Customer Reviews for

The Winter Witch

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Cai Jenkins needs a wife, his job, as head drover demands it. He

Cai Jenkins needs a wife, his job, as head drover demands it. He’s been widowed a few years and is ready to marry again and his farm, Ffynnon Las is ready for a new mistress. The wife he’s chosen is as wild as his beloved home deep in the hills of Wales, a pretty, young...
Cai Jenkins needs a wife, his job, as head drover demands it. He’s been widowed a few years and is ready to marry again and his farm, Ffynnon Las is ready for a new mistress. The wife he’s chosen is as wild as his beloved home deep in the hills of Wales, a pretty, young, silent waif who calls to something earthly inside him. But his new wife comes with secrets and some think they’re dark and taboo.
Morgana Pritchard’s always known she’s different, even before her father’s disappearance silenced her, she’s felt the magic inside. Now at 18 she’s forced to leave the only home she’s ever known, to marry a stranger. Yet when they arrive at his farm, Ffynnon Las, she feels an affinity to the land and the man that runs deep in her soul, deep in her magic. There also something evil here, something that wants her gone. Something only her magic can expel, if she’s strong enough to overcome it.
Paula Brackston’s Winter Witch is a whimsical and mystical tale that’s part romance part mystery part fantasy and all extraordinary. Her beautiful narrative moves flawlessly throughout the story, her inclusions of the Welsh language paints a truer picture of the wilderness, the time, the place and the people, plus gives the read a homespun feel. Her eclectic cast stretched the boundaries from eccentric to ordinary, from the mundane to supernatural and she expertly wove in the witchery both good and evil as she flaunted her storytelling talent. Cai and Morgana were her brightest stars as they struggled with an against all odds dilemma and were both hard to say goodbye to at the end of the tale.
This unique novel will appeal to fans of a multitude of genres from historical to fantasy and will engage fans of all ages as well.
Ms. Brackston this is my first time under your spell but I know I’ll be falling under again.

posted by dhaupt on January 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Predictable

I am struggling to get through this book. The book lacks humor or warmth and I find the constant back-and-forth of narrators to be tiring. I also think that this book is extremely predictable and I don't understand why it has gotten such high praise.

posted by 10722900 on April 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cai Jenkins needs a wife, his job, as head drover demands it. He

    Cai Jenkins needs a wife, his job, as head drover demands it. He’s been widowed a few years and is ready to marry again and his farm, Ffynnon Las is ready for a new mistress. The wife he’s chosen is as wild as his beloved home deep in the hills of Wales, a pretty, young, silent waif who calls to something earthly inside him. But his new wife comes with secrets and some think they’re dark and taboo.
    Morgana Pritchard’s always known she’s different, even before her father’s disappearance silenced her, she’s felt the magic inside. Now at 18 she’s forced to leave the only home she’s ever known, to marry a stranger. Yet when they arrive at his farm, Ffynnon Las, she feels an affinity to the land and the man that runs deep in her soul, deep in her magic. There also something evil here, something that wants her gone. Something only her magic can expel, if she’s strong enough to overcome it.
    Paula Brackston’s Winter Witch is a whimsical and mystical tale that’s part romance part mystery part fantasy and all extraordinary. Her beautiful narrative moves flawlessly throughout the story, her inclusions of the Welsh language paints a truer picture of the wilderness, the time, the place and the people, plus gives the read a homespun feel. Her eclectic cast stretched the boundaries from eccentric to ordinary, from the mundane to supernatural and she expertly wove in the witchery both good and evil as she flaunted her storytelling talent. Cai and Morgana were her brightest stars as they struggled with an against all odds dilemma and were both hard to say goodbye to at the end of the tale.
    This unique novel will appeal to fans of a multitude of genres from historical to fantasy and will engage fans of all ages as well.
    Ms. Brackston this is my first time under your spell but I know I’ll be falling under again.

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    I am an editor so I read constantly, both for pleasure and for m

    I am an editor so I read constantly, both for pleasure and for my job. THE WINTER WITCH was absolute pleasure! From the moment I picked it up, I had the HARDEST time putting it down. Ms. Brackston is a captivating author, and her novel kept me dreading the times I had to stop reading and get to work. Last night I finished it. It was one of those books I HAD to finish, yet DREADED to because I didn't EVER want it to end. Please, if you haven't read THE WINTER WITCH, I implore you - DO! You'll get caught up immediately in her story, in her main (and even her supporting) characters. I fell in love with Ms. Brackston's writing. So will you!

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Awesom book.i think you will love it

    AMAZING

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Recommended for young adults

    The is the second book by this author that I have read. I found it to be a riviting story of love, courage and determination. The characters are real life and true to the time written.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Great book 5stars

    I must admit the book was slow in the begining to me but it kept me entertained and it was hard to put down. I hope she does another book with them in it. You won't be disappointed.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Subtle and Captivating

    I really enjoyed this book. The storyline was interesting and captivating from the beginning and was done in such a subtle way that you really believed what was happening in the plot with the witch and her powers. Loved that it was told by two points of view. It really gave the story more depth. A great read. Would definitely recommend.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Excellent read

    What a great story.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Outstanding

    Wonderful in every way.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Brilliant book. Incredibly unique, and unpredictable. 

    Brilliant book. Incredibly unique, and unpredictable. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    A really great read

    I enjoyed this book. I stayed up way too late reading just to find out what happened next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    As good as her previous novel. Hope to see more from this promising writer.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Loved it!!

    Very entertaining- takes you into Morgana's world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Loved Everything About This Book

    This was a very touching story, with realistic, lovable characters and a solid plot. I barely put this one down from cover to cover. Cai and Morgana were wonderful together. Morgana's fears and reactions to her new wife were very down to earth and made her very believable. I fell in love with Cai and felt for his losses (and Morgana's). His tender patience with Morgana was a very endearing quality.

    While it is a paranormal romance, so much of the book is grounded in reality that I was just swept away by the story. The writing was exceptional and tastefully done. I cried, cheered the couple on, shivered, relished in the triumphs, and thoroughly enjoyed this entire piece! Thank you for a wonderful read and a great escape to another place!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Awesome

    Quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Love Books

    This book is interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Hey brandi

    Do you do bi?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Brandi

    Layed on her bed

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Loved this...great read...didn't want to put it down

    Loved this...great read...didn't want to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Excellent

    Couldn't put it down. I also enjoyed her book The Witche's Daughter and put her next on my wish list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    I absolutely love this book.  I love how it's written and how it

    I absolutely love this book.  I love how it's written and how it's in 2 different point of views.  It really adds to the story knowing the thoughts of both Cai and Morgana.  It makes some of the scenes more meaningful that way. The only thing that I didn't like about the story is some of the transitioning of days during the drove.  You go from a love scene to something completely different 5 days afterwards from one paragraph to the next.  It leaves you kind of expecting more from a scene when it transitions so quickly.  I can understand that the writer was trying to get through the drove as quickly as possible to avoid boring the reader, but I feel as though she rushed it half way through the drove.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3