition on the Nook is not identical to the paper edition. Visuals (photos, graphics, etc.) are not as easy to see. The Nook edition does not have the letters to the editor, the comics, or the classifieds (and no advertising, of course). I haven't compared the content systematically with the paper edition, but it seems that most everything else is there.

    I recommend the Nook subscription service to the Washington Post. It has worked very well, so far, for me.

    29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Seems to work great

    I've been looking forward to trying the Post on the nook but wasn't clear it was available and usable. I just signed up for the free trial, and found that it was immediately available after using the Check for new B&N content option in My Library. Then I had to figure out how to navigate: use the touchscreen to switch sections, the touch screen or the side buttons to move among the article summaries, and the touch screen to move into the article. You can page from the end of one article to the start of the next.

    So it's really easy to use, all the content is there, and it's quick and easy, and cheaper than the NY Times. I like.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    its ok

    Its not the entire post and the articles are abbreviated. No cartoons, lacks entire obits and no romance section. Lack of pictures hinders enjoyment.

    3 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Well Recommended: But use the Trial to See for Yourself

    I have found that the Nook version of the paper has turned me into a devout reader more so than having a paper copy. I'm more easily able to find the content that I want and even explore content that I might not have considered otherwise. I'm very happy with my ability to read a large fraction of the paper in a reasonable amount of time for a busy graduate student. A big plus is being able to carry my Nook with me everywhere and snagging reading time when I can.

    I do miss the crossword and the paper formatting of some of the articles, which makes them easier to read in the paper version. Learning how to navigate the Nook paper took me a few days to perfect, but now its second nature to do so.

    I also wish that bookmarked articles could stick around -- or somehow connect to my Washington Post Account so that I could retrieve them for sharing with friends and family.

    In total, keep an open mind and sign up for the free trial to see if this works for you. It took me a few days to figure out that it did and I am very happy!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    I love it, but...

    I love The Washington Post. The paper has great writers and the coverage ia awesome. The new format lets me read the paper as if I had just picked it up from my doorstep. The only problem is that is delivered rather late and by the time I get to read it, it isn't "news".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    hard to navigate

    I was getting the Wall Street Journal which was much easier to navigate with the table of contents. Of course it cost more. News was good but not as in depth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Poor delivery and presentation

    The format is barely acceptable. I wouldn't be surprised if a couple of interns are piecing it together each morning. Some issues don't arrive until 6AM - about the same time the print version is home delivered. Graphics and charts are almost non-existent. I haven't explored this but it might be more convenient to just access the articles on the Post website.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed it and it was very easy to read on my Nook. Until the NYT is available I will keep taking it. I also tried the Chicago Tribune and cancelled it after two days. If the NYT is more money than I will stick with the WP.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    CANCEL MY SUBCRIPTION

    Not big enough to read on my Nook. Please cancel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    The lack of individual links to each article in the newspaper is

    The lack of individual links to each article in the newspaper is indeed unfortunate .  The titles of each article are listed at the beginning of each page, but
     to read the last article on the page, for instance, means one has to scroll through all the preceding articles which is a damn nuisance.
    I hope this can be rectified.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    I have always liked the WP for content but never liked the forma

    I have always liked the WP for content but never liked the format of the Nook edition. I love the new format where you get a replica of the actual printed page and it has the Article View button on the bottom to read it like a magazine. This is fantastic and I am so happy B & N decided to use this format.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    The electronic format is organized differently but seems to have

    The electronic format is organized differently but seems to have the same content. The problem is the subscription doesn't work, as you can't depend on it actually being delivered in the morning - or even the afternoon - and when you complain about it, no one has any answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Cc I

    Kwwc

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    format and content

    Not much of either

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Bbfg

    Hh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Newspaper

    Well i for one think that this is STUPID because it wont let me buy this thing i want to soooo...... boosh i hate this

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Exdsddujutrawqqry rdr.edsddddzazqqqqe


    ?.mk,mmjjjjhjjjjkjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjkkkkkkkkkklllllllpooooooooooooooppppppppppppsfsssswasssws¿

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Drdcdssx

    Rdkkbhvvcc""'""'$""877

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    New Student Goals Not Color Blind

    There's so much to say about this article, but I don't believe I have the World's time to do it. The flood of memories, not all happy, came flooding back. I remember struggling in some of my classes, mostly math & science. I remember my freshman year of high school that I somehow I didn't take a math class. Flash forward the next year, it was the worst school year ever. The principal hated me, some of the teach hated me, & some the students didn't want to associate with because of 1) I was a military brat; 2) I wasn't "black enough" since I am biracial--African American & White. During the last 2 years, it's been according to teachers, that I'm not studying long enough or simply not at all. I have a learning learning disability (LD) & remember being in a regular classes when I lived in southern MD. All my experiences were at various schools & each were hard enough to deal with let alone having to constantly take statwide tests. This will be something parents are going have to closely monitor & at times fight the schools if you feel your child isn't getting the necessary support &/or resources needed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    the digital format

    I could not continue reading this newspaper because the digital format is horrible. If that doesnt bother you, its a great newspaper so try it out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14