Customer Reviews for

The Wild Ones (Wild Ones Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

I would like to say that I can be calm and rational about The Wi

I would like to say that I can be calm and rational about The Wild Ones. But I know better. You know better. That's just not going to happen with this review. Because...

I FREAKING LOVED THE WILD ONES SO MUCH THAT I CAN'T EVEN STAND IT!!!

Seems like I'm being a bit dr...
I would like to say that I can be calm and rational about The Wild Ones. But I know better. You know better. That's just not going to happen with this review. Because...

I FREAKING LOVED THE WILD ONES SO MUCH THAT I CAN'T EVEN STAND IT!!!

Seems like I'm being a bit dramatical, yeah? I know, I know. But I'm not. That cap-smashed-filled, exclamation-riddled sentence is the honest truth. When I sat down to read The Wild Ones, I had reasonably high expectations. I had been reading the teasers, and yes, I love M. Leighton's writing. But what happened became one of my most favorite reading experiences ever.

I would love to tell you that I loved The Wild Ones for some deep, thoughtful reason. And believe me, the author did deal the characters some very heavy, hard-hitting emotional turmoil. Truly. But what put this book over the top for me was the characters.

Trick. Good lord, this man was one delicious character. And I don't mean just the looks, although, yeah, he is one beautiful man. Trick has swagger to back it up. But he's never cocky, just self-assured. Trick tries to always do the right thing, even if it causes him pain. He's given up a lot for his family, and is resigned to his duty. Until he meets Cami.Cami brings out something reckless in Trick. Something wild and untamed. Denying himself of her may be the toughest job he's faced.
"Pick 'treat'. Please, for the love of God, pick 'treat'."
Sexiest. Line. Ever.

Sweet, sweet Cami. I adored this girl. Cami is loving and fearless. She goes along to please her domineering father. But when Cami meets Trick, she's feels the drawn to him like a puppet on a string. She feels alive. Free. Reckless. But will the pull be enough to make her cut ties to her perfect life? It seems inevitable, but life isn't always simple. Cami and Trick's new found flame will be put to the test, in more ways than they can imagine.


Cami and Trick are backed up by two of the most awesome friends ever. Jenna and Rusty were absolute riots. Every time Cami or Trick would get down, these two were there to pull them back up, usually using humor and pulling no punches. I wish they had their own book! (I'm looking at you M.)


So with a cover like this, you know there's going to be some serious steam. I had read the Madly series by Leighton, so I knew she can write some smokin' love scenes. And she does bring the steam in this book. But, she also delivers some fantastic build-up. The quietly suggestive, flirtatious moments between Trick and Cami was through the roof. The sexual tension between them was so freaking hot, I was left fanning myself and telling my husband to crank up the AC. No lie.
I know that I've spent most of my review gushing about The Wild Ones. How much I loved Trick and Cami, their friends, their romance. But at the heart of it, is the sweetest love of all. The willingness to go out on a limb. To take a chance for the kind of love that might not seem safe, but is the kind of love we all dream about. With Trick and Cami, that kind of love is most certainly worth the risk.

posted by Andreat78 on August 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Cool beans

This was a good book and it had me turning pages furiously to see what happens. Although the conflicts in this book were obvious, it still had some good qualities: like the romance between Trick and Cami and Rusty and Jenna. But I have to say from pages 140 ish-160 was ...
This was a good book and it had me turning pages furiously to see what happens. Although the conflicts in this book were obvious, it still had some good qualities: like the romance between Trick and Cami and Rusty and Jenna. But I have to say from pages 140 ish-160 was the longiest drag-fest in the history of draging out the conclusion. In a way it made the reunion that much sweeter( depending on the person ). Other than that this book is about 190 pages and if you find yourself in need of a book this might be the book for you.

posted by Gainbr on October 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Cool beans

    This was a good book and it had me turning pages furiously to see what happens. Although the conflicts in this book were obvious, it still had some good qualities: like the romance between Trick and Cami and Rusty and Jenna. But I have to say from pages 140 ish-160 was the longiest drag-fest in the history of draging out the conclusion. In a way it made the reunion that much sweeter( depending on the person ). Other than that this book is about 190 pages and if you find yourself in need of a book this might be the book for you.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Good, just good!

    I expected more from one of my favorite authors, but this too me was nearly as good as M. Leighton's Bad Boy Series. I do plan on reading the other books in this series because I am hopeful that they will get better. Since while looking at other reviews I seem to be in the minority, perhaps I had an off reading day! ENJOY!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The cover is perfect for this book.

    I liked the story, but wish there would have been a little more character and story development. I did not get as wrapped up in this book as I thought I would, but still enjoyed it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    I'm still confused on why we completely skipped over the whole C

    I'm still confused on why we completely skipped over the whole Cami-is-still-a-virgin thing? That's generally a pretty big deal, but it wasn't ever mentioned before or after Trick and Cami got together. Did I just misinterpret that part of the story? The scene changes between chapters were sometimes very abrupt and a little hard to follow.

    Overall, though, I liked The Wild Ones!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Quite a "treat"

    Not really my style of writing but I was after something new & fresh. I wasn't disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cami Hines is home on the horse ranch for the summer, hoping to

    Cami Hines is home on the horse ranch for the summer, hoping to learn about the family business and having fun with her bestie. One night out with her friend and she meets Trick and The moment their eyes meet its instant. She tries to fight it but when she finds out he is working for her father its becomes harder. When they think things are going good someone drops the bomb on them and the dark secret tests them and their love for one another.

    I enjoyed the story but it was one I have read before. I found myself skimming some parts and being totally absorbed in others. The dialog, what little their was, was witty and funny. Then all of a sudden things blew up and then at the end things were just kind of glossed over. I felt a little rushed to me. We didn't find out what Cami or Trick's mom thought of the news. Just that Trick went and explained things to Cami's dad and that's it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Definitely should be labeled as New Young Adult. Geared more to

    Definitely should be labeled as New Young Adult. Geared more toward teenagers and very early twenties. And not because the characters were in their early twenties. God knows Anastasia was young. But the tone and style of the book made me feel like I was reading something that should be in Teen Magazine. The book was good despite this. It just didn't have me fanning myself and dying to read the next chapter. Down to You is more for adults. Oh and the huge error on Cami being a virgin and then the author forgets and she's suddenly not a virgin? What happened there?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Young Adult

    This is a book about a college-age couple. Wish I'd known before I bought it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Review: The Wild Ones

    Lisa Hines's review Jul 14, 13 · edit
    3 of 5 stars
    Read from July 04 to 05, 2013, read count: 1

    How hot can one guy get?!? Patrick "Trick" Henley can get pretty hot!
    He's smart, dedicated, kind, patient, and hot! He loves his family, he loves horses, he loves Camille "Cami" Hines (yes, that is my last name too :-D) but does his best to keep away from her or he risks losing his job. Sounds like a simple story of daddy doesn't want daughter dating boy from wrong side of tracks, right? Um, no - there is one heck of a twist in here that will have you saying "What the Heck?!?" or worse.

    My only problem with this book was that I was expecting more detailed heat and steam but the hot stuff started and that's where the book faded into the next scene or chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Predictable

    I kept waiting for something more that didnt happen. Rich girl, stable hand, nice horses, old cars and miscommunications. You know the story...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Not really my cup of tea, but it caught my attention. I'm more o

    Not really my cup of tea, but it caught my attention. I'm more of a true crime type of girl. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Good

    Good story but i was bummed there were no steamy scenes...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    For all the hype surrounding The Wild Ones, I expected a unique

    For all the hype surrounding The Wild Ones, I expected a unique, hard-hitting contemporary romance that would knock me out of this world. Instead, I experienced a mediocre romance that, although tempered with hot and spicy scenes, didn't wrap around my brain and stick with me long after reading the last word.

    Cami is the daughter of a successful business man in the horse breeding business. Trick was on his way to college graduation when familial duties took him off his course. The two meeting in a crowded bar sets off a whirlwind relationship that takes many tears, and much heartbreak, to reach a blissful happy ending.

    M. Leighton produces original premises that always draw me in, but the stories never fill me quite completely. Cami and Trick were the epitome of superficial attraction that set my teeth on edge over and over again. As soon as the story opened, I saw that it would be another tragic case of 'I only like you because you're hot'. I felt that there was no depth in their connection as both Cami and Trick danced a lustful tango throughout the novel. Neither of the two characters, whose thoughts we read in an alternating pattern, exhibited outstanding characteristics that warranted such an obvious display of instant attraction. I liked that Trick, at least, had direction in his passion for horses. It was something that grounded him and made him a more likable character. While I found myself anxious to see where, and how, Cami and Trick's families collided, I could not find it within to invest myself in them. Something niggled in the back of my mind as I read, telling me that I should've been feeling some sort of sympathy or heartbreak for whatever complications were haunting this story's hero and heroine, but the characters' actions and attitudes just couldn't get me to care so much. Between the disappointing characterization and the juvenile dialogue, the only saving grace for The Wild Ones is the idea of a couple of inexperienced youths with enough gut to stand up and fight for their love.
    *eARC provided in exchange for an honest review and blog tour purposes*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Good read

    I liked the story, loved the characters. Some things didn't "add up" very well but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2