Customer Reviews for

The Wedding Dress

Average Rating 4.5
( 153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in the genre!

I think this book has the potential to be the new "Redeeming Love" of Christian romance. It was the first book I've read in ages that I absolutely couldn't put down.

posted by 15460068 on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

The Wedding Dress was a sweet story overall, but one that I neve

The Wedding Dress was a sweet story overall, but one that I never really considered giving more than three stars to. I liked the idea of the wedding dress that gets passed from woman to woman and magically fits them all without alterations (think: the jeans from the Si...
The Wedding Dress was a sweet story overall, but one that I never really considered giving more than three stars to. I liked the idea of the wedding dress that gets passed from woman to woman and magically fits them all without alterations (think: the jeans from the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants, only with the dress passing through time and between relative strangers rather than going by mail among the four friends), and for the most part enjoyed the back-and-forth perspective in the novel between the current heroine (Charlotte) and the dress's original owner (Emily). I even enjoyed seeing things from their significant others' viewpoints as well (Tim and Daniel). The few times it went beyond that, though--especially the solitary time we saw things from the point-of-view of the dress's second owner--seemed more forced. In that instance, it really seemed as if the story could have been just told by the character to Charlotte in the present (which is actually how Charlotte learned the story anyway, so it would have made sense to do it that way.)

I'm not quite sure I exactly understand who the man in purple is supposed to be--I gather he has something to do with the passing on of the dress, and imagine there must be some sort of Biblical/religious reference that I'm just not getting--but I almost feel as if the story would have been stronger without his involvement in it. He didn't do much more for me beyond making me scratch my head a bit, wondering just who he was. This book too was a bit heavier on the Christian aspect than I am usually comfortable with, though it was fairly secondary until the end, when I felt like I was getting bashed over the head with the "This is Christian Fiction!" stick.

One of my favorite parts of the story was the history of Birmingham as seen through Emily's portions--they offered a fascinating glimpse into the pre-Civil Rights era South. I thought that bit was very well done.

Overall, I did enjoy this book. People who appreciate Christian fiction with a historical fiction twist as well should find it a solid read.

posted by beckymmoe on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    One of the best in the genre!

    I think this book has the potential to be the new "Redeeming Love" of Christian romance. It was the first book I've read in ages that I absolutely couldn't put down.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Just finished this book and was disappointed that I was done wit

    Just finished this book and was disappointed that I was done with it!  Great story line and love the spiritual
    aspect without being pushy.  I will be looking for more books by this author. 

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another book with take home value.

    As an orphan, Charlotte wishes she could go back in time to a happier scene of her childhood. She remembers a special place where she often picnicked with her mother. But when she arrives at “their spot” it is crowded with interlopers. Having of all things, a sale. She ends up with an old trunk that she didn’t know she wanted. When she unlocks secrets from the past, she finds her future. I appreciated the theme of finding your heritage, or family, and what all that means.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Wonderful book

    This is the first book I have read by Rachael Hauck. It was wonderful. I could not put it down.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Freebie Friday, where are you???

    B&N, was the lack of a free book on 4.5.13 just another oversight or have you done away with a wonderful Nook bonus??

    9 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love how Rachel Hauck weaves romance into a story much larger

    I love how Rachel Hauck weaves romance into a story much larger than just boy-meets-girl-then-loses-girl-then...well you get it. The Wedding Dress is filled with compelling characters that will capture your heart and hold it hostage until the end. This was one of those rare books I couldn't put down. Novel Rocket and I give it a very high recommendation. It's a "must read."

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    The Wedding Dress was an enjoyable read. I would recommend it t

    The Wedding Dress was an enjoyable read. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, summer read, or something for your book club. It had everything - love story, personnel turmoil, mystery.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Are free fridays no more...

    What happened to free friday yesterday? Thats my favorite thing about nook, might have to think about kindle instead!

    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Good Read - Highly Recommend

    This book has a little bit of everything in it and kept my attention from the first page till the last. It was nostalgic yet timely in its message and heart warming too.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Loved it!

    This was the first book i have read in awhile and the first book by this author. I was pleasantly surprised and so loved how the author tied each character together! I thought it was very well done! It kept my attention continually! Im buying another one by this author!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2012

    love this book!!!

    This was the first book from this author I had read and let me say it is a fabulous read. Her style of writing is very comfortable to read. It makes me feel drawn in to the story. I now have read 2 more books by her and working on the 3rd. We are so thankful for her talent and blessed she is using it for good!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Rachel's book just get better all the time!

    Super book that spotlights how history shapes us. Some lessons are the same whether it was 100 yrs ago or now. Well written, she has become one of my favorite authors.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Free Fridays continue!!!

    Yesterdays offering was Storybound, which looks interesting to me aas a fantasy reader & enthusiast. It should still be available if you look up 0.00 on the shop screen of your nook. I am going to be reading Storybound as my next book. I am quite pleased with this choice, at least it isn't romance again!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Charming and Special Read!

    Four women, one wedding dress managing its way through different times and situations, a one size fits all kind of dress, never needing any altering, never aging or looking out of date, always looking perfect on each bride. Spanning in time from 1812 to present, the reader discovers the origin of the dress and how it came to be and the mystery behind all the women that wore the dress and how they were linked together. I found this storyline to be most captivating and most charming as the story unfolds taking it’s time in a most wonderful way.

    The story opens with our present day heroine Charlotte inexplicably finding herself at the annual Ludlow Antiques auction at the Ludlow estate, bidding on a mysterious trunk with who knows what inside; 1,000$ of bidding later the trunk is hers. She is a bit surprised at herself for splurging so to speak, as she is a future bride herself saving for her own wedding that is rapidly approaching. But this little purchase sends her on a mystery of her own as she seeks to know the story behind what’s in the trunk which is of course “the wedding dress”. While this contemporary storyline is happening, the book also flashes back to 1812 and Emily Canton a young beautiful woman with 2 men that have caught her eye, one that she thought was only in her past and one who is very much in her present. As the story unfolds Emily discovers who is after her heart and who has ulterior motives. Two other “wearer’s of the dress” Mary Grace and Hillary have lesser storylines but they are still intricate to the novel and an important part in the story.

    Rachel Hauck weaves joy, heartache, coming of age struggles , love and a charming element of magic in a certain male character that pops up throughout the novel that just make this story a delight to read. This novel has wide range appeal as who doesn’t love to read a little romance, but also in this novel a strong historical component as the dress spans through time and what was happening to the women, as well as a nice contemporary storyline as well, as a friend of mine said- “it has something for everyone”. I heartily agree. I also want to mention that the author’s note at the end is not one to be skipped as it brings even more light to the precious spiritual elements to the book.

    I highly recommend this book, there’s just something really special about it.

    5 stars

    I was graciously provided a digital copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through the Netgalley program in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are honest and my own.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Remove DiSgUsTiNg review

    I was shocked to see this (which is what the writer probably wanted to do).
    Your staff MUST remove a review posted by "Silverfish" on Sept 7, 2013.
    Nothing to do with the book - in VeRy crude terms it explicitly describes THE sexual act of an animal/creature.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    A wonderful, wonderful Read

    My first book by Rachel Hauck. I must admit I brought it because it was cheap but I highly recommend it. The story is wonderful and I had a hard time putting the book down. You will not be dissappointed!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    to freebie friday

    There was a free book called story bound. I hope this helped. :)

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    A Good Read!

    Much more than the typical romance, this book has an interesting plot with some twists, as well as a bit of mystery. I will look for more by this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Beautiful

    I truly enjoyed reading this beautiful story. How interesting 4 Brides and 1 wedding dress. This one is a most read...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    This book was a pleasant surprise for me. I have read many histo

    This book was a pleasant surprise for me. I have read many historical fiction books in my time, and I have thoroughly enjoyed them. I am also an incredible fan of Christian romances, but this was so refreshingly different from anything I have ever read. And I read it very quickly.

    The entire premise behind this book is a wedding dress that came into contact with four women and impacted them all in special ways. This means that the dress is over 100 years old. And it just so happens that Charlotte ends up getting this dress--almost by accident. She has no idea when she gets it what a marvelous journey she will undertake!

    Because the book covered four different women and showed how their stories intersect, I was quite intrigued. It was also clear how strongly divine appointment figured into the story. There were too many coincidences for it to not be the work of God. I loved how the author wove everything together in a unique, endearing story. I think I experienced every emotion along with these characters.

    My favorite character was Emily. I was glad that the author spent her time covering this wonderful character. However, Charlotte was the one with whom I could identify. And God definitely spoke to me through her. I was reminded that God puts everything in our lives for a reason, and we just have to trust Him for the outcome. God doesn't give us good gifts and then delight in taking them away just to tease us or punish us.

    The center of the story is definitely this magical dress. It seems to take on a life of its own. And I was quite pleased to see the parallels that the author drew between the Christian walk and the wedding dress. This is a historical romance that I think just about anyone who likes that genre would enjoy. It is a charming story told from a wonderfully fresh perspective.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and opinions are 100 percent mine.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6