Customer Reviews for

The Wedding Gamble

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Quiet and shy Laura has always been the sensible, quiet and seri

    Quiet and shy Laura has always been the sensible, quiet and serious sister often rolled over and taken advantage of by her younger, thinner and far more demanding little sister.  Again Laura has been steamrolled into a bachelorette to celebrate her sister’s upcoming wedding. 




    A drunken wander later and she wakes up married to a man who is sexy, confident and dangerous.  David is an undercover agent currently involved with the mafia, and being manhandled and threatened by two goons. 




    The story has several moments of complete and utter fantastical scenes, but the core characters of David and Laura are extremely well developed.  This unexpected twist that is so not like the Laura her spoiled sister has come to know, she thrives under the care and protection of David, his obvious appreciation of her sense, her curves and her ballsy reactions to pressure and dangerous situations all help her to discover the strength and appeal she didn’t realize was there. 




    This is the perfect Vegas getaway story: everyone wants to be someone different on vacation and where better than Vegas.  The fast paced story that crams a ton of action into a short time allows the characters to truly see each other in pressure situations, and provides the reader with some steamy scenes that are perfectly fitting to the whirlwind relationship. 




    Cindi Myers has created an indulgent little story: testing the excesses and options that can be found in Vegas while the characters find a way to grasp that happily ever after despite the odds. 




    I received an eBook from Entangled for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    Mix together a preschool teacher, an FBI agent, the mob, Vegas,

    Mix together a preschool teacher, an FBI agent, the mob, Vegas, and an impromptu wedding and what to do you get?  A fun read!!  This story is a well-written mix of fun, danger, and craziness.  Parts of it may make you laugh out loud.  But the character and relationship development are great as well.




    A fun, quick read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Check your brain at the door and have fun with this ¿what happen

    Check your brain at the door and have fun with this “what happens in Vegas” story.  Preschool teacher and all around good girl Laura Nichols is in Las Vegas with her younger, prettier, “perfect” sister and her sisters friends doing a bachelorette party week before her sister gets married. This is so not her thing but she goes along to get along. She gets separated from her sister and friends and somehow ends up in the arms of hunky FBI agent David Abruzzo who needs someone to marry him, quickly, in an effort to fool the mafia goons following him that he came to Vegas for reasons other than what they think.  Feeling tipsy and a little low Laura agrees and then the fun begins.
    This is an unlikely romp but oh so much fun.  Running all over Vegas with a hot FBI undercover agent, going under the covers with the same, it’s all fun and games till someone gets hurt.  I got a kick out of this and think you will too.
    I received a copy from the publisher in return for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As posted on The Smutty Kitty reviewed by KittyKelly 4 out of 5

    As posted on The Smutty Kitty reviewed by KittyKelly

    4 out of 5 Licks

    I really enjoyed this book. It's interesting to see the marriage of convince outside of a regency type novel. While being grabbed and rushed into a marriage probably wasn't what Laura was planning for her trip to Vegas, she seemed to really enjoy to the wild trip she wound up having. I loved her playfulness and watching her really break out of her shell. David, a typical troubled man, was lots of fun too. There were so many times I found myself laughing out loud at the craziness the two of them kept getting into. The sex between them was hot and the romance that built between them even hotter. You'd think by now I'd learn not to worry when it comes to my characters getting their HEA, but I was a bit worried with this one. It may all work out in the end but it sure was a wild ride there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    Such an amazing book, filled with adventure, mystery, and emotio

    Such an amazing book, filled with adventure, mystery, and emotion. Each chapter is thrilling and makes you want to continue reading to see what happens next; which is why I finished the book in one day! The passion between the two main characters is felt by the reader, who also finds themselves going through the same experiences alongside the couple. The language and structure is brilliant, and I would love to read a sequel! Great work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    I really enjoyed The Wedding Gamble. It's a fun, quick novel set

    I really enjoyed The Wedding Gamble. It's a fun, quick novel set in Vegas full of romance and mystery. 




    Laura is in Vegas to celebrate her sister's bachelorette party even though no one remembers is her birthday and her little sister is very self center. 27 Dresses style. 
    While doing an errand for her sister, Laura meets David in front of a chapel where he asks her to do him a little favor. 
    Now, Laura was a bit drunk and on medication, which is why she ends up marrying David in the first place. Because you see, Laura is the good girl. The one who always thinks things through and doesn't do wild things like that. 




    David was in Vegas doing his job as an undercover agent for the FBI. But when his mob boss finds out he's in Vegas when he should be in Chicago, David must come up with a excuse: He's there for getting married. 




    David is a jaded cop. He's seen and done too much in the name of justice and he lives for nothing more than putting criminals in prison. Laura is a preschool teacher. She loves kids and wears her heart in her sleeve. She's all David would like in a woman... if he wanted to settle down. 




    And now, both of them need to keep up the marriage in order to stay alive. 




    The Marriage Gamble is great. There were some moments where I found myself laughing at the crazy situations these two got themselves in only 48 hours. And sometimes I questioned how David kept himself alive alone all this time because Laura save him most of the time.
    Laura is a fun character when she's pretending to be this bold woman David married. She goes for what she wants, she's brave and has the funniest on-the-spot improv.
    She really grown in the book, from the perfect girl everyone got advantage off to the woman who could stand up for herself. 
    And David is really swoon worthy. He makes sure she has a good birthday and does everything he can to help her see just how amazing she is.




    The Wedding Gamble has everything you'd expect from a novel set in Vegas and we all just love that, right?




    *eARC provided by the publisher in exchange of an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    I just finished this book and it was better than I thought it wa

    I just finished this book and it was better than I thought it was going to be.

    The book starts out with the heroine Laura in Las Vegas for her sister Rachel's(the pretty, thin, smart, popular sister)bachelorette trip. The trip also happens to fall on Laura's 26th bday which everyone seems to have forgotten. She doesn't complain, she just goes with the flow. At first I thought she was a bit of a pushover and I didn't care too much for Rachel.

    Then when Rachel sends her off as if she's her own personal gopher she meets David. David asks her to do him a favor and as usual Laura obliges. It's not until the next morning that when she sees the marriage license that she realizes how real his favor was.

    The rest of the book was pretty fast paced as they get in and out of all sorts of scary situations. By the end of the book I liked Laura a lot more. I liked that she was shown as more than just a pushover. I liked that she stood up to her sister. I really liked that David did little things to show his appreciation when everyone else forgot. All in all it was a pretty good book. The only thing I would have liked is a little more of them together at the end.

    **I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    This was a Vegas story for real. Whatever happens in Vegas stays

    This was a Vegas story for real. Whatever happens in Vegas stays in Vegas. I really enjoyed the fun that took place in this story. Nice work! I'd recommend this book to anyone. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Here¿s another ¿Got wasted in Vegas and ended up married¿ story,

    Here’s another “Got wasted in Vegas and ended up married” story, and it was great fun, proving that predictable works if it’s written well. Laura is in Las Vegas for her younger sister’s bachelorette party. It’s also Laura’s birthday, not that anyone remembers. She’s having a miserable time until one of the bridesmaids gives her some “generic aspirin,” and then Laura is wandering the Strip in a loopy haze. She meets David outside of a wedding chapel, and he asks her to do him a favor. Laura always tries to help others, so she agrees. She thinks it’s a dream when they get married, but the next morning she realizes that it wasn’t.

    David is working undercover for the FBI, tracking down a witness. When the wrong people see him in Vegas, he tells them that he’s there to get married. Enter Laura. David wants her to forget about him and go back to safety, but Laura can’t stop trying to help him, protect him, look out for him.

    Laura is a preschool teacher, a size 12, used to sacrificing herself for her sister, used to being the unattractive, boring afterthought in her family. But when she sees bad guys threaten her new husband, she busts out her inner actress and distracts them. It’s fun to watch her discover her inner bravery and hidden talents.

    David’s life has centered around bringing down one particular mob boss. He hasn’t had room in his life for relationships. Capering with Laura makes him wish for something he didn’t know he wanted, and it also uncovers a pretty sexy protective side.

    As the bad guys circle, Laura and David grow closer. He even buys her a birthday cake, which would melt my heart in an instant. Danger intensifies their relationship, and pretty soon — after a few interruptions — they are exploring the benefits of their marriage. The author does a great job of describing Las Vegas. From the canals of Venice to Circus Circus, from Fremont Street to the Bellagio Fountains, from the sounds of Treasure Island cannons to the crowded sidewalks, I felt like I was there. 

    When they’ve done their job, David sends Laura back home to safety, with the expectation that she’ll get an annulment. The final HEA happened quickly, both from a book-timeline standpoint and from a writing standpoint. I could have been held in suspense a little longer, but I’m not complaining.

    Overall this was fun, amusingly suspenseful, and sweet. 

    Rating: B +
    This review also posted on Red Hot Books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    I had never had a chance to read a Vegas-set novel, but I really

    I had never had a chance to read a Vegas-set novel, but I really liked Cindi Meyers' take on the quickie wedding and its subsequent consequences in The Wedding Gamble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Last night I finished The Wedding Gamble by Cindi Myers. I perso

    Last night I finished The Wedding Gamble by Cindi Myers. I personally liked the story. I thought it was cute and entertaining. Plus, who doesn't like a story set in Vegas? However, one thing that needs to be remember when reading a Vegas setting story is the likelihood of anything that happens in the story might not happen in real life. Second, it's a story and should be enjoyed as a story. With that said here are my thoughts on the story:
    Laura Nichols is having a pretty crappy start to her birthday. Yes, she is the sweetest person in the world to let her sister enjoy her bachelorette party, but still her sister forgot Laura's birthday. Don't get me started on the self-center sister. Anyways, she needs to run an errand for her sister and meets David Abruzzo.
    David is an undercover FBI agent and needs to find a wife in a hurry otherwise the jig is up. Well, he stumble upon Laura. With a quickie wedding their adventure beginnings.
    All right, the story is highly unlikely to happen in Vegas or anywhere. Hey, it was a lot of fun to read. First, it takes place in Vegas the land where anything can happen. Second, you have a quickie wedding. I love quickie weddings, especially when both parties don't really know each other. Third, we have the mob chasing after these crazy love birds. All this spells an entertaining good time. So, if you are looking for a fun-filled Vegas adventure without the heat, you might want to read The Wedding Gamble.

    Copy provided by the publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1