Customer Reviews for

The Wedding

Average Rating 4.5
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfully insightful

It was refreshing to have a heroine that was not a bullheaded, pushy, arrogant female. Lady Brenna was real in a way that she was human: forgetful, thought out loud, loved her God, and cared for all the people in her life but wasn't afraid to be angry when she mad show ...
It was refreshing to have a heroine that was not a bullheaded, pushy, arrogant female. Lady Brenna was real in a way that she was human: forgetful, thought out loud, loved her God, and cared for all the people in her life but wasn't afraid to be angry when she mad show her love in her innocent passion. As much as you might want to slap Connor until he realizes what he really has, he is a true warrior through and through. I couldn't put it down once I started it!!

posted by ZebraNookReader on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not what I was expecting

This was my first Julie Garwood book. I had high expectations for this book, since I had read a lot of good things about this author. Unfortunately, it was a disappointment for me. Why did I dislike it? Connor, the hero, is a jerk. He's barbaric, obsessed with revenge, ...
This was my first Julie Garwood book. I had high expectations for this book, since I had read a lot of good things about this author. Unfortunately, it was a disappointment for me. Why did I dislike it? Connor, the hero, is a jerk. He's barbaric, obsessed with revenge, and just an overall miserable man. I don't understand how Brenna seemed to melt in his arms and then fall in love with him. Of course, by the end of the book, he becomes very soft and loving, but I just didn't feel that he deserved her. My actual rating for this book is two stars, but I gave it three stars because the overall writing is good, there's a decent mystery plot, good humor, and I liked Quinlan's (one of Connor's friends) character. I don't want to give up on this author yet, so even though this book didn't live up to my expectations, I will still try other Julie Garwood books.

posted by Kiko1021 on July 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Wonderfully insightful

    It was refreshing to have a heroine that was not a bullheaded, pushy, arrogant female. Lady Brenna was real in a way that she was human: forgetful, thought out loud, loved her God, and cared for all the people in her life but wasn't afraid to be angry when she mad show her love in her innocent passion. As much as you might want to slap Connor until he realizes what he really has, he is a true warrior through and through. I couldn't put it down once I started it!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I was expecting

    This was my first Julie Garwood book. I had high expectations for this book, since I had read a lot of good things about this author. Unfortunately, it was a disappointment for me. Why did I dislike it? Connor, the hero, is a jerk. He's barbaric, obsessed with revenge, and just an overall miserable man. I don't understand how Brenna seemed to melt in his arms and then fall in love with him. Of course, by the end of the book, he becomes very soft and loving, but I just didn't feel that he deserved her. My actual rating for this book is two stars, but I gave it three stars because the overall writing is good, there's a decent mystery plot, good humor, and I liked Quinlan's (one of Connor's friends) character. I don't want to give up on this author yet, so even though this book didn't live up to my expectations, I will still try other Julie Garwood books.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    All time favorite!

    This is absolutely my favorite. I've read it so many times that I've lost count. It has a great combination of romance, suspense, drama, and comedy. I hope it comes out as an eBook as my copy is starting to fall apart. Love, love, love!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this book! I am glad Julie Garwood brought back some characters from The Bride for this book. I recommend reading The Bride first because then you have a better feel for some of the characters and the setting in this book. If there is ever a third book continuing this story, I will be sure to get it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow. Amusing, emotional and cute.

    This book was great, Julie Garwood is a truly talented person. Both emotionaly and physicaly scarred men who can grow and learn and be putty with their women (in a good way) are a favorite of mine. Brenna is so forgetful that she leaves things in her wake (including shoes) how can you not love someone so absent minded with a huge heart.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Read this Book!

    I have read it four times and it never gets old. This is my favorite book by Julie Garwood and one of my top 5 reads. I laugh so hard reading this book. I tell everyone I know that reads books to read this!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    I did NOT like this book

    I love Julie Garwood books. I always finish with a happy feeling inside and in love with the characters. Unfortunatly this was NOT the case with this book.

    The hero was a jack-hole. He had no redeeming qualities. He was bossy. He cared about no one other than himself and revenge. He had no concept of feelings. His whole dialogue was telling her what she was doing wrong! You can't kiss me without permission. You can't talk about your family. You can't talk to me without permission. You can't sneeze without permission and for goodness sake don't EVER give me your opinion! I'm in charge and I'm in control of everything. I personally wanted to choke him out.

    The heroine of the book was no better. She'd give her opinion andthen when she was chastised for it she would second guess herself and think of reasons why she was wrong. THEN she would try to take comfort from him when he had done something horrible and just wrong! It wasn't even remotely believable. She was a push over. I like strong female leads. This was not one.

    By page 80 I was counting pages for when the book would be over. I kept thinking it had to get better soon because this is a Julie Garwood book! It didn't get better. I was screaming at my nook, "are you FREAKING KIDDING ME!" I FORCED myself to finish it.

    I gave the book 2 stars. I did this because the prologue was good and it really caught my attention. I also did it because the book got a little interesting with 100 pages left. (I know. I was counting.) But it still wasn't great.

    Julie Garwood books are amazing. She is a fantastic author with an amazing talent for telling stories. If you haven't read her before PLEASE don't start with this book. Try The Secret. That was a great book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    The very best

    This book was amazing....loved every minute

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    If you like to laugh while you read it is so worth a read!!!!

    This 1 of 2 of my favorite books by Julie Garwood, the other is 'The Bride'. I laugh so much when I read either one. I first bought the hard copies over I would say 10 to 15 years ago (maybe longer) but these books are the ones I go back to when I want a real good read and laugh. But since I purchased my Nook Tablet and now have them both on my Nook I 'love' them even more because I carry my Nook EVERYWHERE, it is so much lighter than a book, and now I may read at a railroad crossing or when stuck in a traffic jam. But I diverse, this book is good if you like strong will men and women along with some mystery. I must also admit I like Julie Garwood's early works so much but only because I don't care for modern day venues. Enjoy and try the book 'The Bride' and really you should read it 1st and then 'The Wedding". It won't find it a waste of time or money!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Loved this book

    Had to write a review after i read last review. This is a wondergul love story set in another time period. Marriages were arranged....roles of men and women were different. Please uhderstand that when reading. I found a timeless romance.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    5 STARS

    I LOVE TO READ JULIE GARWOOD BOOKS AND 'THE WEDDING' WAS VERY GOOD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Great book!!!!

    Love this story!!! Must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    Worth reading. I enjoyed most of the book I didn't feel I could

    Worth reading. I enjoyed most of the book I didn't feel I could give it 5 stars because she left me puzzled.Why make the "hero" of a previous book, the villain (she did so with the very last sentence)? 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Julie Garwood has done it again... Another Ahhhhmazing Scottish

    Julie Garwood has done it again... Another Ahhhhmazing Scottish historical romance. From beginning to end this book was great! The banter between Brenna and Connor had me cracking up and the chemistry was off the charts! Not to mention that we get to revisit Alec and Jamie from "The Bride" which I also loved. All in all a really great book that I highly recommend! I give this 10 stars!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    I loved this book!! I read it in two days! I only wish Julie Gar

    I loved this book!! I read it in two days! I only wish Julie Garwood would continued the story with Quinlan and Faith. I also want more highland lairds stories. She is brilliant writing them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    You will LoVe this book!! A must read!!

    This author is awesome! She is one of my favorites in my TOP 3 of all time! (Deveraux, Woodiwiss, Garwood). I love how the characters interacted, and especially love how the two main characters met again in the woods while the Highlanders were all painted blue, and the way they tricked her into repeating her request from all those years ago had my laughing. I just wish Garwood would write a sequel to this one on the sister...I was anticipating her straying from the path at the monastary so she would become "fair game".
    This is a book that you must add to your nook library! It is so well worth your money!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    liked this book alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Great read!

    I love all her books and this one was no different. Totally enjoyed the story and loved that she brought my favorite characters from The Bride into this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Gret Great

    Great book!!!! Love brenna. Couldnt put down. MUST READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    test

    test

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13