Customer Reviews for

The White Cottage Mystery

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A trip into the past. Enjoyable.

Crime writing from a different era. It's many years since I've read any Margery Allingham and this was a good trip back to the England of many years ago. A well-crafted mystery, well-written, a historical snap-shot of an apparently gentler time, moving between middle-...
Crime writing from a different era. It's many years since I've read any Margery Allingham and this was a good trip back to the England of many years ago. A well-crafted mystery, well-written, a historical snap-shot of an apparently gentler time, moving between middle-class England and the South of France. Much slower pace than modern detective fiction, which made for good holiday reading.

posted by 4018314 on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

MORONS

MORONS!! STOP POSTING YOUR CHILDISH CONVERSATIONS ON HERE! Go get real cell phones to text idiots!

posted by 4845783 on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    A trip into the past. Enjoyable.

    Crime writing from a different era. It's many years since I've read any Margery Allingham and this was a good trip back to the England of many years ago. A well-crafted mystery, well-written, a historical snap-shot of an apparently gentler time, moving between middle-class England and the South of France. Much slower pace than modern detective fiction, which made for good holiday reading.

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    This story totally reminds me of Poirot and Hastings and Sherloc

    This story totally reminds me of Poirot and Hastings and Sherlock and Watson. Jerry and his dad W.T. Challoner a police detective investigates the death of a blackmailer and evil man who took great pleasure in torturing the people he is blackmailing. This was a quick read, I just could not put it down. The book had a well developed plot and the characters were great.
    Thanks to Net Galley and Bloomsbury Publishing.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Excellent "cozy"

    When a really bad man is murdered, there are suspects and motives aplenty. Great writing style, easy to read and the murderer id a complete surprise!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Would not recommend

    Took a long time to read, couldn't keep my interest. But it was free so I won't complain.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    nice read

    was a great short story

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Good Reading. Recommended.

    I liked this a lot, enjoyable reading. I would read this author again.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    This was her first mystery a magazine serial. Much later

    It was put in book form and out of print. Part of the plot is used in later mystery. I was able to get a used copy and have all including a war time novel that is now out of print. For simeon fans his are being reprinted s c at $10. But are short 160 pages and he wrote 60 or more. Mom

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Rosa

    Hello robin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    A tiny golden kit

    Mewls.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Startail

    Startail
    Startail moaned as she awoke,"Oow...that hurt..." she meowed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    The tiny ki

    She mewled and began to struggle in the blankets.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Icesis

    A silverish white she cat with an amulet around her neck walked around near the cottage. She sat and licked a paw, not a care in the world.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    A cat

    Gazed from outside the window. Only the warrior cats could see him, for he was a starclan warrior, his white fur covered in stars, his yellow eyes filled with despair. He pressed his starry black paws to the window, powerless to do anything but utter a few words: "Starclan is with you always. Do not fear. We will bring help."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    A cat

    Watched from a window

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Startail

    Startail glanced up at Heather and then reached out and sniffed her hand and purred. She then gently licked it and put her head underneth it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Robin

    She looked up, startled by another human voice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Heather&co

    Heather looked up at the cat outside her windowsil, her eues went wide. She slowly approached, with the kitten cradled in her arm, and opened the window.
    ~Heather

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Check out this quick read!

    This was a fund mystery! I enjoyed the details of the characters and the ending twist! I thought I knew for sure who the murderer was, until I found out different.
    If you are looking for a fast, quick mystery to take on a trip, check this one out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Don't bother.

    Rather boring. No depth to the characters. Couldn't wait to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3