Customer Reviews for

The White Princess (Cousins' War Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

The White Princess by Philippa Gregory takes a rare look at Eliz

The White Princess by Philippa Gregory takes a rare look at Elizabeth of York. History says that Elizabeth fell for her uncle Richard III and only married Henry Tudor because he defeated Richard. As Gregory looks at Elizabeth of York, she reminds readers that Elizabeth ...
The White Princess by Philippa Gregory takes a rare look at Elizabeth of York. History says that Elizabeth fell for her uncle Richard III and only married Henry Tudor because he defeated Richard. As Gregory looks at Elizabeth of York, she reminds readers that Elizabeth was a real woman with feelings of love for a man other than the one she married.

History also tells us that Henry VII was not the picture of compassion. Gregory doesn’t shy away from this assertion and instead uses it to show some hardships Elizabeth may have had to endure. Readers are offered a different look at how the relationship between Elizabeth and Henry began: with neither of them liking the other.

In later years, Elizabeth and Henry grew to love or greatly care for each other, influencing how Henry VIII wanted his marriages to end up. However, Elizabeth must also come to terms with the fact that her long lost brother might be alive. If it is Richard, how can she choose between her brother and her husband?

I’ve always enjoyed Gregory’s books, even those that stray from historical accuracy. She has a writing style that brings to life long gone characters and make readers care about them. I tore through this book in a matter of days and it’s no wonder why. I found myself empathizing with Elizabeth’s plight and grief over losing Richard.

posted by VeronicaK89 on July 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I gave this book three stars because I feel it was well written

I gave this book three stars because I feel it was well written and found her additive opinions of the characters during that time intriguing and almost believable. However, already having some background knowlege of this time and having formed my own opinions, I do not...
I gave this book three stars because I feel it was well written and found her additive opinions of the characters during that time intriguing and almost believable. However, already having some background knowlege of this time and having formed my own opinions, I do not agree with hers so that took away from the book for me. I found myself rolling my eyes at Henry's behavior and how it was so obvious the biased opion the author has towards the Tudor family.

Spoiler Alert!!!!
I do not believe King Henry treated Queen Elizabeth in the way the author portrays. Could he have been paranoid? Probably but to take it out on his wife. I think not. It is said Elizabeth was beautiful and Henry was taken by her beauty.

I believe Dowager Queen Elizabeth retired from court after all she had been through. I think the Princes died in the tower and court life had made her life a living hell and she wanted to be away from it. She had closure knowing that at least her daughter would bear more heirs to the throne. I do not believe that she had anything to do with the rebellions or number of pretenders claiming to be the princes in the tower.

I also do not believe King Henry had an affair with Lady Catherine. If this was the case, why didn't he marry her since she survived Queen Elizabeth. If he was so in love with her, why didn't he marry her?

These were my opinions before I read the book making it difficult to accept the author's opinions and therefore accepting the book. I expected a love story because it is suspected that King Henry and Queen Elizabeth had a happy marriage. What I got was rape, hatred, parnoia, and ifidelity with a little like love in between. I absolutely hated the portrayal of their relationship.

With that being said, if you were expecting a historical fiction with a love story worth reading over and over as I was, you will be very disappointed.

posted by 7951261 on September 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    The White Princess by Philippa Gregory takes a rare look at Eliz

    The White Princess by Philippa Gregory takes a rare look at Elizabeth of York. History says that Elizabeth fell for her uncle Richard III and only married Henry Tudor because he defeated Richard. As Gregory looks at Elizabeth of York, she reminds readers that Elizabeth was a real woman with feelings of love for a man other than the one she married.

    History also tells us that Henry VII was not the picture of compassion. Gregory doesn’t shy away from this assertion and instead uses it to show some hardships Elizabeth may have had to endure. Readers are offered a different look at how the relationship between Elizabeth and Henry began: with neither of them liking the other.

    In later years, Elizabeth and Henry grew to love or greatly care for each other, influencing how Henry VIII wanted his marriages to end up. However, Elizabeth must also come to terms with the fact that her long lost brother might be alive. If it is Richard, how can she choose between her brother and her husband?

    I’ve always enjoyed Gregory’s books, even those that stray from historical accuracy. She has a writing style that brings to life long gone characters and make readers care about them. I tore through this book in a matter of days and it’s no wonder why. I found myself empathizing with Elizabeth’s plight and grief over losing Richard.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    I have to begin this review honestly by saying that I am a huge

    I have to begin this review honestly by saying that I am a huge fan of the history of the English monarchy, and I have been obsessed with the War of the Roses era for about a year. Edward IV, Elizabeth Woodville, Anne Neville, and most especially Richard III. I consider Philippa Gregory to be among the very best authors of this genre. This volume in the Lancaster/York/Tudor saga is about the marriage of Elizabeth of York, daughter of Edward IV and Elizabeth Woodville, and her marriage to Henry VII (Henry Tudor, who won the throne by killing Richard III in battle). I really loved this chapter in this era of the monarchy. My only issue with it (and the reason for subtracting a star)is that the author portrays Elizabeth York as the lover of her uncle, Richard III. Though some histories suggest this to be the case, I think it uncharacteristic of Richard. I am also a proponent of the growing belief that Henry VII was responsible for the murders of the princes in the Tower rather than Richard. Despite my quibbles, this novelization of this period in history is marvelous.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Gregory pulls back the pages of history to give us a raw, gritty

    Gregory pulls back the pages of history to give us a raw, gritty look of the start of the Tudor reign with "The White Princess." Elizabeth of York has loved and lost and is now resigned to her fate, Queen of England. Henry VII has won a crown but lost in love. Can he build a dynasty to rule England without love? 




    The novel opens with Elizabeth mourning her uncle's death. Henry Tudor has taken the throne as Henry VII, yet he is weary of anyone and anything once belonging to York. Having lived a hard life, he's suspicious of all, and this is his challenge: can he overcome his faults and inspire love in the people around him? It just might prove an impossible task with his mother at his side. 




    The story belongs to Elizabeth, however, and not Henry. Here we see a young woman confident in herself, having been raised a princess. She assumes the mantle of queen with poise and grace, yet many plot to restore the beloved House of York to the throne. How Elizabeth manages the challenges in her life defines the type of woman she will be remembered for.




    Gregory's done her research and it shows, painting a vivid fictional backdrop against established historical events. It's said "history is written by the victors," and Gregory proposes that's what the first Tudors, Henry and Margaret, have done. Her writing is easy and not overburdened by trying to capture 1500's speech patterns. While Gregory does suggest that Elizabeth of York was in love with her uncle, and that Henry VII took her against her will, these are suggestions and not established fact. 




    The story slows in some places, and Henry's cries about the Yorks plotting against him, get old, but there's always a twist to keep it moving. "The White Princess" is full of suspense and heartbreak that will keep you turning the pages. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    Philippa Gregory's version of the day to day life of Elizabeth o

    Philippa Gregory's version of the day to day life of Elizabeth of York was stark and dramatic to say the very least.

    Henry VII is more obsessed than I could have imagined with the various Pretenders to the throne.Since he is essentially a Pretender himself, this is a bit puzzling. That he was not a good husband to the Princess Elizabeth was not something I had expected, although I don't know why.
    Gregory's belief is that a love had grown between Henry and his wife which his strange behavior eventually extinguished. I found that especially poignant and sad and I grieved for Elizabeth

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Enjoyable historical fiction

    For gregory fans i liked this one better than some of the more recent books More like a historical mystery and fun to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    A very good read

    What sad lives these powerful people lead. Philippa Gregory gives us a portrait of a king who seizes a crown, then lives the rest of his life in fear and insecurity; anda Queen who has to watch every word, and whose only joy is her children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Philippa Gregory Doesn't Disappoint

    If, like me, you have read all of her other books and found them to be perfect, then this one will be no different. Once again Philippa Gregory takes you back in time to an English court full of deceit and disaster. Historical fiction, with a helping of romance are sure to keep the pages turning.
    Can't wait for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a beautifully written book. A fascinating look at an elu

    This is a beautifully written book. A fascinating look at an elusive queen. Known as the wife, mother and daughter of three of England's most famous kings, Elizabeth of York was a very interesting woman in her own right and lived during a particularly exciting and tumultuous time. Gregory paints a rich, likable and sympathetic portrait of Elizabeth and a vivid depiction of her time. The pages are filled with drama, intrigue and passion. Very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Author

    Isnt this victoria holt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    One of my favorite Gregory books!

    Philippa Gregory's novel is told from the POV of Elizabeth, who enters her marriage hating her usurping husband. Over time, we come to see that King Henry is not a horrible person, and as Elizabeth grows to love him, the reader begins to root for him- even against the true heir to the throne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2