Customer Reviews for

The Way They Were

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Sweet romance book

    I have just discovered this author and love her books. I plan to read all her books. I loved the plot and characters. I read this book in one day!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    wow..sooo good!

    Such a way gooooood book! I couldn't put it down! My mom read it first and told me I HAD to read so it did and omg good! Such a sweet romance! FInshed it in one day!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Enjoyable Read

    Good story along with a love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    A really good easy read

    Enjoyed this book. I liked this author and will be reading her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Nice story -do not buy the audio

    First, I would recommending reading the book versus the audio. I purchased the audio version and the narrator’s voice (Eva Hamilton) got on my nerves so bad-it was difficult to get through the book. I have too many good ones on my Nook –I kept stopping it. I really enjoy Mary’s books and may try and buy the e-book to re-read.

    When they were young Rouke and Kate were in love and a tragedy tore them apart. They went their separate ways as she became and wife and mother and her husband was killed on a job site. Turns out Rouke, a highly successful business man owns the company. He then finds out the widow is Kate and he is obsessed with picking up where they left off. He wonders if the daughter may be his? A secretary who is out of her element and a niece who drives him crazy.

    On the anniversary of Kate’s daughter’s birthday, she write a letter in a journal which she never mails to the man who holds her heart. Another story of second chances. Can the big city businessman and the small town girl really turn back time and pick up where they left off, or will secrets and lies destroy them?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Well witten.

    This is the first book I've read by this author and enjoyed her writing so I purchased another book by her. This one will be archeived for future reading again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you believe in second chances, and who doesn’t want t



    If you believe in second chances, and who doesn’t want to believe there is always a second chance for love, then you will love Mary Campisi’s books.

    Rourke Flannigan and Kate Redmond were high school sweethearts. They thought they would be together forever. Fate had other ideas.

    Fourteen years have passed since Rourke and Kate have seen each other. Many things have changed, and not always for the better. Kate is now a mom and widow. Her husband has been killed in a construction site accident.

    Rourke is a successful, driven businessman & owner of several construction companies. When he discovers the death of a subcontractor from one of his holding companies, he decides to pay the widow a visit, never guessing that widow was his childhood sweetheart.

    Kate can’t believe Rourke is suddenly back in her life and she isn’t sure she wants him back. She had made it just fine without him. She had married a man that loved her, has a wonderful daughter, Julia, and a job she loved. But was it all as perfect as it seemed?

    In a bid to gain Kate’s trust and see if they can rekindle their love, Rourke moves back to their small home town. With a makeshift office, a secretary way out of her comfort zone and a niece that is driving him crazy with her outlandish ways, Rourke has his hands full.

    Can the big city businessman and the small town girl really turn back time and be the people they used to be or has time changed them too much….

    The journey of Rourke and Kate is a wonderful book and I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    okay

    This book was not as good as some others she has written but an okay read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1