Customer Reviews for

The Whole Enchilada (Culinary Mystery Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Goldy Schulz is at it again in the latest book in the series. Wh

Goldy Schulz is at it again in the latest book in the series. When her good friend Holly dies after leaving her son’s birthday party, Goldy discovers that there was a lot going on in Holly’s life that Goldy knew nothing about. Goldy and Holly met when they gave birth t...
Goldy Schulz is at it again in the latest book in the series. When her good friend Holly dies after leaving her son’s birthday party, Goldy discovers that there was a lot going on in Holly’s life that Goldy knew nothing about. Goldy and Holly met when they gave birth to their sons at the same time and discovered that they were both married to Doctors, and not the nicest men to boot. Over the years they had lost touch with each other but Goldy considered Holly one of her most important friends and is devastated by her death.
AS we would expect, Holly’s death is actually a murder and Goldy is determined to help her husband Tom solve the case. After she has a dangerous accident at Holly’s house, Goldy gets a 24/7 police escort in Officer Boyd. Goldy, her friend Marla, her fellow caterer Julian, and even Boyd becomes a mobile unit asking questions all over town and stirring up lots of trouble. Goldy finds out more about Holly than she would ever have wanted to know and many lives will be impacted by the information she uncovers. There are several side stories going on that have a relationship to the murder but also cause problems that aren’t related.
I really love Tom’s character and would have liked to see more of him in the book. However, his part in the story might be small in time but ultimately BIG in impact on Goldy’s future. I enjoy the fact that he has learned to just let Goldy loose when it comes to a murder because she will do what she wants with or without his permission. Tom does the best he can to protect her and Goldy does take precautions so Tom doesn’t have to worry as much. Long time readers will be happy to see the usual cast of characters we have come to know so well but new readers will find the book easy to follow without too much backstory. The ending will satisfy everyone and the recipes at the end of the book look really yummy!

posted by SharonRedfern on August 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This series is getting a little tired. The story was too long, a

This series is getting a little tired. The story was too long, and too much happens in the Epilog.

posted by 299112 on September 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Goldy Schulz is at it again in the latest book in the series. Wh

    Goldy Schulz is at it again in the latest book in the series. When her good friend Holly dies after leaving her son’s birthday party, Goldy discovers that there was a lot going on in Holly’s life that Goldy knew nothing about. Goldy and Holly met when they gave birth to their sons at the same time and discovered that they were both married to Doctors, and not the nicest men to boot. Over the years they had lost touch with each other but Goldy considered Holly one of her most important friends and is devastated by her death.
    AS we would expect, Holly’s death is actually a murder and Goldy is determined to help her husband Tom solve the case. After she has a dangerous accident at Holly’s house, Goldy gets a 24/7 police escort in Officer Boyd. Goldy, her friend Marla, her fellow caterer Julian, and even Boyd becomes a mobile unit asking questions all over town and stirring up lots of trouble. Goldy finds out more about Holly than she would ever have wanted to know and many lives will be impacted by the information she uncovers. There are several side stories going on that have a relationship to the murder but also cause problems that aren’t related.
    I really love Tom’s character and would have liked to see more of him in the book. However, his part in the story might be small in time but ultimately BIG in impact on Goldy’s future. I enjoy the fact that he has learned to just let Goldy loose when it comes to a murder because she will do what she wants with or without his permission. Tom does the best he can to protect her and Goldy does take precautions so Tom doesn’t have to worry as much. Long time readers will be happy to see the usual cast of characters we have come to know so well but new readers will find the book easy to follow without too much backstory. The ending will satisfy everyone and the recipes at the end of the book look really yummy!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    This series is getting a little tired. The story was too long, a

    This series is getting a little tired. The story was too long, and too much happens in the Epilog.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Sort of disappointed

    The usual characters are there, but the story line is a bit cloudy. Just not up to Davidson's normal standard. Was it written in a hurry! Only makes sense if you've read the other books first.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    Fun Read

    I have read many of Diane Mott Davidson's "Culinary Mystery Series" but "The Whole Enchilada" is the first one in a long time. Her books are a fun read with a mystery always involved. The characters are engaging and it feels like you are listening to a friend tell you about her adventures with her catering business. I was really stumped with the "who did it" until almost the last minute this time....Mott Davidson builds up the evidence that this character has to be the murderer, but then no it is someone else, and then someone else again. No matter how long it has been since you read a Goldie adventure you can slide right in and feel at home with the whole cast of characters. I went out after reading this on my Nook and got 2 more of her audio books for a long car trip I am taking next week. Her books are great for readers who are looking for a light read with a mystery and a look at many likable characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    I have always LOVED Goldy Schulz and have read all of the books,

    I have always LOVED Goldy Schulz and have read all of the books, however, this one was way too long. The Epilogue was far too long and I thought that the very end of the epilogue would have gone into the next book.
    I really missed Tom, the police officer in this book. Although Goldy is a sleuth, Tom handed over way too much in this investigation and having the whole police department watching and guarding them every second was overkill. I love Boyd as a police officer not as a babysitter, fill in caterer. Not your best Mrs. Davidson, but, I cannot wait for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Well . . . . .

    A fairly good job, but the epilogue contained a whole lot more information than the rest of the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Great read!

    Best Goldy book to date. If you wanted more romance, danger, mystery and great recipes you got it. Even a few tears and surprises along the way. Hope this isn't the last one of the Goldy series, so many more potential plot lines popped up in this one. It's midnight on a work night couldn't put it down. Enjoy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    For those of us who love Goldy and her family this is a great bo

    For those of us who love Goldy and her family this is a great book. From beginning to end it keeps you turning pages and wondering what happened. Even if you have never meet the group before you will be able to follow along. This one is very good and it is fun to watch the family grow through the books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Boooooring

    Too much explaining and too little action!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    Disappointed

    I have read a lot of ms Davidson's books and found them to be quite enjoyable. This one, not so much. The story went round and round from one suspect to the other and back again. As I remember, the murder was not solved until the epilogue. I've always loved her books and will not be turned off by one disappointment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    I have enjoyed The Goldy Series until this book. Marla has beco

    I have enjoyed The Goldy Series until this book. Marla has become obnoxious and I was completely turned off by the way Goldy and Marla treated some people (like the artist). They acted like a couple of "mean girl" teenagers. I know this is fiction but Goldy's involvement in the investigation was more implausible than in previous books. Her husband would lose his job if he really turned over so much of the investigation to Goldy. Not Diane Mott Davidson's best effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    I enjoyed the book because I am a big fan but I was disappointed

    I enjoyed the book because I am a big fan but I was disappointed with the plot - it was easy to figure out "who dunnit" compared to her other books.  The way the book  ended made me wonder if this was the end of the series.  I wonder if Mott is running out of inspiration and interest.  That would be a shame - I enjoy the Colorado setting and her characters. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Long time Goldie fan

    This book reads like it may be Davidson's "swan song". Most of the focus is on one character, a bit dull, with Goldie becoming the superhero! I miss the cooking interwoven throughout the story, the relationship Goldie had with Tom, and Goldie's quirkiness. The epilogue makes me hope this is the last book in the series, because after ready ALL Davidson's previous mysteries...I won't chose to read another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I was disappointed.  The character of Goldy has always been like

    I was disappointed.  The character of Goldy has always been like an friend I look forward to visiting with.  Unfortunately, in this book she makes it clear she doesn't like Republicans and is very stereotypical with her descriptions.  It wasn't necessary and seemed banal.  She also rips on fitness and just seems cranky and unhappy.  Maybe it has to do with switching to decaf.  Her family life is wrapped up with a pretty bow at the end and that's where we'll part ways, even if there is another book.  Arch is too moody and I was hoping he'd out grow that phase!.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Poor son!

    Mott has her usual great recipes and food prep/catering in this book. Her relationships with her husband and son are so weak....... maybe family therapy in the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Stupid name good book

    The book was fantastic but the name does not go with it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Highly recommended.

    Great! I still think that she's the best "foodie" mystery writer.
    It almost sounded as if it could be her last. Hope not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Worth waiting for

    Another great book in the series. Just wish they came out faster!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    One of the best yet!

    This series is one of my favorites, but this is one of the best yet. Not only were Goldie and Marla at the top of their game, but there were many red herrings that kept me guessing. The surprise ending totally blew me away. You have got to read this one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Awesome read

    Goldy is a great protaganist. The storyline was compelling and hard to unravel. Big twist at the end. I can't wait to try the recipes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5