BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Winnowing Season (Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    I am enjoying this series almost as much as I enjoyed Cindy Wood

    I am enjoying this series almost as much as I enjoyed Cindy Woodsmall's "Sisters of the Quilt" series which I have read several times over. Cindy Woodsmall's gift for developing her characters and their relationships is in my opinion unmatched. I personally like the relationship between Rhoda and Jacob and do not want to see Jacob's heart broken. I will need to see something more in the relationship between Samuel and Rhoda to accept an ending with them together.




    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Book Summary: The tornado that devastated Kings┬┐ Orchard pushed

    Book Summary: The tornado that devastated Kings’ Orchard pushed Rhoda, Samuel, and Jacob to make a new start in Maine. Are they strong enough to withstand the challenges of establishing an Amish community—and brave enough to face the secrets that move with them? On the eve of their departure to begin a new Old Order Amish community outside of Unity, Maine, Rhoda Byler is shocked to discover that choices made by her business partner and friend, Samuel King, have placed her and her unusual gifts directly into the path of her district’s bishop and preachers. She is furious with Samuel and is fearful that the Kings will be influenced by the way her leaders see her, and not what they know to be true—that Rhoda’s intuition is a gift from God. Jacob King won’t be swayed by community speculation. He loves Rhoda, believes in her, and wants to build a future with her in Maine. But when the ghosts of his past come calling and require him to fulfill a great debt, can he shake their hold before it destroys what he has with Rhoda? Samuel has a secret of his own—one he’ll go to great lengths to keep hidden, even if it means alienating those closest to him. Throwing himself into rehabilitating the once-abandoned orchard, Samuel turns to a surprising new ally. Book 2 of the Amish Vines and Orchards series asks: can the three faithfully follow God’s leading and build a new home and orchard in Maine? Or will this new beginning lead to more ruin and heartbreak?




    My Review: I was amazed at how quick a read this was. It was worth reading every minute of it. I loved how much more the characters grew and changed in such a short time. The plot grew greater with all the little details swirling around this book. I think that Rhoda and Samuel are the best of the book. It is very hard to pick which of the secondary characters I liked best. There was very little to complain about. I found between book 1 and book 2 a seamlessness that was like coming in out of the cold. I liked the move to Maine after all the stress of Rhoda going before her elders. I was disappointed that Jacob left and for so long. Jacob's situation from his past was getting a little old but seemed more controlled by the end of the book. This is just another fine example of Ms. Woodsmall's superb writing just enough to hook me into the 3rd even 4th book and look forward to each an every word!! 




    I would like to thank Blogging for Books and Waterbook Press for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
     
     

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    I have fallen in love with Amish Fiction and Cindy Woodsmall kno

    I have fallen in love with Amish Fiction and Cindy Woodsmall knows how to draw a reader into the Amish style of life. Captivating from the very beginning, I couldn't put it down until the end. I can't wait to get the next book in the series... I chose to read this book first as I was struggling to get my first book copy to show up on my Nook. I didn't feel like I truly missed any major story plots by reading the second one, first. The author really helps tie in the other book but not become too wordy!

    I've heard though, the first book really helps you understand the characters of this book better so once I get my issue taken care of, I plan to read the first book before finishing the series with book 3..

    A great read! I love Cindy Woodsmall's books and this is no exception..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    An amazing sequal.

    In book two, Rhoda Byler and Samuel King, along with some other family members move up to Maine because a tornado destroyed the King's Orchard. Surprisingly enough, when Rhoda went through some trials, her boyfriend Jacob King wasn't there to help her, for he was off helping someone totally different. Since Samuel helped Rhoda so much, he started to fall in love with her. Will Samuel be able to controll his secret love of Rhoda, or will he mess up big-time?
    A MUST-READ

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joy Hannabass for Readers' Favorite "The Winno

    Reviewed by Joy Hannabass for Readers' Favorite

    "The Winnowing Season", book 2 in the 'Amish Vines and Orchards trilogy', continues the story of the King family and Rhoda Byler as they move and start their new Amish community in Maine. Samuel King and Rhoda seemed to always be butting heads, but was it really because she was in a relationship with his brother Jacob? But then just before they were to leave, Jacob suddenly disappeared and didn’t show up in Maine until long after the others arrived, causing a lot of tension among these Amish people. And tension grew even stronger when Jacob announced he had to leave again, giving no clue as to when he would be returning.

    This is one mixed-up dysfunctional Amish family. There is so much happening with the Kings and Rhoda that it will make your head spin at times. Cindy Woodsmall doesn’t write your typical Amish story; she takes you into the hearts of the people, displays their struggles, difficulties, and disappointments, and brings them to life in a unique way. Deep emotions and feelings run wild as this story unfolds bringing heartache not only to the characters but to the readers as well. I was aching for this new Amish community and the problems they were having with each other, and others in the community. Will Cindy Woodsmall unravel the turmoil among these family, friends and neighbors? You are sure to enjoy the outcome when you read her new book, "The Winnowing Season". And don’t forget to pick up the first book in 'Amish Vines and Orchards Series', "A Season for Tending".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Need to check this series out

    Really good read leaves you wanting to read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Vincent and Sky

    Sky ran down "Dad and Mom are home!!!" He stares at Sky "Go take Sage to your room!" Sky took Sage and pulled her up stairs to the third floor

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Sag

    "Whoa! Talk to ya later!" She blinked dazed, and ran up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    Secrets abound in the second book of the Amish Vines and Orchard

    Secrets abound in the second book of the Amish Vines and Orchards entitled The Winnowing Season by Cindy Woodsmall. Rhoda Byler is preparing to leave for Maine to help establish a new Old Order Amish community when she is summoned to a meeting by the district's bishop and preachers. Jacob King, her beloved, says he will stand with her but Jacob receives an unexpected phone call taking him away from the meeting and traveling with her on the train to Maine. Jacob's past is calling and continues to haunt him through most of the book until he gathers the courage to make a change. But it may be to late for he arrives home unexpected and finds his brother, Samuel, has made "a pass" at Rhoda. Now Rhoda is torn between these two brothers. Plus she continues to hear a voice and feels she must find out what message the voice is trying to telling her. Will the three be able to faithfully follow God's calling as they begin this new Amish community and business? Read this exciting book to find out.
    I received this book to review from Blogging for Books for free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    I enjoyed this novel almost as much as the first one! It was rea

    I enjoyed this novel almost as much as the first one! It was really good and kept me on my toes!

    My thoughts about Samuel changed so much in this novel! In the first novel, I could not stand him because I thought he was rude and then he left Catherine hanging so I thought even less of him (especially after writing a letter to the church leaders concerning Rhoda's garden)! However, I came to truly respect him because despite all the chances he had to make a move on Rhoda while Jacob was done he did not...that is until the very end! All the respect I had for him up until that point went slightly down after he told Rhoda how he felt for her only to leave her hanging when Jacob got back! I did love to read about his spiritual growth and how it affected his relationship with Leah in a positive way!

    My respect for Jacob went down a little bit too because he wasn't there to truly support Rhoda, but I knew he really loved her and that definitely showed when he went to the lawyer. The ending however really disappointed me because I thought he would really stick by Rhoda despite what happened at the end! I did however feel bad for him since he was being manipulated by Sandra.

    Rhoda is probably still my favorite character, but Leah is right up there too! She has changed so much throughout "The Winnowing Season" and I do believe it's for the better! I am really looking forward to reading more about her journey in whether she will stay Amish or not! She has got a good head on her shoulders!

    Overall, I thought this novel was great! I liked how the author threw in some twists and turns that left me breathless! Cindy does such a great job of also declaring what a real relationship with Christ is and how ultimately each individual has to make their own choice of following Jesus.

    I received this book for free from Waterbrook Press in exchange for an honest review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Author Cindy Woodsmall continues the story of young Rhoda Byler,

    Author Cindy Woodsmall continues the story of young Rhoda Byler, whom we first met in "A Season for Tending", with "The Winnowing Season", Book 2 in the "Amish Vines and Orchards" series. Rhoda is an Old Order Amish member with intelligence, a head for business, and the gift of "intuition", which she feels is God-given. These personal characteristics, combined with a natural ability to grow produce and herbs, cause some in the community to allow superstition to enter their view of Rhoda. When someone maliciously destroys her beloved garden, Rhoda is devastated. She has the land cleared and divides it as gifts to her two brothers. Samuel King offers to go into business with Rhoda, and combining his family orchard with her canning and business skills would seem like an answer to prayers for them both. However, Samuel and Rhoda are at odds with each other from the beginning on almost every decision to be made. Samuel's younger brother, Jacob, spent several years living with the Englisch, and he has quite a different nature from his older brother. Jacob wants to court Rhoda, but shortly after the new business arrangement begins, a devastating tornado hits the orchard. After months of hard work to restore what was lost, a plan is formed to buy an abandoned orchard in Maine. Leaving behind all that they have known in Pennsylvania and moving to a new world in Maine is a huge step, and it means even more hard work and sacrifice. Finally, all is ready for the group of investors to make their journey to a new life, but at the last minute, an inquiry is held into who ruined Rhoda's garden, and she must once again face public scrutiny. When the group is finally free to move forward, old secrets and recurring threats will face them as they build a new future. When Jacob and Rhoda are separated for a time, she and Samuel realize that they are drawn to each other, and when Jacob returns, heartbreak is felt by all. Rhoda makes a personal decision which she feels is best for all, but what will it mean for her own life and happiness? Cindy Woodsmall once again enchants with her deeply drawn characterizations and her knowledge of the ways of the Amish and the Englisch. I look forward to reading Book 3 in the series, "For Every Season".


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    Out of all the books released this year I think I was looking fo

    Out of all the books released this year I think I was looking forward to this one the most. I was not disappointed but I am freaking out that I have to wait for months to read the next installment! This is easily one of my new favorites. I am so in love with these characters and how unique they are. I’m embarrassed to admit that I’m SO glad that I’m not Rhoda because I have no idea which brother I would choose. Samuel comes off so harsh at times and yet I can’t help but to adore him. The whole plot and all of the characters are absolutely amazing and perfectly unique. It is so hard to find unique Amish but this series pulls it off and manages to stand out for its unusual qualities. I have no idea how I’m going to make it until September to read the next installment!


    About the Story:
    The story picks up where A Season for Tending leaves off. Rhoda and the gang are busy establishing a new farm and trying to avoid drawing attention to themselves. The problem is that Jacob and Rhoda’s trouble seems to just follow them no matter where they go. Rhoda is unable to escape the voices that haunt her and Jacob is unable to break free from the past.

    This is where things got tricky and a bit sticky for the characters. Each person seems to have a secret they want to hide from everyone else. The exploration of Rhoda’s insight is so intriguing to me. It keeps me guessing and I can imagine why it must be a frustrating gift for her. Leah’s secret was one I was kind of expecting but Jacob’s response was one that most frustrated me. I’m so torn between whether Rhoda should stick things out with Jacob or completely forget about him and get with Samuel. There is going to have to be some big event that makes my mind up for me because right now I really am so conflicted!

    This story is truly a joy to read and very unique. It does have a ghost story feel to it at times or a definite supernatural element that is so compelling and interesting to be in the middle of an Amish tale. I absolutely cannot wait to pick up the third installment of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    booksbysteph says "Found a New Author to Love" I GIVE

    booksbysteph says "Found a New Author to Love"

    I GIVE THIS BOOK: 4 3/4 out of 5 stars

    Take the characters from book one and set them down in the middle of no-where Maine and a new adventure begins. Not only do they have to contend with the stress of revitalizing this apple orchard, but people are not acting as they should be and no one is telling secrets. Plus they sometimes forget that they are new and Amish in an unfamiliar town. 

    It is similar to the way that I forget I am reading about Amish and not people from a hundred years ago. This book contains so much hope for a fresh start and it kills me that they keep secrets from each other, the only people they can rely on. It is not fair to run away when people need you front and center. There are so many struggles in this book, but there is always a touch of hope behind everything. 

    Cannot wait 5 months for book 3!

    Until next time, live life one page at a time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Rhoda Byler shoved her to-do list into the hidden pocket o

    "Rhoda Byler shoved her to-do list into the hidden pocket of her apron and slipped out of the summer kitchen. A brief glance assured her non one was around to see her. She needed a few minutes, however fleeting, without anyone tugging at her. Her shoulders and arms ached as she walked into the orchard.

    She breathed in, and the heady scents of fall and ripe apples helped soothe her frayed nerves. After nearly two months of nurturing the tornado-ravaged orchard, she found the view both uplifting and disheartening. Despite their long, hard days of cleaning up felled trees and mending broken ones, the once vibrant orchard looked like a battlefield strewn with injured, defeated soldiers. Would all of her and Samuel's tending restore the wounded trees? Or simply prolong their dying?

    How strange that she found comfort in walking among these wounded trees. Much of the orchard lay dormant, waiting for late winter, when new trees would be planted.

    But she wouldn't be here for that.

    A ladder rested against a tree where she and Samuel has grafted tree limbs from storm-damaged trees into healthy ones, hoping their grafts would take. It wasn't the right time of year for such work, but they were giving this orchard their all before leaving it behind tomorrow.

    A wavering, misty image stepped out from behind an apple tree.

    Emma.

    The vision appeared real enough, but it wasn't actually her little sister. Emma had been with God since the day she was murdered, since the day Rhoda all but sent her teary-eyed sister to that convenience store by herself at exactly the wrong time. Emma often formed in a visible way, as if Rhoda's guilt over her death was burned so deeply into Rhoda's soul that she would see her sister the rest of her days.

    And maybe she would, but Rhoda dared to hope the move to Maine would end the haunting memories.

    Not long after she met Samuel King of Kings' Orchard last summer, he asked if she would partner her canning business with his family's apple farming business. When she finally agreed, she did so hoping for several things to come from the agreement. One desire was for the aberrations to remain at home in Morgansville, some thirty miles away - and where all memories of Emma had been made.

    But whether Rhoda was here at Kings' Orchard or at home with her family, she had yet to be freed of Emma's constant reminders that Rhoda had failed her.

    Would Maine be an escape?" (pg 1-2).

    In the second novel in the Amish Vines and Orchards Series by author Cindy Woodsmall, The Winnowing Season picks up right where A Season for Tending left off. In this continuation of the struggles that Rhoda Byler faces by the Amish community for having a gift from God that allows her to see into the future using her intuition, she is ready to take on a new challenge. A challenge she hopes will bring her far away from the judgmental eyes from her Amish community and church for being branded as using witchcraft to know things that no one could know about the lives of the people living in Morgansville.

    She hopes to find a way to go about living a single life as a successful business woman and in helping build an alliance between herself and the King family. But when Samuel goes to far in bringing an issue to the attention of the church leaders, Rhoda feels that Samuel has overstepped his bounds into her personal life. However will that be the proverbial straw that inevitably severes the relationship between their business dealings?

    I received The Winnowing Season by Cindy Woodsmall compliments of Waterbrook Multnomah for my honest review and received no compensation for a favorable review. What immediately drew my interest in this series was the unique gift that Rhoda possesses of being able to use God's gift of prophecy to help the people in her community. Instead of them seeing it as just that, they don't believe that she has been endowed with it from God but instead is up to no good and has resorted to witchcraft to allow herself to be so successful.

    This was a unique change from your typical Amish books and I was interested to see how Rhoda would continue to use her knowledge of gardening to potentially help another failing apple orchard. Being a huge gardener myself I was interested to see how this could be incorporated into the novel since most Amish women are seen but not necessarily heard when it comes to running their own business and home as a single woman. The best part about this novel is Cindy's attention to detail. Since I hadn't read the first book in the series, one I will rectify shortly when I pick that one up, is that she takes a moment before launching into this book to bring her readers up to speed where the first book left off. I especially love this because often times there is so much time that lapses between books in a series, you have a tendency to forget what the first book was about. There is also a character reference included in the back so you can refer to it as needed to remind yourself about each of the characters you meet in this one. Hands down a 5 out of 5 stars and I can't wait to read the next one in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book by Cindy Woodsmall Samuel King and Rhoda Byl

    Another great book by Cindy Woodsmall

    Samuel King and Rhoda Byler have become partners in the Kings' Orchard and the Rhode Side Stands. With the help of Rhoda's friend Landon they found an old orchard in Orchard Bend, Maine so they get approval from the district and purchase it. Eight of the Kings and Bylers move to start a new Amish community.
















    Samuel and his brother Jacob have both fallen in love with Rhoda, while Samuel keeps it to himself Jacob expresses himself to Rhoda and she reciprocates the feelings. The problem is that Jacob has commitments from his rumschpringe days so every time Sandra calls, Jacob goes running. Samuel has also upset Rhoda by writing a letter to her district sharing some secrets that she shared with him.
















    Once in Orchard Bend Samuel and Rhoda continue to disagree on some things and there are times that Samuel won't hardly talk to her. Jacob continues to run when his past calls and when marijuana and drug paraphernalia are discovered in one of the greenhouses and Rhoda is accused of growing with intent to sell, Jacob has to leave so the police won't discover him. Jacob is gone more than he's home, it seems like he's never there when she needs some moral support, but she doesn't waver in her love for him. Samuel just finds himself falling deeper and deeper in love with Rhoda.
















    Rhoda also loses her best friend Landon because he falls for Jacob's 17 year old sister Leah, who really thinks she wants to leave the Amish. When Rhoda discovers him bringing Leah home late one night she asks to have a talk with him when he shows up for work the next morning and she demands that he stop seeing Leah or she will fire him. He knows that he needs the job so he starts avoiding not only Leah but Rhoda too. Rhoda finds herself spending more time with Samuel and even confiding in him again.
















    Wonderful story that shows even though people don't always get along, they can put those differences aside and live in one house supporting each other. Yes, eight people in one house, two different families that haven't really know each other all that long either, it can be done! Also the faith Rhoda has is impressive, she never loses her trust in Jacob even though he spends so much time with Sandra and her daughter or during the investigation when she's advised to get a really good attorney, she still depends on God to get her through without hiring an attorney.
























    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BloggingforBooks book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Cindy wins again.

    I was so rapped up in this book some nights I could not sleep. When I did, I dreamed about the characters. Halfway thru I was voting for Samuel. I just finished it and am exhausted. Cindy always manages to get me right in the middle of her stories. I knew there had to be a series 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is book two in this series, and again it leaves me wanting

    This is book two in this series, and again it leaves me wanting more. You do not need to read the first book to read this one. The Author gives you a good preview in the beginning of The Winnowing Season, but you would be denying yourself a great read.
    This story does pick up basically where the last one left off. Rhoda Byler is still having a hard time with her God gift. Hopefully, things will get better in the new Community they hope to establish in Maine.
    Jacob King is really smitten with Rhoda, but still fighting his demons. Samuel King, has recognized what he wants, but is it to late? Leah King, loves her family, but will she leave her faith.
    Just a few of the questions for this book, but there are more. We end again heading down hill, with more questions! Life in Maine really is going to have its ups and downs for them, will they be able to survive? Will Rhoda's Gift become a nightmare? The answers are here, but there is more to come. Can't wait for the next book in this amazing series.

    I received this book through The Library Thing, and the Publisher Waterbrook Press, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1