Customer Reviews for

The Wild One (Phantom Stallion Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Cool

    Awsome book loved it from start to finish.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Cheyenne's Review

    Introduction
    Sam returns home after two years of living with her Aunt Sue because of the near death experience of her horse, Blackie, because she feel off and he kicked her in the head. Therefore, she has been separated from everything she ever knew. He had also been missing ever since the accident had happened. However, as she comes home her dad's farm hand tells of a beautiful cream colored stallion coming to the ranch creek at night. She begins to wonder if it is her beloved Blackie coming home to her.
    Description and summary of main points
    Terri Farley is a high ranked author. However, I was interested in this story because it is what I like. Sam and I both love horses. I also like it because there are many different farm animals in the story.
    Evaluation
    I think that this book is amazing because it is interesting and fun to read. There is a lot happening and there is a lot of detail about surroundings, people, and animals. It shows that if you truly want something you can get it if you try hard enough. It also shows that if you truly love someone or something then you have to do what is right for them.
    Conclusion
    Sam is a caring and loving person but all she wants is to be home again to find her colt that was lost in the accident. So when she finally goes home he returns to her. But when he is captured she does everything in her power to buy him but when she does she has to make the hardest choice of her life to keep him or return him to his heard.
    Your final review
    I adore this book because it is in my love zone of animals and my style of living. It is a book of love, courage, strength, trust, and friendship.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    This book is about a girl named sam that was in a terrible accident wen she is hit in the head by her mustangs hoof. And no one has seen blakie( her horse) And she had to move to SanFranico and as far away from the one place she loved. Then wen she comes back two years latter all the ranch hands make fun of her because she has not been on a hores in two years. Then she comes to find out Blakkie isnt as far away as she thought. Wen she sees the Phantom. And now he is in trouble and only she can save him.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Barrel racing chick

    theses books are awsome! i know its only the first book, but i own everysingle one that has come out...i just thought that some people would like to read a reveiw...well, these books are for the horse loveing type. I ride in real life and yeap...barrel racing is my thing...on my horse Mo. a quarter horse and arabian mix...or a quarab...the way Sams horse in theses books acts like reminds me of my baby Mo...they sound exactly like eachother...well, anyway, these books like transforms your reading style. it lets your imagination soar and when you read them, you dont want to put them down. these books are also very descriptive too. whitch is awsome. everyone hates it when authors leave things hanging or dont go into detail...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    I

    I

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    NOT WARRIORS!!!!!!!

    Great book,by the way IT IS NOT WARRIORS YOU FOOLS!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Amazing!

    FYI I think i'm in love with Zanzibar/the Phantom. Awsome book!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Got me hooked

    This book got me hooked immediatly i had to read the whole series and i am reading the Phantom Stallion Wild Horse Island series now to

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Mistykit (a different one)

    Can someone PLEASE go to bobcat result one and tell whitewolf to meet me in the third result? Shes my mommy and ill die without her! ~ a different Mistykit

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Best book ever!!!!""""""""!

    I love this book it is the best EVER!!!!!! Ican't wait to reab the next one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Lov It!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book. Sometimes when me and my friend play my name i mostly Zanzibar. I am planing to read all the Phantom Stallon books on the nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    I love Zanzibar

    It is an AMAZING book. I've been reading for a while and I have ONE book left. CAN'T WAIT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Wild One

    This book is the first in the phantom stallion series by Terri Farley.<BR/>13 year old Samantha Forster comes home to Darton Nevada after two years in San Francisco because she got a concussion from falling off her horse Blackie. When she returns Blackie has turned gray and has a herd of his own. But they still share a special bond.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    Awesome Series, But Beware

    I love this series and I have written quite a few reviews for Terri Farely's other books in this series. The Wild One is one of the best, however, as the series continues there are some far-fetched parts. I love the 5th one, Free Again, but there are two far-fetched parts, which are major happenings in the story. BEWARE: THIS IS A REVEALING SECTION! When Sam is riding with her friends and driving the 'unadoptable' mustangs to their new found owner, the Phantom suddenly appears. He runs side by side with Ace, Sam's bay mustang gelding that she is currently riding, he frolicks around, and speeds past all of the galloping mustangs. I also find it slightly irritating that every mare is soooo interested in the Phantom (specifically Calico in this story), and of course he trusts only Sam. And of course, again, everyone wants the horse Sam has a bond with. In the 17th book, Mountain Mare, I was glad that the chocolate mare, I believe her name is Lassie, refused to go with the Phantom. Another part in Free Again that makes me squint in uncertainty, is at the very end. Sam finds the blind foal, Faith, at the hot springs, believable, but the Phantom is watching over her. WHY? Anyone who knows wild horses, or any wild animal for that matter, would protect more of its babies or family than (and that is how you spell it) risking those lives for just one. The Phantom has a whole herd and he comes to watch over the filly? Unbelievable. Also be aware that in one of the books, I believe it is the 16th one, Terri Farley calls Jen Kenworthy's (Sam's best friend) mother Leah, when her real name is Lila, although she fixes that mistake in the continuing books. In the six and sixteenth books, I found it slightly hard to believe that Sam would take such outstanding news as well as she did. I mean, for the first books, she didn't want her dad to marry Brynna, and when they announce engagement, she's perfectly fine with it. In the 16th one, she doesn't mind a bit that Brynna's having a baby! Oh well, I still love these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    Phantom Stallion: The Wild One

    The phantom stallion books are the best! Please, go read them! even if you're not that into horses, I think you'd still like them. Trust me, its worth the risk. These books show you the real side to the wild west, cowboys and all, which makes these books all the more interesting. I've read every book in the series at least 5 times, maybe more! These books can be mysterious, humorous, sad(but not despressing), happy, and suspenseful. I absolutely love all the characters, they're all very likable, except of course the villian, Linc Slocum, who is obsessed with catching the Phantom. The main character, 13 year old Samantha Forester, comes back to her ranch in Nevada after being away for 2 years, because of a fall from her favorite horse, Blackie. She injured her head, and had to go live with her aunt in san francisco so she'd be near a hospital in case she had complications. Back at the ranch, she has trouble feeling like a real cowgirl again, since her riding skills aren't what they used to be. Then she discovers that this mustang the local people call the 'phantom' might be her horse Blackie, grown up with a wild herd of his own. I don't want to give too much away, so I'll leave the rest for you to find out. I myself am not really a big horse-lover in particular, but I still LOVE these books, and I always count down the days until the new books come out. And it seems like each new one gets better and better. So please, try these wonderful books, created by the talented author, Terri Farley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Horses

    HORSES ARE AWSOM!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Love this series.

    Phantom Stallion is a great seires. Terri Farley did an amazing job writeing these books. When I read Phantom Stallion: 1 The Wild One I felt like I was in Nevada with Sam and The Phantom. Terri does a great job with her details she is one of my favorite authors. The bond between Phantom and Sam is what ever horsecrazy person wants with their horse or dream horse. I can't wait to read all the books. I am a horsecrazy girl and The Phantom Stallion series are my favorite! READ THEM!! I know you will like them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    GOOD BOOK

    I've never actually read the book, but from all the GOOD reviews I've read I do sugest this book! :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    Loved it! was a great book!

    Loved it! was a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7