Customer Reviews for

The Winter Bride

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Good book-funny

    I enjoy the author's writing because the sense of humor is very much like my own. At times it is smart alecky. The characters are flawed but still lovable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    ..

    .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable, entertaining and comical novel that will have you

    An enjoyable, entertaining and comical novel that will have you laughing out-loud!

    With a past that is sordid and humiliating, Damaris has no hopes of marriage. All she wants is a small little cottage somewhere and just enough income to make sure she never has to go homeless or hungry again. She has no desire to have a season, knowing that she could never marry, but Lady Davenham convinces her to have one just for fun and to experience a carefree life, if only for a short time. But when her “brother-in-law” Max and his new bride Abby, leave for their honeymoon, he asks Freddy Monkton-Coombes to keep an eye on Aunt Bea, Damaris and her sisters while they are gone. Which means that Damaris and Freddy will be forced to spend time with each other despite their desires to remain far away from each other. But Freddy takes his role seriously and soon discovers that he can’t seem to keep his feelings for Damaris in check. When his mother decrees that Freddy must marry to ensure the succession of the family title, Freddy decides to make a deal with Damaris and they become betrothed, but in name only. If they can convince everyone that they are well and truly betrothed then Damaris will finally get her own cottage. It’s all she’s ever wanted, so why does the thought of breaking the pretend betrothal with Freddy seem like the wrong thing to do? Damaris finally has what she’s always wanted…..or does she?

    Love this book! From Freddy’s unhappy and tragic childhood to Damaris’ life as a missionary’s child and her story of escape, the characters in this novel are so rich, so well written, with thorough background stories that make it such a touching story. I loved the fire and passion of Damaris’ character. Her witty banter with Freddy and her candid conversations with Freddy’s parents will have you laughing out loud and cheering her on! Freddy’s sweet, caring, yet haunted personality makes him such a wonderful hero. I loved the way Damaris fought for what she knew was right, despite how she felt or how others thought she should behave. Freddy’s actions at the end of the novel to defend Damaris’ honor was so touching and so well-intentioned that you couldn’t help but pray for a happy ending. This is truly a story of redemption and second chances, of finding yourself, despite all the obstacles that life throws at you. Definitely a novel I will read again and again.

    Rating: 4.5

    Heat Rating: Mild

    Reviewed by: AprilP

    Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Refreshing!

    A refreshing story about hurt, pain and love. Two people from different worlds come together perfectly! A refreshing series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Anne Gracie's second book in the Chance Sisters series, The Wint

    Anne Gracie's second book in the Chance Sisters series, The Winter Bride continues the tale of four women who found themselves fighting for their own survival in one way or another. Though they are not all real sisters, they have a deep bond and readers will love the interaction between them. Gracie is well known in the historical romance genre and readers know to expect a well written and creative novel with each of her books. From muffins to pigs, this book is a real gem with strong characters and enough humor to make the readers sides ache. A great second book in the series.

    What I liked:

    Anne Gracie has a way with writing that is both complex and entertaining. Her heroes and heroines are often not typical of the time period she writes about. She gives the reader anomalies in situations and in characters. She throws a few curves and readers often find that those curves are what makes Gracie's books so amazing. The Winter Bride is no exception to the rule. We often find heroes that have an aversion to marriage for one reason or another and we have one in this book as well. But the difference is, the heroine doesn't want to marry either. She simply wants a cottage in the country where she can live and paint to her heart's content. In Regency times, that was just unthinkable. And it makes all the difference in this book.

    Damaris isn't your typical Regency heroine for a lot of reasons. She grew up in China where her father was a missionary and she doesn't have all of the charm and decorum that most debutantes have. After many harrowing experiences she makes her way to England and by 'chance' gets a second chance at life and love. I thought Gracie did such a great job with her. She had been throw so much, that Gracie could have made her really jaded and bitter, but she didn't. Damaris was kind and loving and the perfect compliment to Freddy.

    Freddy wasn't exactly what he seemed either. He makes a grand show of appearing to be a rake who doesn't really care about anyone or anything, but in truth he is a successful businessman, who is scarred from the past. For all his aversion to marriage and his wastrel seeming ways, he has a good heart. He is just afraid to give it away. I loved Freddy's humor and thought he was the perfect hero. A little dark, but not brooding and he knew when to laugh and to make others do the same. There were side splitting moments with him and teary moments. He was such a contrast in emotions. A great all around character.

    Gracie uses humor to her advantage in this one and readers will quickly be drawn in. She takes two characters that have suffering a lot and brings them together where they heal and comfort and protect each other. It might be all set up by a fake betrothal which Freddy concocts to get out of finding a bride, but it turns into quite a romance. Readers will love it when the main characters are shocked to realize that maybe marriage isn't quite so bad an idea.

    What I didn't like:

    There were moments when this one dragged a wee bit, but not too much. I felt like it took an inordinate amount of time for them to get down to business if you know what I mean. I think things could have progressed a bit more quickly and still been just as interesting.

    Bottom Line:

    This is a very good addition to the series. It has moments of levity and a lot of humor. Readers will laugh and cry with these characters and truly enjoy their happy ever after.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2015

    It was a slow starting story, but I liked it. No real terror or

    It was a slow starting story, but I liked it. No real terror or excitement, just a good love story,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1