BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Wedding

Average Rating 4.5
( 257 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfully insightful

It was refreshing to have a heroine that was not a bullheaded, pushy, arrogant female. Lady Brenna was real in a way that she was human: forgetful, thought out loud, loved her God, and cared for all the people in her life but wasn't afraid to be angry when she mad show ...
It was refreshing to have a heroine that was not a bullheaded, pushy, arrogant female. Lady Brenna was real in a way that she was human: forgetful, thought out loud, loved her God, and cared for all the people in her life but wasn't afraid to be angry when she mad show her love in her innocent passion. As much as you might want to slap Connor until he realizes what he really has, he is a true warrior through and through. I couldn't put it down once I started it!!

posted by ZebraNookReader on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not what I was expecting

This was my first Julie Garwood book. I had high expectations for this book, since I had read a lot of good things about this author. Unfortunately, it was a disappointment for me. Why did I dislike it? Connor, the hero, is a jerk. He's barbaric, obsessed with revenge, ...
This was my first Julie Garwood book. I had high expectations for this book, since I had read a lot of good things about this author. Unfortunately, it was a disappointment for me. Why did I dislike it? Connor, the hero, is a jerk. He's barbaric, obsessed with revenge, and just an overall miserable man. I don't understand how Brenna seemed to melt in his arms and then fall in love with him. Of course, by the end of the book, he becomes very soft and loving, but I just didn't feel that he deserved her. My actual rating for this book is two stars, but I gave it three stars because the overall writing is good, there's a decent mystery plot, good humor, and I liked Quinlan's (one of Connor's friends) character. I don't want to give up on this author yet, so even though this book didn't live up to my expectations, I will still try other Julie Garwood books.

posted by Kiko1021 on July 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I was expecting

    This was my first Julie Garwood book. I had high expectations for this book, since I had read a lot of good things about this author. Unfortunately, it was a disappointment for me. Why did I dislike it? Connor, the hero, is a jerk. He's barbaric, obsessed with revenge, and just an overall miserable man. I don't understand how Brenna seemed to melt in his arms and then fall in love with him. Of course, by the end of the book, he becomes very soft and loving, but I just didn't feel that he deserved her. My actual rating for this book is two stars, but I gave it three stars because the overall writing is good, there's a decent mystery plot, good humor, and I liked Quinlan's (one of Connor's friends) character. I don't want to give up on this author yet, so even though this book didn't live up to my expectations, I will still try other Julie Garwood books.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    Worth reading. I enjoyed most of the book I didn't feel I could

    Worth reading. I enjoyed most of the book I didn't feel I could give it 5 stars because she left me puzzled.Why make the "hero" of a previous book, the villain (she did so with the very last sentence)? 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    A nice read, but not the best out there....

    The Wedding was my first Julie Garwood and after I heard so much praise about her I was a little dissapointing after reading this one. I thought the beginning was great and the story line eventually faded into a not-so-interesting read. At some points I had thought Garwood simply ran out of things to talk about in the story and made up things that really shouldn't have been included. I was dissapointed that the relationship between Connor and Brenna wasn't more extended and heartfelt...Overall it was a good book however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    it was ok

    not one her best books. the book started off great, but it was a drag after. towards the end it became intriguing again. if you've read THE BRIDE by Julie Garwood, this book will NOT live up to your expections of Garwood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    A 'So-so' Read...

    Since Julie Garwood is one of my favorite historical romance author, I've read and enjoyed all of her works in that genre. However, I am sad to admit that I didn't particularly enjoy this one. I didn't even want to write a review here for fear of ruining her overall rating. Inasmuch as I admire Julie Garwood, I also must be honest. In my opinion, THE WEDDING fell short in compare to her other works. The usual Garwood magic that draw readers to the story wasn't in this book at all. The primary characters was not as impressive but then they are not disappointing either. They are just alright. The plot also didn't seem to pull me in. However, it is not dragging nor boring either. The first part was funny and somewhat interesting but the latter part became a 'so-so' read. Perhaps it is only me and my expectations of Ms. Garwood's work. Perhaps it is because I've read all of her books which made Connor and Brenna's story simple and somewhat familiar to me? I don't know. I only know that this book was just an ordinary read. It was not as 'drawing', 'pulling' nor impressive as I expected it to be. The add-on consolation of this book are the secondary characters especially the appearance of Alec and Jamie. They are the main characters of THE BRIDE, which is the prequel of this book. I enjoyed Alec and Jamie's story way better than this one. Perhaps I am even being generous by rating this book a 3 stars but as a Julie Garwood fan, I couldn't bring myself to give her a lower rating than this. Afterall, I thought THE WEDDING was overall a 'so-so' read. It wasn't worst nor bad at all.... Only, it's also not Julie Garwood's best work...far from it. Now, that's only my own opinion. If you are a first time Julie Garwood reader, pick up any of her books but don't start with this one. She is truly a gifted and an amazing author. This one just happens to be a short flaw. I guess, everyone is entitled to that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1