Customer Reviews for

The Watchers

Average Rating 4.5
( 365 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(241)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

So AMAZING! A MUST READ!

I have no idea how this book isn't know! It was amazing and I am so happy I found it. While it does have angels, which in my opinion can get a little tedious and sometimes outright annoying. This book was far from any angel book I've ever read. While the writing style i...
I have no idea how this book isn't know! It was amazing and I am so happy I found it. While it does have angels, which in my opinion can get a little tedious and sometimes outright annoying. This book was far from any angel book I've ever read. While the writing style is a little underdeveloped in some places the author uses words that most others are to afraid to use and this is what makes her writing stand out.
When I first started the book I was a little nervous, there hadn't been many reviewers and most didn't have much to say. Then the book started and I was blown away at the creativity she used to make a world of watchers, half angels that have a temper and aren't well loved in the angel community, the concept of this book is unique. The characters are likable and HILARIOUS! There were SO many times I laughed out loud from the witty banter between all of them.
Our main character, Clare, is used to life on the run. Unlike most characters these days she well informed on whats going on. Her mother tells her that shes half angel and there is a war going on between two dangerous people and they will recruit her but if she doesn't come willingly they'll kill her. So when she winds up in her moms hometown where her mother left, King's Cross, she's not very happy. Already different from everyone else her appearance wards people away further, as a punk girl most are to afraid to come to close, which is how she likes it. People don't ask questions that way which keeps her safe. Then she meets Daniel, the popular boy that all the girls love and all the boys envy. There first encounter, while hilarious, is not on the best of terms. Daniel is curious about the punk girl that has shown up and beat him where no one else could. This is the making of a witty and hilarious friendship that sparks something deeper.
The secondary characters are great, the action is intense, the romance is heart warming and the plot special. This book has it all and is a must read!

posted by Luna_Maxwell on November 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

No way!

This book is identical to.... THE MORTAL INSURMENTS? I cannnt believe nobody has sued this author....just wow!

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 365 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Amazing

    AMAZING BOOK! It is very well written and has lots of clif hangers to keep you intriueged. You will come to love and respect the charactors AND the plot! I highly reccomend this book. And the second. And the third and fourth. ;D

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Stole from Twilight

    Trite. It's curios to me how this author took details and story line from the Twilight saga and used them in her book. Twilight was awesome but this book was boring and predictable. Come up with something original. I agree with another reviewer and I'm surprised she hasn't been sued. Go ahead and read this unless you've read Twilight. Then don't waste your time.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    I loved this series and was a little sad when I reached the end

    I loved this series and was a little sad when I reached the end and had to find another book to read. It's a very interesting take on the idea and history of angels and how they interact with the human world.  There are some spelling and grammatical issues that pop up in the later books, but the story is so engrossing it was fairly easy to overlook them. 

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    f

    good book for tweens yong adults and and preteens caus im one

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    very nice

    More designed for teen aged readers. Kept me hooked all the way to the end.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    ...

    This review is more for the whole series in general.... i read all 4 books and i must say this is by far my favorite series ever. Clare develops into such a powerful watcher throughout the series that i am completely envious... she goes through so much pain and yet shes still compassionate. This book only gives you a hint of how the rest of her journey is like... if you love romance, drama, a little bit of tragedy, and an epic all-or-nothing battle, then trust me this book will keep you hooked the entire way through

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Wow!!

    I just finished the fourth book in this series, and I found it fantastic! I could not put down my nook. For those reviewers calling this a rip off from The Mortal Instruments, its not, they are not even remotely similiar. This book put a completely new look into half angels and the battle scenes were amazing! I love that the main character is so strong and she grows exponetionally throughout the story. She doesn't take crap from anyone and she solves her issues instead of moaning about them! These books are only 2.99 each. So worth it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Great read!

    Such an enjoyable read! Whether this is a teen read or not, would recommend to anyone who likes supernatural. Cannot wait for more! However, for anyone who does not want to get dragged into another series, this novel can stand alone as it does give closure with a hint of future stories for those who don't want to see it end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Highly Recommeded

    This a really good book I highly recommend it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    Couldn't put it down

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Twilight

    This book is far more similar to Twilight than anything else. If you're looking for borderline abusive relationships and a plot you can figure out by the third chapter, read this one.
    One star for effort. Another star for a worthwhile reading style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Most amazing and wowza

    Great read and quite interesting, lots of everything in it, logic, magic, and adventure. On eof the greatest books i ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Definatly reading material.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Love!

    I was looking for a book to get me back into reading. These books were just that. The watcher series was just what i needed; absorbing me into their pages and leaving me appreciating all the love and talents i have. Definiely recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    I give a book 5 stars when it is one that I just really am able

    I give a book 5 stars when it is one that I just really am able to sink into and have a hard time putting it down. This one certainly qualifies. Loved the originality of the main character! I found it to be a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book!

    Just give it a shot! I got it for free but would not be disappointed in it if i had paid for it so that is saying alot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    AMAZING

    This book was amazing!! It was such a good read i could not put it down!! My three favorite genres are action romance and comedy and it had all three. It was really a great read!! Im 12 and it was appropriate for me. I would say if you are 8 and up you can read this book and it would be appropriate for you. I loved this book, but i have to say the other books to this series did not sound as interesting. I will probably still read them, but i dont think they will be as good as the first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    The Watchers book 1

    I loved this book and cant wait to read book two!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Really enjoyed this book it was an easy read and very enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!

    Definitly worth the 5 stars!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Entertaining

    Very entertaining, hihly recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 365 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19