Customer Reviews for

The Wind through the Keyhole: A Dark Tower Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 337 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

The Wind Through The Keyhole is the newest novel by Stephen King

The Wind Through The Keyhole is the newest novel by Stephen King taking place somehere between book four and five of the The Dark Tower series. It is surprisingly very good considering the lastest efforts that have come from King. The narrative is crisp and the story it...
The Wind Through The Keyhole is the newest novel by Stephen King taking place somehere between book four and five of the The Dark Tower series. It is surprisingly very good considering the lastest efforts that have come from King. The narrative is crisp and the story itself is one of introspective realization that comes in the form of a tale told within a tale told within a tale as the characters sit out a storm one night in an abandoned building.
You don't have to have read any of the Dark Tower series to enjoy this book but to help out King offers a quick synopsis in the beginning so that any questions would be answered. There is the tale to begin with of the main troop of characters escaping a fast moving storm that is likely to freeze you to the spot as a lava flow is likely to burn you alive. Only moving much faster.
As they wait out the storm the gunslinger Roland tells them a tale of when as a youth he and his partner went into the town of Dabaria to hunt a skin shifter. A murderous creature that can change from man to any manner of animal and whose bloodlust holds not bounds. During the a long night in jail the young Roland tells the tale of Tim Stoutheart and the Covenant Man. A timeless tale told of a young boy coming of age in a time where violence and lust destroys all that was pure in his life.
After that tale is told comes the conclusion of the tale of young Roland and the skin shifter and its bloody conclusion. From there comes the end to the storm and the older Roland coming to terms with his own soul.
Fine stories all told before your grandfather's grandfather was born, Once upon a bye...

posted by AlbertG on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

I am sure the story is great. I am a huge fan of SK but it's dis

I am sure the story is great. I am a huge fan of SK but it's disappointing that the formatting is bad on this ebook. The fonts are not changeable with the nook software. They are too light and there are spots where it changes back and forth between the publisher's defau...
I am sure the story is great. I am a huge fan of SK but it's disappointing that the formatting is bad on this ebook. The fonts are not changeable with the nook software. They are too light and there are spots where it changes back and forth between the publisher's default and my selected one. And yes an made sure that the box was unchecked for using Publisher's default. I hope they will fix this and provide a better copy for us to downlod since I was looking forward to this book very much.

posted by yarnmama on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    The Wind Through The Keyhole is the newest novel by Stephen King

    The Wind Through The Keyhole is the newest novel by Stephen King taking place somehere between book four and five of the The Dark Tower series. It is surprisingly very good considering the lastest efforts that have come from King. The narrative is crisp and the story itself is one of introspective realization that comes in the form of a tale told within a tale told within a tale as the characters sit out a storm one night in an abandoned building.
    You don't have to have read any of the Dark Tower series to enjoy this book but to help out King offers a quick synopsis in the beginning so that any questions would be answered. There is the tale to begin with of the main troop of characters escaping a fast moving storm that is likely to freeze you to the spot as a lava flow is likely to burn you alive. Only moving much faster.
    As they wait out the storm the gunslinger Roland tells them a tale of when as a youth he and his partner went into the town of Dabaria to hunt a skin shifter. A murderous creature that can change from man to any manner of animal and whose bloodlust holds not bounds. During the a long night in jail the young Roland tells the tale of Tim Stoutheart and the Covenant Man. A timeless tale told of a young boy coming of age in a time where violence and lust destroys all that was pure in his life.
    After that tale is told comes the conclusion of the tale of young Roland and the skin shifter and its bloody conclusion. From there comes the end to the storm and the older Roland coming to terms with his own soul.
    Fine stories all told before your grandfather's grandfather was born, Once upon a bye...

    27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Story within a story within a story... Another reviewer describe

    Story within a story within a story...
    Another reviewer described it thus and hit the nail on the head. All great King stories and all tied to the Tower, but if you're looking another heavy dose of Eddie, Jake, Susanna and Roland you may be disappointed. The inner stories (which make up the majority of the book) introduce new and very interesting characters.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    This is an interesting book, not just because it's part of The D

    This is an interesting book, not just because it's part of The Dark Tower, but because it is a filler that was written 20+ years after the 4th book came out. The tale in this fine tome explains where the characters went between books 4 and 5, what happened to the ka-tet during a massive storm that blows away everything in it's path. The tale that is told is one of historical significance to the plot and provides further background information on the entire Dark Tower saga. A definite keep for anyone who wants to know more about this fascinating world. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Entertaining

    Like visiting old friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Enjoyed it

    Now I have to read the Dark Tower books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    a must read!

    If you are a Stephen King and/or A Dark Tower Fan you must check out this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Visit with Friends

    It was a lot of fun to revisit our old friends. Read the whole Dark Tower before reading this. What I liked about this was that it was fun, immersed in the mythology of the dark Tower without feeling the need to be the epic the core series becomes--just fun. The ending--the very end--does seem a little out of character for Roland and melodramatic to boot; it doesn't ruin the novel at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Nice to be back with Roland's ka-tet.

    Great addition to a wonderful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I don't really think that SK needed to write another Dark Tower

    I don't really think that SK needed to write another Dark Tower book. It's like 3 stories in one and it wasn't terrible, but I didn't think it was necessary to write it after all this time. The Dark Tower series is long enough without book 4.1 added.

    In The Wind Through the Keyhole, Stephen King returns to the rich landscape of Mid-World, the spectacular territory of the Dark Tower fantasy saga that stands as his most beguiling achievement.

    Roland Deschain and his ka-tet—Jake, Susannah, Eddie, and Oy, the billy-bumbler—encounter a ferocious storm just after crossing the River Whye on their way to the Outer Baronies. As they shelter from the howling gale, Roland tells his friends not just one strange story but two . . . and in so doing, casts new light on his own troubled past.

    In his early days as a gunslinger, in the guilt-ridden year following his mother’s death, Roland is sent by his father to investigate evidence of a murderous shape-shifter, a “skin-man” preying upon the population around Debaria. Roland takes charge of Bill Streeter, the brave but terrified boy who is the sole surviving witness to the beast’s most recent slaughter. Only a teenager himself, Roland calms the boy and prepares him for the following day’s trials by reciting a story from the Magic Tales of the Eld that his mother often read to him at bedtime. “A person’s never too old for stories,” Roland says to Bill. “Man and boy, girl and woman, never too old. We live for them.” And indeed, the tale that Roland unfolds, the legend of Tim Stoutheart, is a timeless treasure for all ages, a story that lives for us.

    King began the Dark Tower series in 1974; it gained momentum in the 1980s; and he brought it to a thrilling conclusion when the last three novels were published in 2003 and 2004. The Wind Through the Keyhole is sure to fascinate avid fans of the Dark Tower epic. But this novel also stands on its own for all readers, an enchanting and haunting journey to Roland’s world and testimony to the power of Stephen King’s storytelling magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Great Book!

    I just love the dark tower series so I was glad to see the ka-tet return! YAY! Though I don't know if I agree as to the novel being a "stand-alone" it is well worth the time to read it anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Great read

    Stephn ing at his best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No illustrations?

    I enjoyed the book very much but i thought it contained illustrations like the other books in the series. If it does they are not in the ebook. This is probly the last ebook I will buy. Im going to buy the actual book tomorrow if it has the artwork in it. Loved the book but dissapoint in the lack of artwork in the ebook. 5 stars for the story 4 stars for the ebook

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Book

    I love the tower series, but i did hate the ending of the dark tower . Mabe kings wayof redeeming his self , this is a goodstory and i say true xoxo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Different

    The characters seem much different than they were in the other books. I haven't read much of the book yet, but I already have a sense that they are not the same. Eddie's humor seems a little too forced, Susannah seems more affectionate towards Eddie, Roland though is the one that struck me as the most different. It's a shame because e was my favorite character. The book though is still great, as usual wih Stephen King.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4