BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Winter Witch

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Cai Jenkins needs a wife, his job, as head drover demands it. He

Cai Jenkins needs a wife, his job, as head drover demands it. He’s been widowed a few years and is ready to marry again and his farm, Ffynnon Las is ready for a new mistress. The wife he’s chosen is as wild as his beloved home deep in the hills of Wales, a pretty, young...
Cai Jenkins needs a wife, his job, as head drover demands it. He’s been widowed a few years and is ready to marry again and his farm, Ffynnon Las is ready for a new mistress. The wife he’s chosen is as wild as his beloved home deep in the hills of Wales, a pretty, young, silent waif who calls to something earthly inside him. But his new wife comes with secrets and some think they’re dark and taboo.
Morgana Pritchard’s always known she’s different, even before her father’s disappearance silenced her, she’s felt the magic inside. Now at 18 she’s forced to leave the only home she’s ever known, to marry a stranger. Yet when they arrive at his farm, Ffynnon Las, she feels an affinity to the land and the man that runs deep in her soul, deep in her magic. There also something evil here, something that wants her gone. Something only her magic can expel, if she’s strong enough to overcome it.
Paula Brackston’s Winter Witch is a whimsical and mystical tale that’s part romance part mystery part fantasy and all extraordinary. Her beautiful narrative moves flawlessly throughout the story, her inclusions of the Welsh language paints a truer picture of the wilderness, the time, the place and the people, plus gives the read a homespun feel. Her eclectic cast stretched the boundaries from eccentric to ordinary, from the mundane to supernatural and she expertly wove in the witchery both good and evil as she flaunted her storytelling talent. Cai and Morgana were her brightest stars as they struggled with an against all odds dilemma and were both hard to say goodbye to at the end of the tale.
This unique novel will appeal to fans of a multitude of genres from historical to fantasy and will engage fans of all ages as well.
Ms. Brackston this is my first time under your spell but I know I’ll be falling under again.

posted by dhaupt on January 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Predictable

I am struggling to get through this book. The book lacks humor or warmth and I find the constant back-and-forth of narrators to be tiring. I also think that this book is extremely predictable and I don't understand why it has gotten such high praise.

posted by 10722900 on April 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    GREAT LOVE STORY!!

    Love this author's work! This is a wonderful story of love, strength, and courage. I will say that it does start out a little slow, but the story does pick up and I found myself not able to put it down. I had to find out what would come of Morgana and Cai! Would they triumph over evil? No plot spoilers here, you will just have to read and find out! I would also suggest reading the short story that preceeds this, as it will give you a good backstory to this.

    Thank you Ms. Brackston for another great read of witches and love. Can't wait to see what is next!!

    -- SPeeD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2014

    I enjoyed this book.  Yes it was predictable at times but overal

    I enjoyed this book.  Yes it was predictable at times but overall it was well written.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    4 Stars

    I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A magical journey of self believing

    The Winter Witch is a historical romance novel about a Welsh witch named Morgana. Morgana is a unique girl that makes the towns people weary of her because of her silent ways and sparks of magic that have been noticed. They don't know what to do with her but with her mother's push, she gets married to a widower from another town - where she could make a new life for herself without the whispers of the townspeople. Cai and Morgana struggle to find their love for each other. Each coming from a different mindset that the marriage is more of a business deal than one of love. However, with trial and error these two find love for each other, stronger than anyone could have believed (including themselves). With evil forces and wickedness afoot, these two face many challenges and have to learn to rely on each other to survive. You can say that this is a coming of age book about Morgana who has to believe in herself and her powers to overcome evil. With betrayal and deadly consequences at every turn, you are wanting her to succeed (good over evil) in surviving as a good witch, a wife and a friend to animals and townspeople alike. Overall, I liked this book but I wish that there was more of a balance between the setup of the characters and the final fight that Morgana has to do. The characters are believable and the writing is wonderful. If you are one that likes reading historical romance with a mix of magic, you would like this book a lot! I would give this 3.5 stars overall!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    A little slowpaced, but still a great read!

    Thiugh this book took me much longer than the pace I usually read at, I found this book interesting and when I did sit down to read it, I got hooked. The action didnt really start util the very end of the middle of the book. I often found myself starting other books in the middle of that one even though I absolutely hated dong that. When I did finish the book, I felt relieved and thought the time worthwhile and a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Wonderful tale of old Welsh and witchcraft.  I had a bit of a di

    Wonderful tale of old Welsh and witchcraft.  I had a bit of a difficult time pronouncing some of the names, but it was a compelling tale and kept me engrossed from start to finish.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    After reading author Paula Brackston¿s The Witch¿s Daughter (whi

    After reading author Paula Brackston’s The Witch’s Daughter (which was really flipping awesome) I had very high hopes for The Winter Witch and as an end result I was very pleased with it. It was an exciting, refreshing novel that included paranormal aspects that were woven into historical fiction. It was an imaginative read that kept me hooked.

    In The Winter Witch we are given both a new main character and a new setting: Morgana, a strange mute-girl who lives in a small Welsh town. When Morgana’s mother’s worries get the better of her she marries Morgana off to widower Cai Jenkins. What Cai doesn’t know is that his new bride is unique in her own away, apart from her mysterious silence, she holds immense power and magic inside of her. After their wedding Morgana is quickly taken to a new home and a new life with Cai. Cai does not want to rush Morgana into anything, trying to be respectful of her and cherish the memory of the first wife he lost.

    The last thing Morgana wants is to be involved with her new husband however the farm and wilderness surrounding her new home quickly enchants her. Slowly, Cai begins to try to win Morgana’s heart and prove to her that a life with him won’t be all that bad. Just when things seem to be going good for the both of them the townsfolk begin to notice how out-of-place Morgana is. When somebody more powerful than Morgana can imagine chooses to target her she learns that she must control the power inside of her to keep the people closest to her safe and to defeat this new threat.

    Unlike The Witch’s Daughter which told a story that alternated between the past and the present, The Winter Witch is a story that takes place solely in the past. I personally preferred this, however as a reader who has difficulty with getting into historical fiction I was a bit hesitant. As the story continued I quickly noticed that I had nothing to be worried about and that like The Witch’s Daughter this would be a story that would be written in a way that wouldn’t confuse me.

    In The Winter Witch my only real complain was with the pacing. There was a lot of times where I would be reading an exciting scene that would be overtaken by descriptions or an exciting scene would pass and be followed by a series of low-points that left my mind wandering away from the story and onto other things. This wasn’t the case in The Witch’s Daughter which left me very surprised while reading The Winter Witch.

    A lot of readers who are big fans of realisticly written historical fantasy are going to like The Winter Witch. Multiple times while reading I would actually believe that I was in the time that the story was written in as weird as that sounds just because of how Brackston writes it. Especially in the dialogue where I found the realism to be most potent. Not only do the characters sound like they’re from that time but they also use a lot of Welsh words that made me have to go straight to google-translate so I’d know what I was reading.

    Fans of The Witch’s Daughter will enjoy the main cahracters Cai and Morgana. I personally liked watching their romance grow from an arranged-marriage with no involved to slowly become something else entirely. Cai is a brave man who will do anything for his wife despite the barrier between them involving Morgana’s being a mute. When I first got reading I was deterred by the idea of my main character not having any dialogue at all but trust me—Morgana is a memorable character who doesn’t need to speak.

    I would recommend The Winter Witch to fans of historical fiction, readers who are interested in a novel that weaves fact and fiction together are going to love The Winter Witch. Fans of The Witch’s Daughter should give this read a shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Witch

    Great book but I have to admit her previous was better. I coild not relate to the hero of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    This book needs an editor

    A good editor could have made this good book into a great book, such a shame. But if you can ignore those problems, it is an interesting and entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Not recommended

    Went on and on, slow. Kept putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    A Good Read for Lovers of Magical Worlds

    The plot, such as it is, unfolds slowly in this tale of a mute girl, Morgana, with magical powers. Part romance of the earth, lover's romance, and fairytale, the lyrical style of writing makes it worth sloughing through to the end.

    Married to a stranger through the well-intentioned offices of her dying mother and the bridegroom, Morgana finds herself on a beautiful farm that contains a hidden, dangerous source of magic. Forced to defend herself, her husband, and their beloved farm from a powerful adversary, Morgana must develop her powers, face her growing love for her husband, and face the world that she has always hidden from.

    Brackston's writing is beautiful, but the crawling pace of events keeps it from being a page-turner. Morgana's failure to develop a method of communicating to others, especially her husband, is understandable given her upbringing. But for the frustrated reader, to whom all has been revealed, it's a laughable relief when Morgana FINALLY decides to write a note of explanation. By the time our hero is at last onboard, the train is nearly at the final stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Loved it!!

    Very entertaining- takes you into Morgana's world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    price eight not three

    Again

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    enjoyable

    sometimes the authors get too caught up in adverse actions against the heroine and the story suffers for it. I enjoyed this book but ran out of patience with the constant negative actions against the main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Too much death and destruction. The main character could have g

    Too much death and destruction. The main character could have gotten some guts way before the last 20 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Loved Everything About This Book

    This was a very touching story, with realistic, lovable characters and a solid plot. I barely put this one down from cover to cover. Cai and Morgana were wonderful together. Morgana's fears and reactions to her new wife were very down to earth and made her very believable. I fell in love with Cai and felt for his losses (and Morgana's). His tender patience with Morgana was a very endearing quality.

    While it is a paranormal romance, so much of the book is grounded in reality that I was just swept away by the story. The writing was exceptional and tastefully done. I cried, cheered the couple on, shivered, relished in the triumphs, and thoroughly enjoyed this entire piece! Thank you for a wonderful read and a great escape to another place!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Awesome

    Quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Love Books

    This book is interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Hey brandi

    Do you do bi?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Brandi

    Layed on her bed

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6