Customer Reviews for

The Wind through the Keyhole: A Dark Tower Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 347 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(223)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

The Wind Through The Keyhole is the newest novel by Stephen King

The Wind Through The Keyhole is the newest novel by Stephen King taking place somehere between book four and five of the The Dark Tower series. It is surprisingly very good considering the lastest efforts that have come from King. The narrative is crisp and the story it...
The Wind Through The Keyhole is the newest novel by Stephen King taking place somehere between book four and five of the The Dark Tower series. It is surprisingly very good considering the lastest efforts that have come from King. The narrative is crisp and the story itself is one of introspective realization that comes in the form of a tale told within a tale told within a tale as the characters sit out a storm one night in an abandoned building.
You don't have to have read any of the Dark Tower series to enjoy this book but to help out King offers a quick synopsis in the beginning so that any questions would be answered. There is the tale to begin with of the main troop of characters escaping a fast moving storm that is likely to freeze you to the spot as a lava flow is likely to burn you alive. Only moving much faster.
As they wait out the storm the gunslinger Roland tells them a tale of when as a youth he and his partner went into the town of Dabaria to hunt a skin shifter. A murderous creature that can change from man to any manner of animal and whose bloodlust holds not bounds. During the a long night in jail the young Roland tells the tale of Tim Stoutheart and the Covenant Man. A timeless tale told of a young boy coming of age in a time where violence and lust destroys all that was pure in his life.
After that tale is told comes the conclusion of the tale of young Roland and the skin shifter and its bloody conclusion. From there comes the end to the storm and the older Roland coming to terms with his own soul.
Fine stories all told before your grandfather's grandfather was born, Once upon a bye...

posted by AlbertG on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

I am sure the story is great. I am a huge fan of SK but it's dis

I am sure the story is great. I am a huge fan of SK but it's disappointing that the formatting is bad on this ebook. The fonts are not changeable with the nook software. They are too light and there are spots where it changes back and forth between the publisher's defau...
I am sure the story is great. I am a huge fan of SK but it's disappointing that the formatting is bad on this ebook. The fonts are not changeable with the nook software. They are too light and there are spots where it changes back and forth between the publisher's default and my selected one. And yes an made sure that the box was unchecked for using Publisher's default. I hope they will fix this and provide a better copy for us to downlod since I was looking forward to this book very much.

posted by yarnmama on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Wow...Awesome!

    Another Dark Tower Novel... Never thought I would see the day. Sure it's not part of a series but it's Dark Tower!

    23 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    loved this book! Such an awesome story line. Finished it very qu

    loved this book! Such an awesome story line. Finished it very quickly.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    I loved the book! My only issue is that the ebook that I bought

    I loved the book! My only issue is that the ebook that I bought from BN has extremely funky text. The font and size of the text was constantly changing and I found it very distracting. Did any one else have this problem?

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Loved the story, but what was up with the text!!! The script was

    Loved the story, but what was up with the text!!! The script was barely dark enough to read, and it changed at strange places, and there were a lot of grammatical errors. I expect better for a 13$ ebook.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Better quick, than none a'tall...

    When I first turned the corner in the book-seller, settling in fiction's "K" section, I experienced a bit of melancholly at the sight of such a painfully thin offering. And now that I think of it, it really IS King's fault, isn't it? Spoiling us Constants with eight, nine hundred pages? Say thankya. But...he wrote true and remembered the face of his father. So how do I complain over so silly a gripe as the width of the tale? I don't-now. I cry King's pardon, and go about my duty, and wait to see that clearing there. At the end of the path. Not yet, though. I'm chasing someone.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    I absolutely LOVED this book...I though it fit right in with the

    I absolutely LOVED this book...I though it fit right in with the rest of the DT series....couldn't lay it down and read it in 2 days.....If you like the Dark Tower series you will definitely enjoy this book! It would be wonderful if SK continues to add these little gems to the series....

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    We Were Well Met on the Path of the Beam, Yet Again, Sai King.

    Unknown to me up until minutes ago when I finished this book, I feel like a missing part of me is yet with me again. Shall we never go so long in life without a nod to the gunslingers on a more regular basis

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, I've missed Roland and his ka-tet, but we didn't spend that

    Wow, I've missed Roland and his ka-tet, but we didn't spend that much time with them. In that respect, the book is a good stand-alone, in that you don't have to know the rest of the series to enjoy it. I couldn't put the book down, and finished in a day, which made it far too soon to leave Mid-World again. Guess I'll have to start reading the series again...

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Short but hopefully sweet!

    Only 320 pages. Hope it moves fast and packs a really big punch

    6 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Dgcgcevhfrfv

    Hard toread

    5 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you haven't begun the journey, now's a good time to pack your gunna and get going!

    This is a not-to-miss essential for long-time Dark Tower fans. Stephen King does it yet again: spinning another yarn of pure storytelling-around-a-fire style. For the Constant Reader, this is a good point in the journey; where you stop, turn your head, pack your gunna, and brace yourself for the details of characters that have since been forgotten. For those that aren't the Constant Reader, 'fear not': this holds a great solo piece of the Dark Tower legacy and can be enjoyed in its own right, without being the shadow of the other novels in the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    A pure delight in this series, and as King writes in the forewor

    A pure delight in this series, and as King writes in the foreword, can easily be read alone, without reading the other Dark Tower novels. I read the whole Dark Tower series, and felt that the writing fell off after the third novel, that King just felt compelled (and held hostage by his fans) to just finish the thing. When he himself showed up as a character in one of them (I forget which one), I was sure that was true, and the (then) final novel only proved that, in my mind at least. I think King would agree, especially given his treatment of Roland at the end (if you ignored the warning).
    In this novel, King I think, unforced by the impetus of finishing anything, rediscovers his love for the worlds that began with his collaboration with Peter Straub. I was as tired of the Dark Tower series as I suspect King was by the time he was done with it. After this novel, I guess I hope (but hardly demand) that he write another novel about a young Roland. Unless he thinks of something new to write about. Which I will always buy, everytime, and I think King knows why.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    This story takes you right back into the time with Eddie, Jake,

    This story takes you right back into the time with Eddie, Jake, Susanna, Oy and Roland... as if they had never left. It seems there could be an infinite number of stories to tell from Roland's life... I only hope he continues releasing these.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Excellent!

    A welcome addition to one of the best series of all time.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Feels like a classic Stephen King

    Whether you are a new Stephen King fan or a constant reader this book is well worth it. I enjoyed spending time with Roland and the Ka-Tet once again and it feels like it fits perfectly between book 4 and 5 with no break in time. Thank you SK for sharing another Roland story. I always feel sad when the book is over and Roland goes away again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Recommend to anyone

    If you are familiar with the Dark Tower series, reading this book is like finding old friends and catching up with stories that they have had. You don't need to have read the series to enjoy either (although it helps). In typical King fashion, he draws you in and the story within the story is really the fascinating part.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Stephen King is an excellent storyteller, and I loved getting to

    Stephen King is an excellent storyteller, and I loved getting to go back to Midworld for a while...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Just plain gr8

    Lu

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Amazing book!

    One of the best entries in "the Dark Tower" series, I think-- and I went in very, very skeptical, because the last time an entire book was devoted to Roland telling his ka-tet a story, the book was "Wizard and Glass," which I (and a lot of other fans) completely loathed.

    This time, though, it works beautifully. There is a moment where I was shocked out of the story by an incongruity, but it easily pulled me back in.

    An excellent story, and a book worthy of being part of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Perfect and amazing

    I have read every stephen king book to date. I am not exagerrating when i say that tim stoutheart is one of his greatest characters. Loved this book so much

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12