BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Widow Waltz: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Widow Waltz by Sally Koslow Laughed when Lucy and Nicola wer

The Widow Waltz by Sally Koslow
Laughed when Lucy and Nicola were reciting 'good night moon' phrases as it's one of my favorites to read with my grandson. What a treasure to find it in this book.
Such heartache when Georgia learns that she has not much money left-her hu...
The Widow Waltz by Sally Koslow
Laughed when Lucy and Nicola were reciting 'good night moon' phrases as it's one of my favorites to read with my grandson. What a treasure to find it in this book.
Such heartache when Georgia learns that she has not much money left-her husband rather led a different life she knew nothing of. Her brother Stephen helps her to solve
some mysteries: the money, ring, etc.
Besides Ben's death there is a pregnancy, mortgages where she thought they owned all the houses outright...
As the story goes on we learn all the background that help you understand what's not only going on but things that happened in the past shed light on current things.
Loved learning about the jewelry designing and love all the travel, NY, Paris, etc.
Didn't expect the ending the book had but it was just perfect! Loved where it went!
I received this book from Edelweiss by Penguin Group (USA) Inc.in exchange for my honest review.

posted by jbarr5 on June 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not for me.

I did not care for this book. The writing was too flowery, overly wordy, and hard to follow. The characters were unlikable and the plot ridiculous. I finished the book but found the ending unsatisfying. I will not be reading anything else by this author as I found her w...
I did not care for this book. The writing was too flowery, overly wordy, and hard to follow. The characters were unlikable and the plot ridiculous. I finished the book but found the ending unsatisfying. I will not be reading anything else by this author as I found her writing style verbose and annoying.

posted by amila on September 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Not for me.

    I did not care for this book. The writing was too flowery, overly wordy, and hard to follow. The characters were unlikable and the plot ridiculous. I finished the book but found the ending unsatisfying. I will not be reading anything else by this author as I found her writing style verbose and annoying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Georgia Waltz has a comfy life. A fabulous apartment over lookin

    Georgia Waltz has a comfy life. A fabulous apartment over looking Central park, great daughters, jewels, art and most importantly she is still madly in love with her husband, Ben. But when Ben suddenly dies everything about Georgia's life begins to unravel. After a visit with the family attorney, Georgia and her daughters find out the money--the money is gone and that isn't all Ben was hiding from his family. 




    Daughters, Nicola and Louisa (Luey) are no longer sure of what their futures will look like as their whole way of life is suddenly gone plus one of them has a secret! The three women must pull together to make the best of the situation, each finding inner strength. 




    I really felt for Georgia. She has just lost her husband and then her whole world begins falling apart. Not only is there no money, but it doesn't make sense why there isn't any money. It just wasn't like Ben. So not only is she dealing with grief, but she is no longer sure what to think of her husband anymore. 




    This is a story about finding your stronger self, the self you didn't know you even had. This isn't a high drama page turner, it is a very well written story about characters filled with love, pain and discovery. I know I really connected with Georgia on multiple levels, I could see myself and this made the story more real. I even connected with the girls as they grieved their father.




    Don't miss this inspiring, witty and very touching story of THE WIDOW WALTZ. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Widow Waltz by Sally Koslow Laughed when Lucy and Nicola wer

    The Widow Waltz by Sally Koslow
    Laughed when Lucy and Nicola were reciting 'good night moon' phrases as it's one of my favorites to read with my grandson. What a treasure to find it in this book.
    Such heartache when Georgia learns that she has not much money left-her husband rather led a different life she knew nothing of. Her brother Stephen helps her to solve
    some mysteries: the money, ring, etc.
    Besides Ben's death there is a pregnancy, mortgages where she thought they owned all the houses outright...
    As the story goes on we learn all the background that help you understand what's not only going on but things that happened in the past shed light on current things.
    Loved learning about the jewelry designing and love all the travel, NY, Paris, etc.
    Didn't expect the ending the book had but it was just perfect! Loved where it went!
    I received this book from Edelweiss by Penguin Group (USA) Inc.in exchange for my honest review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    'The Widow Waltz' is a heartfelt novel that follows main charact

    'The Widow Waltz' is a heartfelt novel that follows main character Georgia Waltz as her life spirals downward when her husband, Ben, dies from a sudden heart attack while training for a marathon. Even more surprising is the fact that Ben left Georgia practically penniless - her life of luxury had been built on lies. As Georgia tries everything in her power to keep her family together while learning about Ben's secrets, as well as her daughters' lies, she comes to the realization that nobody is perfect and we must love them - all of them - including their flaws. Amidst the pain of losing her husband, her efforts at rebuilding her life and retaining her family, Georgia will find the most surprising thing of all - self realization and - maybe - even love.

    This was a wonderfully written novel that was full of well rounded and realistic characters and memories along with heartbreaking realizations, self discovery, and the strength of love. The writing was fantastic and I was immediately drawn into Georgia's world. She was an interesting main character - strong and intelligent yet flawed and uncertain at times. She was easy to identify with and I was rooting for her early on in the story. The plot was fresh and dealt with deeper topics underneath the surface, especially those of family, love, the past, secrets, self discovery, and inner strength. Although there are aspects of the book that are heavy, the book itself was uplifting and a fast read. The characters - especially Georgia - and the dialogue really keep the book moving and flowing seamlessly. The writing was very well done and shows the immense talent the author possesses. Definitely recommended for fans of women's fiction and contemporary fiction!

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Title: The Widow Waltz Author: Sally Koslow Publisher: Viking



    Title: The Widow Waltz
    Author: Sally Koslow
    Publisher: Viking Adult
    Genre: Mainstream
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Rating: 4
    Review:

    "The Widow Waltz" by Sally Koslow...

    What Is This Book About?

    "Georgia Waltz has things many people only dream of: a plush Manhattan apartment overlooking Central Park, a Hamptons beach house, valuable jewels and art, two bright daughters, and a husband she adores, even after decades of marriage. It’s only when Ben suddenly drops dead from a massive coronary while training for the New York City Marathon that Georgia discovers her husband—a successful lawyer—has left them nearly penniless. Their wonderland was built on lies.

    As the family attorney scours emptied bank accounts, Georgia must not only look for a way to support her family, she needs to face the revelation that Ben was not the perfect husband he appeared to be, just as her daughters—now ensconced back at home with secrets of their own—have to accept that they may not be returning to their lives in Paris and at Stanford subsidized by the Bank of Mom and Dad. As she uncovers hidden resilience, Georgia’s sudden midlife shift forces her to consider who she is and what she truly values. That Georgia may also find new love in the land of Spanx and stretch marks surprises everyone—most of all, her.

    Sally Koslow's fourth novel is deftly told through the alternating viewpoints of her remarkable female protagonists as they plumb for the grit required to reinvent their lives. Inspiring, funny, and deeply satisfying, The Widow Waltz explores in a profound way the bonds between mothers and daughters, belligerent siblings, skittish lovers, and bitter rivals as they discover the power of forgiveness, and healing, all while asking, "What is family, really?"



    What I liked from the read....


    "The Widow Waltz" was a intricate story that had many twist and turns that you may find hard to believe...but maybe not. I will say this story really take the cake and icing when all is said and done...and that ending leaving only for me to say Wow...I was all caught up in this story until that ending? I will say that this novel was a fast paced read for me because I couldn't put it down once I had started reading from it.

    This was truly a story that was woven into many lives with such intermingle with all the discoveries that would be found out in the process of it all was deliciously presented by this author. I liked how this author was able to give us a good read of how this main character (Georgia) was able to deal with her unexpected circumstances of life. This was quite a family of dynamics which involved the widow(Georgia), two, daughters (Luey & Cola), brother (Stephen) and I think even the brothers' partner too. For the heroine along with the daughters had to learn to re evaluate the life they had lived and enjoyed and for a live of change. I did like the interchange between the daughters because I felt it was real.

    Be ready for some side stories in the rich tale as Georgia life crumbles, stories about a ring, stolen necklaces, French chefs, rock stars, dog watching...all coming to emotional roll coaster as she finds that she really didn't need her husband to feel useful and or productive. Thank God for that assurance!

    What I also liked from the read...

    When all is said and done this could be any women who suddenly loses her husband and you are caught having to deal with something like this can really give us something for all to think about.

    In the end "The Widow Waltz" showed that change is possible for one through loving and healing.

    What gave me cause to wonder ...WHAT IN THE WORLD...JUST HAPPENED????

    That ending and I won't spoil it for you but that left me saying W O W and a few more words! Is that believable!...OK...I know it's fiction but really????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    You will learn that I am not one to give many details about a bo

    You will learn that I am not one to give many details about a book, so that you can read it and have the story unfold in your own time. This books hits on the highs and lows of familial and other relationships; regarding stability, trust, loyalty and financial security. You name it; “The Widow Waltz” has it!
    This is a perfect summer, vacation, and weekend or truly “anytime” read! Sally Koslow’s writing is superb. I was entertained by the way she methodically introduced characters and told this story…She gave you the next piece to this huge conundrum, piece by painful piece.
    Georgia Waltz’s husband, Ben dies suddenly and her world is truly scattered. She learns that she was living a life without all of the puzzle pieces; even though; she definitely thought her puzzle fit nicely together and was undoubtedly whole.
    I cannot imagine moving forward after losing a husband that you love so dearly and thought was perfect in every way. She believed their love to be that of a fairy tale. Exactly, how do you move on when everything you know to be true, begins to unravel into falsehood?
    Ben and Georgia have two daughters that are in their early 20’s, Nicola (Cola) and Louisa (Luey), and Georgia needs to carry them through their grief along with her own. All while trying to remain afloat financially as Ben’s money is being hunted down, with the hopes of finding it fast.
    This is a story about sustaining life without the man of the family, and moving forward and being able to look up again. Becoming motivated to travel to the next chapter in her life; Georgia’s story is a true delight. Even with all of the kinks.
    Get this book! Devour it! It is one now one of my favorite books, quickly adding Sally Koslow to the list of authors that I absolutely adore.
    Can something new and beautiful come from such a tragedy?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another Clueless Widow

    The novel starts out with Ben who dies and leaves his wife Georgia (clueless), like a lot of men do when their wives do not participate in the family finances. (Totally do not get this). Even though a health nut, he dies while training in NY for a marathon. Georgia and her daughters discover they are penniless.

    Immediately after this discovery, the lawyer sets out to look for hidden assets. After they put the NY apartment on the market, Georgia moves to the beach house where she discovers the whereabouts of those assets. Does she know her husband at all?

    Georgia meets a guy and enjoys her time while she is awaiting her grandchild (her daughter is not married and goes back and forth about adoption). There are many challenges with her two daughters and they become friends. Georgia has no job skills and begins writing.

    I never connected with the characters in the book and not sure I even liked any of them. Even though lots of words; however, for me it was all about – keep reading and maybe it will be better. Even though the author I am sure is very talented – this book was not for me (the audio was very boring). I may try another book by this author; however, not sure I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Waste of Money

    I could not find one redeeming quality in any of the characters in this book. I got tired of reading it, skipping to the end to see what happens. A very unsatisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    AWFUL!

    the author spent the entire book describing her surroundings and walks in New York and all the interesting things that happened were explained as an afterthought in the last chapter! All the things she said happened in the last chapter were the things I would have loved to read about! PISSED OFF I WASTED MY MONEY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Women's Book - Recommend

    Really enjoyed this book, especially the surprise ending. Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    A fair beach read

    It was ok...a beach read for sure. Would not recommend for book club discussions...it was not a thinking book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was my first by this author. I will like it. Had a surpri

    This was my first by this author. I will like it. Had a surprise ending. I will be reading more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Great read that will draw you in and keep you until the end.

    A women finds out that not only did her husband cheat on her before he dropped dead of a heart attach, but he spent all their money and she is broke. The story tells how she and her two grown daughters deal with this after math. I loved the charter and how she dealt with her problems. She had a Corgie and that made her special to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Kudos to you, Sally Koslow. Your fourth book is the best ever!

    Kudos to you, Sally Koslow. Your fourth book is the best ever! The Widow Waltz is fast paced and witty, a commentary about family, and what it means. Georgia Waltz, once the cosseted wife of a successful attorney, descends from riches to rags after her husband's attorney reveals that she has been left with nearly nothing. As she copes with a mother who suffers from Alzheimer's disease, two pampered daughters who find that their hoped for trust funds have evaporated, and the fear that her beloved husband has been cheating, Georgia Waltz ransacks her posh New York City apartment searching in vain for clues. What happened to all her lovely money, and how can she get her life back? This book is a page turner, and I read it on a ten hour flight from Turkey to New York, happily foregoing the in flight movies for the wonderful distraction of this entertaining read. I recommend this book very highly, especially for women who love to read about family relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Stilted writing

    Mediocre writing. Banal plot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1