Customer Reviews for

The Wild Road

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    It's amazing!

    I read A LOT. I love to read. I'm addicted to reading. This is one of the best books I have ever read.
    The characters are funny, interesting, deep and amusing, and the plot keeps you turning page after page. And-there are no mary-sues. Each character has a balance of good, bad, and mischief, and although Tag is the main character and hero, he isn't perfect. He makes mistakes that keep the story going and help line up the events in perfect sync.
    I'd recommend this book for people from age 13-20, mostly because it has a lot of pages for a young kid to read, and small letters. But you will not regret reading it, whatever age you are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    I want to run down the wild road!!

    I love this book I first read it in 6th grade, and I'm at the end of 7th now, and it's still one of the best books I have ever read!! I greatly reccomend this book to all of you people who wonder where your cat goes when they run off into the night... I have other reviews about Dragons of Autumn Twilight, Yu-Gi-Oh!,and Mara Daughter of the Nile

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    Absolutely Brilliant

    In an astonishing work, The Wild Road and The Golden Cat, King achieves what Umberto Ecco strives (and fails) to do. He achieves a synthesis of numerous religious, philosophical and cultural schools into a wholely realized conceptual world. Amazingly, his work is quite accessable and a great story to boot with none of the strained intelectualizing games Ecco delights in. Cat lover, Philosopher, Historian, or just a fan of a well written, involving tale, any reader will be well rewarded by picking up these books. I look forward to other works by this fine and refreshing author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Woo!

    Great book! That is way too general so I'll go into detail. Great book I just read it and it was one of the greatest books I have read! So if you like gripping cat fantasy novels, or just animal novels alone I recomend this book highly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    insert headline here

    this is a great book. it is very well written, a rarity in today's world. you need to pay attention to get the full impact.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    This Book Takes Animal Fantasy to the Extreme

    This was an excellent book! It actually takes you into the cats' minds and you can see the world as they see it. The story was awesome with a number of great themes. I've read a lot of books, and this one is one of my favorites! The only reason I have to give this book 4 stars in stead of 5 is because sometimes the adventure seemed too tedious, the dangers too grave, and the villain too villainous. King seemed to be taking animal fantasy to its limits, and that's not always a good thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2002

    Tom on books

    This novel was, superb! The tale of a courageous kitten on a mission to save the 'CAT' world. If you enjoy books read this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    Where else can you find a treasure like this?!

    When I bought this book, I didn't think I would like it at all. I had just finishe Tailchaser's Song an I was hooked on that. Another book so soon? I rejected it at first. But, as summer went along, I fell in love again. I couldn't beleive the insight Gabriel King had! It was amazing! So, if you like cats, fantasy, or the bad guy getting what he deserves, you'll like this. (Also, if you alreay read Tailchaser's Song, this is a good next book:^)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2001

    Incredible. Absolutely awesome.

    Is Gabriel King part cat? After reding 'The Wild Road', you may wonder. This book not only gives the actions of the cats, but also the reasons behind those actions. The thoughts, the hopes, the dreams....and the fears. For there are fears. For the first time, you not only SEE what a cat is doing, but you get to know WHY. You speak Catinese, and have the ability to see inside their minds. You will laugh, you will chuckle. You'll cry, and you will curse. And in the end, you will smile through the tears, because life DOES go on. Isn't it strange that it took a band of homeless cats to remind you of that fact?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2000

    Purrrfect!

    This book was absolutly awesome! King's use of language paints a beautiful picture. He really takes you into the novel, writing like he himself was a cat. This book is definatly recommended for book and cat lovers alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2000

    Absolutely Fantastic

    I was sure I'd never find a cat book I liked as much as or more than 'Tailchaser's Song' but here it is. King's book is rich, his use of language is unsurpassed, he does much more than communicate, he draws intricate, beautiful pictures with words. The story is robust and mature, not just a 'cat' story, these cats are fully realized individuals with complex personalities like any 'person.' The whole book is gripping, I couldn't put it down, and immediately moved to the sequal - the Golden Cat. I hope King writes another of these, to continue the story of the characters' lives. I was devastated when I was done reading them both, and had nothing to continue on to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1