Customer Reviews for

The Wednesday Daughters

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    One need not already be a fan of The Wednesday Sisters to enjoy

    One need not already be a fan of The Wednesday Sisters to enjoy this new novel by Meg Clayton.  The Wednesday  Daughters
    is a book about friendships, well as the bond between a mother and daughter (even after the mother is dead.  And through it all is
    weaved a delightful tale of Beatrix Potter (a personal favorite of mine!)  I  loved the conversations between Ally Tantry and Potter,
    as well as the way Clayton's words carried me all the way to the English Lake District (a place I have never been, but now feel I know
    somewhat intimately).  Clayton truly explores the intricacies and complications of friendships and familial relationships.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    As good as Wednesday Sisters

    Didnt want the book to end. This is why I love reading....books that captivate you, take you away, yet speak to something inside of you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    I enjoyed this novel immensely.  The setting is magical, as are

    I enjoyed this novel immensely.  The setting is magical, as are the glimpses of Beatrix Potter herself (imagined 
    by Hope Tantry, the mother of this story's central character, in Hope's journals).  The story weaves delicious
    elements of family secrets into a daughter's search for her mother, and for her own truest self.  I'm moved by
    the generational aspect to this book, as it follows Clayton's earlier novel, The Wednesday Daughters, into our 
    contemporary world.  Daughters, I feel this book is saying, must make their way in the world, just as their
    mothers did -- through courage, honesty, and love.     

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    A book about spoiled brats

    Reading the synopsis of this book, I felt it might be entertaining. Instead, I found every character in the book to be insufferable. There is not one character in this book for whom I feel any sympathy whatsoever. The level of rudeness and carping is fantastic, especially coming from people who are supposed to be adults. Please, save your money unless you find enjoyment in being annoyed. If I could get my money back for this purchase I would do it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

    No text was provided for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A heartwarming story of family, friends, and secrets

    A compassionate story of mothers and daughters, best friends, and secrets.

    Hope is devastated when her mother, Ally passes away without warning. This sudden loss has left her numb and her grief has prevented her from sorting through her mother's belongings. However, she doesn't have the luxury of stalling when it comes to dealing with the material items that her mother left behind in a small cottage in the Lake District of England, where she spent much of her later life writing a biography of Beatrix Potter.

    Julie and Anna Page accompany her on this journey and they have been there for one another for years. They are born to a group of women who call themselves the Wednesday sisters; therefore now they are called the Wednesday Daughters.

    Each woman is struggling with a demon of her own. Julie lost her twin sister to breast cancer the previous year, and Hope misses her mother and struggling with her marriage. Anna (the eldest) connects with men on a sexual level but never an emotional one. The women band together to say their farewells to Alley and come to face some hard truths about themselves.

    Ally used the cottage as a writer’s retreat while she worked on her unpublished biography of Beatrix Potter, yet Hope really knows little of her mother’s time there. Hope finds some of Ally’s old notebooks in a hidden drawer written in a mysterious code. They begin to decipher her writings and the reason for Ally’s stay in England comes to light.

    The journals divulge the secrets of an age-old family history and she soon realizes she did not know her mother as well as she thought. A heartwarming story of a group of women who still love one another despite their shortcomings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    not bad

    Only about 1/4 done with the book but seems like it is dragging and not holding my attention. Maybe once I get more into the story it will pick up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Painful

    I loved the Wednesday Sisters but this book was painful to try to read. It was so disjointed. I tried to keep reading since I had paid for it but I had to give up. I was actually becoming agitated.




    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    There are many facets to this little gem of a novel.  The Wednes

    There are many facets to this little gem of a novel.  The Wednesday Daughters are members of an extraordinary extended family, whose lives have been intricately interwoven.  Their gently recounted stories are told with tenderness and great insight.   




    The charm and rich literary history of the English Lake District enhances the narrative.  This is an exquisitely written, multi-layered story, replete with whimsical imaginary conversations with Beatrix Potter's ghost.  It’s a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1