Customer Reviews for

The Water Witch (Fairwick Chronicles Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Good read, waiting to read the next one!

    I like this trilogy so far and can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Good story

    I read the first in this series and then this one. While it is interesting to me I don't think I will get the third. I love the premise and the other worldly creatures but got lost in the the book a bit. It has a tendency to move a bit slow as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    I LOVE THIS SERIES!!!

    This is turning out to be quite a wonderful trilogy. I did think this book moved a little quicker than the first. I wish the third book was out right now, but I guess I can survive a couple of months till September.

    This is not a paranormal romance for teens as there are pretty explicit sex scenes. Other than that, if you love a good paranormal romance, this is a really good series. It has a great story line, good buildup of plot and characters, and lots of hot and heaviness!!!!!! What more could you ask for?

    Thanx Ms. Dark for another cliffhanger! Holding my breath till the last installment gets here (hope it gets here fast)!!!!

    -- SPeeD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    First off I want to thank LibraryThing Early Reviewers for choos

    First off I want to thank LibraryThing Early Reviewers for choosing me to receive this book in return for a honest review. When I won it I did not realize that it was second in a series until I received it so I took a chance on buying the first one in the series titled The Demon Lover. I loved the first book and I loved this book just as much if not more. It was a great dark gothic story which was also very sexy at times. It has all the magical elements and characters I love such as witches, fey, incubus, vampires, undines, Norse demigods, brownies, trolls, succubus, and the nephilim made a great new add! Loyalties where tested much more in this interesting plot and although it leaves the main problem unsolved at the end your thrilled to know that the story will continue and I can't wait for it to come out because I will be buying it for sure to see what happens to Callie and if she can have true love after all with a happy ending! Im recommending this beautifully written and wonderfully descriptive trilogy to all my fellow book buddies as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Read on March 07, 2013 BOOK SYNOPSIS "You have


    Read on March 07, 2013




    BOOK SYNOPSIS








    "You have only to call my name to bring me back", he whispered, his breath hot in my ear. "You have only to love me to make me human". Callie McFay is the guardian of the last gateway between the world of Faerie and mankind. Seduced by a powerful incubus demon, she has succeeded in banishing Liam to the Borderlands but he still haunts her dreams, tempting her with the knowledge of how to bring him back. But loving an incubus usually ends in death for a human. For her own sake Callie must learn to control her desires and ensure Liam remains trapped for all eternity in his watery prison. Only there is a more dangerous creature than Liam in the Borderlands. The Water Witch is also looking for a way back...




    My Thoughts








    Flat out this second book was for me easier to get into, easier to stick with and easier to follow the flow of all the threads that the author wove together! Now I am familiar with the world she has created, comfortable with all the characters and their different roles to play and totally immersed in Callie's dilemma and hoping against hope that she can finally find a way to free herself from the incubus so she does not end up a victim as did others before her.




    This book is shorter therefore it is a faster reading experience as well, do not be fooled by that though as there is still a lot going on not the least of which is Callie trying to figure out how to harness and utilize correctly her unstable powers so she can prevent having the last gate between mankind and Faerie being closed and thus losing all her supernatural friends and colleagues at Fairwick if they choose to leave rather than being trapped in the world of humans. Between that challenge and trying hard to keep her sanity after banishing her Incubus lover Callie truly has quite a tough row to hoe but this time she also has more at stake than her heart as well!




    This time my focus on the story was uninterrupted and since the world in which it takes place is familiar that made it not only more enjoyable but a faster read as well. I also have to admit that the plot lines wove together much more smoothly in this story and even though it ended in another cliffhanger and with Callie once again bereft there is hope that the next story The Hallowed Door will finally bring Callie closer to her longed for and much deserved HEA!




    [EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series!!!!

    Love this series!!!! I can't wait for the 3rd book. This book broke my heart and I don't know how I am going to wait for the next book. The Water Witch had me finishing with watery eyes. So good! Definitely is one of my favorite series now! So good I can't say it enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    HUNTER TO TABBY

    TABBY, NO KIT ROMANCE! STOP, OR I THROW YOU OUT AND YOU NEVER SEE SNOWY AGAIN!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Tabby

    Snowy u on i wuv u.tabby

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine, and Netgalley.)
    This is the second book in the ‘Fairwick Chronicles’ series, and picks up 4 months after the end of book 1.) **Warning – some unavoidable spoilers for book 1 ‘The Demon Lover’**
    At the end of book 1 Callie banished her boyfriend Liam, (who turned out to be incubus) to the borderlands of Faerie, and is now getting on with her life.

    The problem in Fairwick this time is that the ‘Grove’ are trying to permanently close the last door to faerie, which means that those faeries still in this world would die, and those in faerie would be unable to come back.

    Obviously the faeries are in uproar, and the witches are in uproar, and everyone is generally pretty hacked off.
    ….

    I’m not even sure I can bring myself to finish writing the summary for this book. I just had so many issues with it, not least of all that it was so dull! And Callie just made some stupid decisions. I gave the first book the benefit of the doubt – it wasn’t a favourite, but it was okay. This one was definitely not better. In fact, I had trouble finishing it. I was actually finding other things to do instead of reading it! It was totally one of those sort of books!

    So what didn’t I like? Anybody who saw my status updates on Goodreads, will have caught a few of these already, but here goes.

    Firstly; Callie is off to open another gate (yes – there is only 1 gate to faerie (the one in book 1), but conveniently there is also a second gate – just for the undines in the water to pass through) - Why say that there is only 1 gate to faerie, and then go and invent another one! Check your own story here for heaven’s sake!

    Secondly – Callie goes to open said second gate, gets dragged into the water by the undines, and goes for an underwater swim through to fairie. Hang on a minute – Callie is human-ish –surely she needs to breathe? How many people can ride underground streams without drowning? Come on!

    Thirdly; once Callie makes it through to fairy, she bumps into said ex-boyfriend – Liam the incubus who was killing her, and who she banished to the boarder-lands of faerie for good. So what does Callie do? Obviously, she unchains him, and has sex with him on the river bank. Exactly what every girl in their right mind would do. NOT. Why go to the trouble of banishing him, to then immediately unshackle him and have sex with him. Give me a break.

    Fourthly; when Callie gets back from Faerie, she finds that the storm created by one of the undines knocked her handy man off her roof and killed him. Do they arrange a burial? A cremation? No, they decide that his spirit is hovering nearby, and they’ll try and put it back in his body. So do they get to it? No, they decide to wait 24 hours, just because. Sorry, but either let the bloke die or do something now. Can you say brain damage????

    Fifthly, god this is getting old. When they then decide to put said spirit back in its body, they decide to let Callie join the circle, even though her magic is ‘untrained and volatile’. Great idea when you’re trying to un-kill somebody. And then, when everything goes wrong (I wasn’t surprised), they decide to hire someone to teach Callie, so hire someone they’ve never met, who tries to teach her to shapeshift. I mean seriously, that’s where every witch in training should start eh? Shapeshifting? What happened to lighting sticks on fire, and taking petals off a flower or something. I mean, Callie is enough trouble as it is without adding shapeshifting to the pot!

    Okay, that was the first 35%-ish of the book. After that, it was just dull. So dull, and the decisions didn’t get any better! By 50% the dusting was looking like something more interesting to do (which is not a good thing).

    Overall; somebody else might enjoy this book, but after this book and the first in the series, you are going to have to put a gun to my head to get me to read anything else this author writes. Save yourselves now and steer clear of this one.
    3.5 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is book two to the Fairwick Chronicles, and it exceeds its

    This is book two to the Fairwick Chronicles, and it exceeds its first companion by far! Anything that did not make sense to me or did not catch my attention in the first book, did here; maybe it was because the pacing was better, which lead me to focus more on every detail. I’m not sure,  but if you are a fan of Juliet Dark’s Gothic tones, you’ll definitely enjoy this one.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great addition to the series!

    Book two in the Fairwick Chronicles Series has built on book one, The Demon Lover, and created a much more in-depth, detailed story! I was immediately drawn in, knowing the characters already, I connected and saw how much the main character, Callie McFay, the part witch/part fey college professor has grown into her budding powers, also discovering that, as a child, these powers were bound to hide them from her grandmother, an accomplished and overbearing witch. Finally, I can say I like Callie! She is fighting back, trying to unbind her powers any way she can! The changes in her character seem real, her insecurities are still there, just not so 'in-your-face' and overpowering. I felt like she was finally learning to actually LIVE.

    Supernaturals again abound, throughout the book, but they are far more 'human' and fleshed out, working together to save their way of life when caught in the middle of two factions fighting over the gateway to the other realm where the fey are from. Should the gate be destroyed? Is it worth the costs to all involved? Is there a sinister agenda behind those who want to destroy the last link to a long and rich history?

    Meanwhile, Callie is still finding herself attracted to mysterious men who seem a little dark, still choosing poorly...until Bill comes along. He seems almost too good to be real. Who/what is he?

    I found this book to be the best so far and hope to see more like it! Four well-earned stars for a great plot!

    This ARC edition was given to me by Netgalley and Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1