Customer Reviews for

The Way You Look Tonight (The Sullivans Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Another Great Sullivan Series Read

This is Bella’s first book in the new Seattle Sullivan series and I loved it. From the very first page I was hooked and I couldn’t stop reading until I had devoured every single page. This is a must read for anyone who is a fan of Bella’s and if you haven’t read any ...
This is Bella’s first book in the new Seattle Sullivan series and I loved it. From the very first page I was hooked and I couldn’t stop reading until I had devoured every single page. This is a must read for anyone who is a fan of Bella’s and if you haven’t read any of her other Sullivan books then I need to ask you “what are you waiting for?” I loved Rafe and Brooke they were such amazing characters. This book will pull you in and you will be immediately connected to all the characters. I was so sad when I read the last page because I just didn’t want the book to be over. I’m very much looking forward to the following books in this new series.

posted by booknerd81 on June 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

M

Under the cover book blog, you need to keep your plot spoilers on your book blog instead of here on the book review site. You ruin the book for other readers. Plot spoilers are rude and inconsiderate ppl, you never stop to think of how your spoilers destroy the enjoymen...
Under the cover book blog, you need to keep your plot spoilers on your book blog instead of here on the book review site. You ruin the book for other readers. Plot spoilers are rude and inconsiderate ppl, you never stop to think of how your spoilers destroy the enjoyment of reading a book for others do you. Bn, please do something to these plot spoilers. Ban them, fine them, but please stop them. They are costing you lost sales. Who wants to pay money for a book after these ppl tell every detail in their excessive plot reveals.

posted by 8888649 on June 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    Another Great Sullivan Series Read

    This is Bella’s first book in the new Seattle Sullivan series and I loved it. From the very first page I was hooked and I couldn’t stop reading until I had devoured every single page. This is a must read for anyone who is a fan of Bella’s and if you haven’t read any of her other Sullivan books then I need to ask you “what are you waiting for?” I loved Rafe and Brooke they were such amazing characters. This book will pull you in and you will be immediately connected to all the characters. I was so sad when I read the last page because I just didn’t want the book to be over. I’m very much looking forward to the following books in this new series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Oh Rafe!!

    I love anything Bella writes. This book included! I cannot wait to read the rest of the series!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    TWCole

    Another great Sullivan story. Loved Rafe! He is just so intense, but so hot and lovable. Cannot wait for Mia's story. Keep the Sullivan stories coming!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Bev

    Rafe is one of my favorite Sullivans....cant wait to read about the rest.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    M

    Under the cover book blog, you need to keep your plot spoilers on your book blog instead of here on the book review site. You ruin the book for other readers. Plot spoilers are rude and inconsiderate ppl, you never stop to think of how your spoilers destroy the enjoyment of reading a book for others do you. Bn, please do something to these plot spoilers. Ban them, fine them, but please stop them. They are costing you lost sales. Who wants to pay money for a book after these ppl tell every detail in their excessive plot reveals.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    Loved Loved Loved.... can't wait for the next won its a must rea

    Loved Loved Loved.... can't wait for the next won its a must read!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Another Sullivan to fall in love with. This series just keeps ge

    Another Sullivan to fall in love with. This series just keeps getting better and better

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    :)

    What a wounderful and passionate story ,. But then again every thing that is written by this author is top notch and awesome so it is not a suprise really that Rafe & Brooke story was a page turn ... again what a great and enjoyable read ,. I recommend all 9 books in the series and all other books written by Bella Andre., so looking forward to what's next for the seattle sullivan crew (aka Mia and her rockstar ) this book and all others in this 9 book series (so far) are a must read :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Great new series!

    So glad that there are more Sullivans to read about! Can't wait for book 2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    My least favorite Sullivan book

    I have read every Sullivan book and this is my least favorite. I like the characters but there is just no story line here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Bad read

    I was very disappointed with this book. A waste of money. I expected so much more. Avoid this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Bad

    Bad boring could barely get through it liked most of the others but this one just dragged on sorry i wasted my money

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Love

    Another great book! I have yet to be dissapointed. Looking forard to more of the family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Seattle Sullivans (book #1) - full of emotion, laughs and HOT lo

    Seattle Sullivans (book #1) - full of emotion, laughs and HOT love scenes

    In The Way You Look Tonight (The Sullivans #9) by Bella Andre, Rafe Sullivan has become jaded when it comes to love, thanks to his solid career as a private investigator. Years of proving just how many spouses cheat on their loved ones has made him, justifiably, a bit cynical. At least he has some examples of lasting love to reflect on with his parents in Seattle and his cousins in California, to whom he remains close. Rafe's realtor sister Mia informs him of an opportunity to get back the lake house they grew up visiting outside the Seattle area when it goes on the market. He has to agree that a change of scenery would do wonders for his life at this point so he decides to buy it and take a much needed vacation. 

    'Jesus Christ, when had Brooke turned into Marilyn Monroe? Twenty years ago she'd been a cute kid. But now? Hell, now she was every single one of his dirtiest fantasies come to life.'

    Never in his wildest dreams did Rafe expect to see Brooke Jansen still staying next door in her grandparent's house, when he arrives at the lake. She was a few years younger than him and had been a sweet, innocent girl who loved to play in the lake and who was best friend's with his sister Mia. Brooke is just as sweet and caring as he remembered, but he can see she filled out in all the right places thanks to the bikini she's wearing when they meet again for the first time in twenty years. Rafe ends up staying with Brooke while he cleans up the horrible mess inside his house. When they can't ignore their obvious attraction, she offers him a chance to have a summer fling with no strings attached, saying she wants to be wild for once in her life. Rafe knows he should convince her to remain strictly friends so he doesn't tarnish her almost childlike innocence, but he can't help himself. He's never had such an intense reaction to any woman before. He only hopes he can keep a level head and not hurt her, or he will never forgive himself.

    'When she was eight years old, the crush she'd had on Rafe was sweet. Innocent. But what she was feeling now was decidedly not sweet. Nor was it anywhere close to innocent. Wild. The thought--no, it was more desire and pure need than it was a cognizant thought--came at her in an instant: I want to be wild with Rafe Sullivan.'

    Brooke Jansen loves living in the lakeside house her grandparents left to her after their unfortunate car accident. She gave up her job in Boston working in HR to start her own business making handmade chocolate truffles that she sells locally. Although she misses them terribly, she feels connected to her grandparents, remembering the wonderful summers she spent here with them. She also remembers the "Seattle Sullivans" that stayed next door during her childhood. Especially Rafe Sullivan whom she had a huge childhood crush on for years. While she's in the lake cooling off, remembering those fun days, a ruggedly handsome man roars up next door on a motorcycle. Brooke is shocked to see it's Rafe and can't help but to throw herself into his arms in a big embrace. She offers him a place to stay after they take a look inside the house next door and see what a disaster it is. She knows she won't be able to even think straight with him so near so she decides to be brazen and suggests they have a wild summer together as friends-with-benefits. Only, Brooke didn't realize that she would be in way over her head and fall completely in love with Rafe.

    Bella Andre's first book about the Seattle Sullivans is a great way to start off! It was a quick but enjoyable read full of emotion, laughs and HOT love scenes. Um, laying in chocolate ganache on a granite work surface, hello... Rafe is my favorite kind of bad boy: he has a tough, rugged persona with an intense job and sleek motorcyle, but he cares deeply for his family and protects his loved ones at all costs. And it was easy (at least for me) to relate to Brooke wanting to break free of her good girl lifestyle, to be wild and reckless for the summer. Given her attraction to Rafe and the fact that she felt comfortable with him as she had known him almost all her life, he was the obvious choice. They were definitely a perfect combination. Now I can't wait to read Mia's story next in book ten!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    . Bella Andre continues her fabulous Sullivan Series with the Se

    . Bella Andre continues her fabulous Sullivan Series with the Seattle branch of the family. And Oh what a hot start it is!
    Rafe Sullivan is a PI who has turned cynic due to seeing the worst in human behavior for years and is completely burned out. His sister Mia (who is a real estate mogul) railroads him into buying the lake house that his parents owned and were forced to sell due to financial difficulties when he was in his teens. As the lake house is a source of many many great childhood memories he decides this is the perfect place to decompress. When he arrives he notices two things...the interior of the lake house has been completely destroyed by the previous tenants and the cute neighbor he remembers from childhood is all grown up and sending his hormones into overdrive.
    Brooke Jansen is a happy and carefree woman who has been living her dreams after the death of her Grandparents. She moved from Boston and her dull job (against her parents wishes) and is living full time at the lake building her chocolate truffle business which is really starting to take off. Thanks to her business partner she will soon be opening up her own store. She has never forgotten the "wild" Sullivan's from her childhood, especially Rafe who was her first crush.
    When a new neighbor arrives on a motorcycle Brooke immediately recognizes Rafe and the childhood crush turns into instantaneous sizzling attraction. She is hoping that the now dark and dangerous Rafe will take her for a walk on the wild side, but Rafe sees Brooke as everything that is pure and good and he doesn't want to corrupt her. Brooke offers for Rafe to stay with her while he is rebuilding and fixing up his house and they agree on a summer fling with no strings attached.
    As their romance blossoms Brooke begins to help bring joy and the belief in true love back into the disillusioned Rafe's life. But Rafe's line of work and overall lack of faith and trust in humanity gets in the way as he investigates not only Brookes business partner but herself as well thus treating her as her parents do as if she is incapable of making the right decisions for herself. Now Brooke has to decide if Rafe truly has changed and if their true love is really capable of conquering all.

    I want to thank Netgalley and Harlequin for the chance to review this ARC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Book #9 - Super!!!

    Talk about the Boy Next Door!! WOW! Rafe Sullivan is the whole package and then some... Grew up in the wonderful Sullivan Family and went on to do big things with his life (read about it)...When his realtor sister learns that the family cottage on the lake (his parents lost it years ago when the Dad lost his job) is on the market she pushes him to buy it... He does and finds it in a mess after it has been used as a rental for years... But, the family next door is still there and I will not play the spoiler and tell you what happens... Read this one and fall in love with yet more Sullivans... Love this author and her story telling talent... Characters are like next door neighbors you can relate to in a big way...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    Enjoyable series-enjoyable read

    Enjoyed the whole series. Loved the close family and of course, enjoy the characters finding their true love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    Rafe and Brook's story was really enjoyable and sweet.  Bella An

    Rafe and Brook's story was really enjoyable and sweet.  Bella Andre did a wonderful job bringing the characters to life and falling in love
    with each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Absolutely LOVED it!

    The perfect mix of sweet, sexy, passion and a little naughtiness to keep me reading with a few short pauses. An easy read without some of the extreme angst some adult romance novels like to include. All of the characters are wonderful and the little snippets of the siblings/family that are peppered throughout the book, have me wanting to read their stories too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Title: The Way You Look Tonight Author: Bella Andre Published: O

    Title: The Way You Look Tonight
    Author: Bella Andre
    Published: Oak Press LLC
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Series: The Sullivan's #9
    Rating: 5
    Review:

    "The Way You Look Tonight" by Bella Andre was the meeting of the Seattle, WA Sullivan Family. These Sullivan's are the cousins of 'Chase, Marcus, Gabe, Zach, Ryan, Smith Naughty and Nice.' This series is about Rafe Sullivan who was a very successful PI and wasn't enjoying his job the way he use to. Mia, Rafe sister thought a vacation was needed and gets him to buy the lake house that had once belonged to his parents when they were kids. So, Rafe heads for the lake house and who does he find is his next door neighbor? A childhood friend named Brooke Jansen was now living her grandparents home. Brooke's grandparents had passed away and left her their house. Brooke had been living in the house for three years and had owned a Truffle business . Now,this is where I say you must pick up the wonderful read to see what will happen after Rafe and Brooke meet up after all this time. I don't want to give any of it away but I will ask will there be a 'summer fling' between these two? I simply loved how this author put this story all together because be aware there will be hot sexy and even some kinky stuff going on. I found the characters were all well developed, interesting and oh so such a colorful only giving the reader an amazing good read. I also enjoyed how the author presented detailed descriptions of the cabin and lake in this resort area. You will find yourself laughing and smiling as you read through "The Way You Look Tonight." By the end of this read you will find yourself just waiting to the next Sullivan story and with that being said would I recommend this series? YES, YES and YES! This was truly a beautiful read of the 'Seattle Sullivans.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5