Customer Reviews for

The Wee Free Men: The First Tiffany Aching Adventure (Discworld Series #30)

Average Rating 4.5
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Pratchett is a Brilliant Madman!

Terry Pratchett has never written a bad book. The wit and wisdom of Mr. Pratchett is incredible and he'll make you laugh your guts out. The Wee Free Men is another great one by the master of farcical fantasy. A young farm girl follows her little brother into Fairylan...
Terry Pratchett has never written a bad book. The wit and wisdom of Mr. Pratchett is incredible and he'll make you laugh your guts out. The Wee Free Men is another great one by the master of farcical fantasy. A young farm girl follows her little brother into Fairyland and the Elf Queen who kidnapped him. The Wee Free Men (little blue men with flaming red hair with scottish brogues), know as Feegles, introduced in earlier works from the Discworld Series are here to help her. These guys will fight anything or anyone. Except Lawyers, who are terrifying to the little blue battle frenzying guys. With the help of the Feegles the girl is out to rescue her bratty baby brother and hilarity ensues. Three famous characters from the Discworld series show up for cameos and a promise of things to come for the young witch (age 9). Great story to read aloud to kids if you can handle the Scottish Brogue of the dialogue. Make sure you have time to stay up late to finish another comedic page turner form dear Mr. Pratchett.

posted by Bob_the_Director on August 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What's blue, wears a kilt, and says "Crivens"?

The Nac Mac Feegle are by far my favorite of all creatures in fantasy literature. I simply adored their spunk. They were endearing characters who left me in a continual state of laughter as they assisted their Kelda, the main character, on her quest. The main charact...
The Nac Mac Feegle are by far my favorite of all creatures in fantasy literature. I simply adored their spunk. They were endearing characters who left me in a continual state of laughter as they assisted their Kelda, the main character, on her quest. The main character, a nine year old child of the Chalk named Tiffany, besides being a proficent cheese maker was a delightful surprise. She was an independent, free thinking,and intelligent spirit. Her valor and determination were beyond compare. It was this protagonist and her blue skinned, kilt wearing, foul mouthed pictsie clan that propelled my reading adventure.

While the story began as a page turner I felt my boredom grow as I neared the middle stages of the plot. Side plots, characters, and all the other little details that compose a story seemed to have no clear defination, making the story a bit hard to follow and believe. The ending was okay as far as endings go, but left me wishing the middle pages could rewrite themselves. I would still highly recommend reading other Terry Pratchett novels. Mr. Pratchett has a spellbinding ability to weave stotylines, design characters, and bring to life world's of fancy. I am currently reading Going Postal and can not put it down! I will continue to read Terry Pratchett's work until I have consumed every last book (Note: The Wee Free Men was my first introduction to the works of Terry Pratchett, who came highly reccomended from an esteemed group of Aussie mates).

posted by LeButterfly on December 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pratchett is a Brilliant Madman!

    Terry Pratchett has never written a bad book. The wit and wisdom of Mr. Pratchett is incredible and he'll make you laugh your guts out. The Wee Free Men is another great one by the master of farcical fantasy. A young farm girl follows her little brother into Fairyland and the Elf Queen who kidnapped him. The Wee Free Men (little blue men with flaming red hair with scottish brogues), know as Feegles, introduced in earlier works from the Discworld Series are here to help her. These guys will fight anything or anyone. Except Lawyers, who are terrifying to the little blue battle frenzying guys. With the help of the Feegles the girl is out to rescue her bratty baby brother and hilarity ensues. Three famous characters from the Discworld series show up for cameos and a promise of things to come for the young witch (age 9). Great story to read aloud to kids if you can handle the Scottish Brogue of the dialogue. Make sure you have time to stay up late to finish another comedic page turner form dear Mr. Pratchett.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Absolutely fantastic. Tiffany is the girl I wish I had been when

    Absolutely fantastic. Tiffany is the girl I wish I had been when I was
    young and hope my daughters will be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Awesome book

    Totally reccommend this book so awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    Terry Pratchett never disappoints. Tiffany Aching is quick, clev

    Terry Pratchett never disappoints. Tiffany Aching is quick, clever, and
    she has the hilarious Wee Free Men on her side. Great read, I didn't
    want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    An amazing story

    Imagine this: You are in a dark theater. You check the program. The play? The Wee Free Men. The curtain goes up.
    You have entered Discworld.
    The play is about a nine-year old witch. Tiffany Aching. She was just another child on the farm... till she saw Jenny Greenteeth.
    You watch, entranced as she befriends the Nac Mac Feegles, and becomes their kelda. She then enlists their help to venture into the heart of Fairyland and rescue her kidnapped younger brother.
    The curtains close.
    A moment of silence.
    Your eardrums explode.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Love!

    Fantastic & hilarious!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    Great Book

    A quick read that is a lot of fun. The interesting lead character is a spunky young lady that keeps the story moving along. While the target audience is young, it is a great read for us more mature people also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Terry Pratchett is a super writer, both prolific and skilled at story-telling.

    We love all of his books. Highly recommended although you may well become a discworld addict.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Awesome

    Ohh crivens! Best book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Amazing book

    This book is one of the best i have ever read. It is about a young girl who has strange talents. She befreinds the hilarious wee free men and resvues her little brother from fairyland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    In his prime

    One of myfavorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Kiss

    Kiss your hand

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Anonymous

    Fantastic!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Excellent writing

    Absolutely engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Read Good Books!!!

    Love this, but would rank it slightly lower than Wheel of Time (Robert Jordan) and Way of Kings (Brandon Sanderson). Not quite the same style, so don't read one following another (Wheel of Time to Lord of the Rings to Wee Free Men), but give it a little time, try reading Artemis Fowl (Eoin Colfer) and it will be even better! As you can probably tell, I'm sort of a fanatist for GOOD fiction boks, and I would certainly rank this as one. Way to go Terry Pratchett!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Fantastic for young and old.

    Terry Pratchett created something amazing with this series; introducing the world to Nac Mcfeegles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    The answet

    Haahnot gonna tell yah! If u want the answer go to hamster result two and ask macy hahahahhahhaa XDXD a

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book is a fantastic read for young and old alike. Get it for yourself or to read to a special little person in your life. Completely rereadable and worth every cent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Great

    I really loved this series. Kept me up all night because i wanted to know what happens next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hillarious

    This was a wonderful book! The Wee Free Men are hillarious! Read it, you'll enjoy it! It kept me laughing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6