Customer Reviews for

The Wedding Dress

Average Rating 4.5
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in the genre!

I think this book has the potential to be the new "Redeeming Love" of Christian romance. It was the first book I've read in ages that I absolutely couldn't put down.

posted by 15460068 on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

The Wedding Dress was a sweet story overall, but one that I neve

The Wedding Dress was a sweet story overall, but one that I never really considered giving more than three stars to. I liked the idea of the wedding dress that gets passed from woman to woman and magically fits them all without alterations (think: the jeans from the Si...
The Wedding Dress was a sweet story overall, but one that I never really considered giving more than three stars to. I liked the idea of the wedding dress that gets passed from woman to woman and magically fits them all without alterations (think: the jeans from the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants, only with the dress passing through time and between relative strangers rather than going by mail among the four friends), and for the most part enjoyed the back-and-forth perspective in the novel between the current heroine (Charlotte) and the dress's original owner (Emily). I even enjoyed seeing things from their significant others' viewpoints as well (Tim and Daniel). The few times it went beyond that, though--especially the solitary time we saw things from the point-of-view of the dress's second owner--seemed more forced. In that instance, it really seemed as if the story could have been just told by the character to Charlotte in the present (which is actually how Charlotte learned the story anyway, so it would have made sense to do it that way.)

I'm not quite sure I exactly understand who the man in purple is supposed to be--I gather he has something to do with the passing on of the dress, and imagine there must be some sort of Biblical/religious reference that I'm just not getting--but I almost feel as if the story would have been stronger without his involvement in it. He didn't do much more for me beyond making me scratch my head a bit, wondering just who he was. This book too was a bit heavier on the Christian aspect than I am usually comfortable with, though it was fairly secondary until the end, when I felt like I was getting bashed over the head with the "This is Christian Fiction!" stick.

One of my favorite parts of the story was the history of Birmingham as seen through Emily's portions--they offered a fascinating glimpse into the pre-Civil Rights era South. I thought that bit was very well done.

Overall, I did enjoy this book. People who appreciate Christian fiction with a historical fiction twist as well should find it a solid read.

posted by beckymmoe on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    One of the best in the genre!

    I think this book has the potential to be the new "Redeeming Love" of Christian romance. It was the first book I've read in ages that I absolutely couldn't put down.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Just finished this book and was disappointed that I was done wit

    Just finished this book and was disappointed that I was done with it!  Great story line and love the spiritual
    aspect without being pushy.  I will be looking for more books by this author. 

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another book with take home value.

    As an orphan, Charlotte wishes she could go back in time to a happier scene of her childhood. She remembers a special place where she often picnicked with her mother. But when she arrives at “their spot” it is crowded with interlopers. Having of all things, a sale. She ends up with an old trunk that she didn’t know she wanted. When she unlocks secrets from the past, she finds her future. I appreciated the theme of finding your heritage, or family, and what all that means.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Freebie Friday, where are you???

    B&N, was the lack of a free book on 4.5.13 just another oversight or have you done away with a wonderful Nook bonus??

    9 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Wedding Dress was a sweet story overall, but one that I neve

    The Wedding Dress was a sweet story overall, but one that I never really considered giving more than three stars to. I liked the idea of the wedding dress that gets passed from woman to woman and magically fits them all without alterations (think: the jeans from the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants, only with the dress passing through time and between relative strangers rather than going by mail among the four friends), and for the most part enjoyed the back-and-forth perspective in the novel between the current heroine (Charlotte) and the dress's original owner (Emily). I even enjoyed seeing things from their significant others' viewpoints as well (Tim and Daniel). The few times it went beyond that, though--especially the solitary time we saw things from the point-of-view of the dress's second owner--seemed more forced. In that instance, it really seemed as if the story could have been just told by the character to Charlotte in the present (which is actually how Charlotte learned the story anyway, so it would have made sense to do it that way.)

    I'm not quite sure I exactly understand who the man in purple is supposed to be--I gather he has something to do with the passing on of the dress, and imagine there must be some sort of Biblical/religious reference that I'm just not getting--but I almost feel as if the story would have been stronger without his involvement in it. He didn't do much more for me beyond making me scratch my head a bit, wondering just who he was. This book too was a bit heavier on the Christian aspect than I am usually comfortable with, though it was fairly secondary until the end, when I felt like I was getting bashed over the head with the "This is Christian Fiction!" stick.

    One of my favorite parts of the story was the history of Birmingham as seen through Emily's portions--they offered a fascinating glimpse into the pre-Civil Rights era South. I thought that bit was very well done.

    Overall, I did enjoy this book. People who appreciate Christian fiction with a historical fiction twist as well should find it a solid read.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Wonderful book

    This is the first book I have read by Rachael Hauck. It was wonderful. I could not put it down.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love how Rachel Hauck weaves romance into a story much larger

    I love how Rachel Hauck weaves romance into a story much larger than just boy-meets-girl-then-loses-girl-then...well you get it. The Wedding Dress is filled with compelling characters that will capture your heart and hold it hostage until the end. This was one of those rare books I couldn't put down. Novel Rocket and I give it a very high recommendation. It's a "must read."

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    The Wedding Dress was an enjoyable read. I would recommend it t

    The Wedding Dress was an enjoyable read. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, summer read, or something for your book club. It had everything - love story, personnel turmoil, mystery.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    !

    Yes free fridays are gone in favor of 'wonderful' new apps like twitter! Contact bn and complain, if it will do any good. I did, and all the jerk did was laugh. Everyone should leave bn and go elsewhere. Customer service sucks, their selection sucks, now free friday is gone for twitter! Wow!! What a trade off!!!

    5 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Are free fridays no more...

    What happened to free friday yesterday? Thats my favorite thing about nook, might have to think about kindle instead!

    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Good Read - Highly Recommend

    This book has a little bit of everything in it and kept my attention from the first page till the last. It was nostalgic yet timely in its message and heart warming too.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    what happend on friday?

    Free friday looks like its gone i wa very disapointed im thinking of buying a kindel or i pad the nook dosnt seem worth it now that free friday is gone im not comite any more good byy nook hello i pad. im done with you.

    3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Loved it!

    This was the first book i have read in awhile and the first book by this author. I was pleasantly surprised and so loved how the author tied each character together! I thought it was very well done! It kept my attention continually! Im buying another one by this author!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2012

    An Interesting Metaphor

    I liked this book. The characters had depth and the romance side of things didn't get too mushy. The main characters' relationship felt genuine and relatable. I liked the two different timelines too. It gave the book an interesting edge.
    The ending cut off kind of quick for my taste but it didn't detract a whole lot from the book. I kind of knew how it would end but I enjoyed the journey.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2012

    love this book!!!

    This was the first book from this author I had read and let me say it is a fabulous read. Her style of writing is very comfortable to read. It makes me feel drawn in to the story. I now have read 2 more books by her and working on the 3rd. We are so thankful for her talent and blessed she is using it for good!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Rachel's book just get better all the time!

    Super book that spotlights how history shapes us. Some lessons are the same whether it was 100 yrs ago or now. Well written, she has become one of my favorite authors.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    A good easy read.

    I found this book very easy to read and it kept my attention . Would definitely try this author again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Free Fridays continue!!!

    Yesterdays offering was Storybound, which looks interesting to me aas a fantasy reader & enthusiast. It should still be available if you look up 0.00 on the shop screen of your nook. I am going to be reading Storybound as my next book. I am quite pleased with this choice, at least it isn't romance again!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Remove DiSgUsTiNg review

    I was shocked to see this (which is what the writer probably wanted to do).
    Your staff MUST remove a review posted by "Silverfish" on Sept 7, 2013.
    Nothing to do with the book - in VeRy crude terms it explicitly describes THE sexual act of an animal/creature.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    A wonderful, wonderful Read

    My first book by Rachel Hauck. I must admit I brought it because it was cheap but I highly recommend it. The story is wonderful and I had a hard time putting the book down. You will not be dissappointed!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8