Customer Reviews for

The Winnowing Season (Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Book two in the Amish Vines and Orchards Series begins with Rhod

    Book two in the Amish Vines and Orchards Series begins with Rhoda, Samuel and Jacob getting ready to start a new Old Order Amish Community in Unity, Maine. Complications arise almost immediately when Rhoda's past comes face to face with her future and threatens to prevent the King's and Byler's from making the actual move.

    Triumphant after a grueling meeting with church leaders, the small group arrives at the new orchard and begins the back breaking work of reestablishing the thriving business. Cindy Woodsmall reveals a little more about Jacob's past and how his decisions then continue to impact his future.

    Emotions run high as Rhoda, Samuel and Jacob all try and figure out how to remain in God's will while balancing their own desires. It's a fascinating story line that leaves you wanting more! If Amish fiction is something you enjoy reading, then I whole-heartedly recommend this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE WINNOWING SEASON by Cindy Woodsmall is an interesting Contem

    THE WINNOWING SEASON by Cindy Woodsmall is an interesting Contemporary Amish Fiction set in Maine. #2 in "The Winnowing Season", while you can read this as a stand alone, I would recommend reading book 1 first, "A Season for Tending" to acquaint yourself with the characters. Join Jacob King, Samuel King, and Rhoda Byler on a journey of faith,secrets, heartbreak, healing,forgiveness,an usual gift and a love triangle. A cast of complex characters with compelling and complex problems. You do not want to miss this epic tale of disaster,alienation,the Amish community and wine orchards. Fast paced, with a compelling plot that is intriguing and as well as heartfelt. Another Amish great read for this author. Received for an honest review from the publisher,Waterbrook Press

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: SWEET

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction andMore

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Great 2nd in series,

    Can't wait for Aug for follow up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great read, disappointing ending... There is something very intr

    Great read, disappointing ending...
    There is something very intriguing about the Amish lifestyle to me. It all started back when I was in high school. Our neighbors and good friends moved to north central Indiana, right near several Amish communities. I had always been a big fan of Little House on the Prairie and here was a modern day group that was living like it was still the late 1800s.

    The Winnowing Season by Cindy Woodsmall is just one such book. As the story opens, we find the Kings and Bylers have recently decided to go into business together but those plans were disrupted by a tornado that destroyed the orchard, so now they are on their way to Maine to revitalize an orchard there and establish a new community. This book is the second in the Amish Vines and Orchards series, but I don't feel like I lost anything in not reading the first book. The author did a good job providing background information to help the new reader understand and to remind those that might have read the first book some time ago.

    The book is told primarily from the perspective of Rhoda and her business partner Samuel and they are perhaps the better developed characters in the story, but there are parts of the story that shed more light onto Rhoda's boyfriend Jacob and his sister Leah. I really like the love stories that run through the book and how even the good relationships seem so complicated. There is a mix of known loves that are shared with the world and others that are tucked away and kept private by the individual or even the couple. Samuel is in love with Rhoda, but because his brother is courting her, he tries to hide it, but makes her upset when this makes he seems removed. Leah seems to have a connection with Landon, but how much is him and how much is his ability to help her experience the English world. Jacob is courting Rhoda, but how strong can their relationship be when he is hiding so much of her past from her.

    Cindy Woodsmall does a good job writing about the interaction between the Amish and English world. She illustrates well the challenges faced by the Amish, with their naive understanding of English world. She also shows the way that the Amish rely on their English neighbors and partners, but equally so are reluctant to be dependent on them for fear that they will lose their independence.

    Much of the book is about the faith of the characters and how it drives their actions (or inactions in some cases). They put their trust in and have faith in God's will and believe that everything will turn out okay. This was especially true when Rhoda came under investigation later in the book (can't tell you more - that would ruin the story). It shows how there are different paths for all of us. It provides a reminder that God has His plan for us and we can't always control what those paths or plans are.

    I really enjoyed the book, but felt a little disappointed at the end of the book when there were things left unresolved...things that had come up repeatedly along the course of the book but were left unanswered. I do like a cliffhanger as much as the next person, but I prefer a book that leaves me wanting more...not feeling like I missed something. I look forward to the next book in the series, so that I can get some resolution on the unresolved issues from this book.

    A complimentary copy of the book was provided for this review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Hunting grounds

    Hunting grounds

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    One of the many things that I appreciate about Cindy Woodsmall¿s

    One of the many things that I appreciate about Cindy Woodsmall’s series is that they seem to come out in pretty quick succession. Even with that it is still sometimes hard to immediately remember what happened in the last book and where we are at in the story. At the beginning of each of her subsequent books is a short synopsis of what has occurred in the story up to this point. I really wish more authors and publishers would adopt this practice.




    This installment picks up where the first book left off. Samuel is still smitten with Rhoda but he can’t act on those feelings because his younger brother Jacob is actively pursuing her. Samuel and Rhoda are amazing business partners but could they be life partners as well?




    Samuel makes decisions out of his passionate nature and does so in the pursuit of truth and justice. The problem is that in that quest he winds up hurting the very one he meant to protect. I find myself so frustrated with his stubbornness. He always thinks he’s right!




    Jacob makes me crazy too. If he would just tell the truth about things it would not only allow others to help him, but it would give him the freedom to begin to set things right.




    Rhoda is such an interesting and complex personality. I admire her ability to stand up to constant ridicule from those around her. One of the things that has me scratching my head is her willingness to cover up for Jacob. When will she realize that she’s not helping by allowing him to continually escape detection and repeatedly shirk his responsibilities to the group?




    I have to say that I had the same exact reaction to the ending of this book as I had to the first one and many of Cindy’s other books as well. It went something like this, “What . . . that can’t be the end!” I would then frantically flip a few pages just to see if I had missed something. Nope . . . another cliffhanger! It is a very good thing that the next book in the series, For Every Season, is scheduled to release in August 2013. I can hardly wait!




    I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    will there be an amish vines and orchards book three explaining

    will there be an amish vines and orchards book three explaining what happens to rhoda what happens to her life

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    I enjoyed the first book in the series so much I couldn't wait t

    I enjoyed the first book in the series so much I couldn't wait to get back to these characters and Cindy did not disappoint.

    She throws you right back into the drama of Rhoda and the King brothers. The book opens with Rhoda being summoned to meet with the bishop and she knows this can't go well. I won't tell you what happens, but know there is high drama and you want to speak up for her and tell them to just leave her alone.

    Samuel is struggling with his feelings for Rhoda and I found myself wanting them to find a way to be together without hurting Jacob. Is it possible?

    Jacob is thrown into his past and it makes me mad that he won't be honest with Rhoda, you know it all has to explode in his face, right?

    Again, I won't give anything away, you'll just have to get your own copy to see what happens. I enjoyed this book as much, if not more than, the first. If you enjoy Amish fiction and some romance,pick up a copy and start reading, you won't be sorry.

    An ebook of this book was given to me by the publisher, Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group, in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1