Customer Reviews for

The Wisdom of Hair

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    3.5 stars THE WISDOM OF HAIR is a beautiful book to read. I hav

    3.5 stars

    THE WISDOM OF HAIR is a beautiful book to read. I have not been to southern America, but I can absolutely *feel* what it would be like from this novel. Kim Boykin writes with that type of style, so homely, and it’s so easy to devour this novel fast!

    Perhaps I was supposed to dislike Winston, but I liked him a lot. He was in such desperate need of help through his alcoholism. He was addicted to—essentially through drinking until he passed out—wasting his life away. However, when Zora came into his life he slowly changed.

    And I mean slowlyyy. At first he didn’t notice her for week. He just drank. But their relationship started getting closer and I adored seeing them together though it hurt a little knowing his alcoholism would always get in the way of everything he did.

    Zora—well, I’m glad this girl up and left her mother. That woman was also a mess and Zora is such a great girl to narrate this story. Her new home where she moves and finds a brand new step-in family (who were more family-like than her biological one) and works as a hairdresser, which makes her happy, is surprising and lovely to see unravel.

    The only reason why I gave THE WISDOM OF HAIR a 3.5-star review is because nothing wowed me to give that perfect, 5 star and the ending—although I think it fit the story fairly well—wasn’t for me.

    3.5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great beach read...

    You meet the main character Zora Adams who is on the path to nowhere where her Mom is a no good drunk and she doesn't have any real future except for a glimmer of hope brought to her by a teacher. She takes a leap of faith when she asks her teacher to drive her to beauty school in Davenport NC. This is where the majority of the story takes place. You meet wonderful characters and really see Zora grow up. She meets Sara Jane and the rest of the Farquhar family. This is great story of friendship and finding out that people make their own mistakes. It is up to a strong individual to break the cycle and trust the instincts of the inner self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really tried to like this book but just couldn¿t.  Aside from

    I really tried to like this book but just couldn’t.  Aside from a very few entertaining scenes, I found it to be pages and pages of mind-numbing drivel.  In my opinion, the plot was weak and the characters were poorly developed and, generally, unlikeable.  The story skipped around a lot and was, in general, unfocused.  There was very little to do with wisdom, hair, beauty school or beauty salons and that was extremely disappointing.   




    I seldom give books 1 star ratings/reviews because I generally don’t even make it to the end.  The only reason I even made it to the end of this one is because I was interested in the side story of Sara Jane.  For that reason only, I am giving this book 1.5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    G

    Hi reallly...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    'The Wisdom of Hair' is a heartwarming and fun book that tells t

    'The Wisdom of Hair' is a heartwarming and fun book that tells the tale of Zora Adams - a young woman who leaves her alcoholic mother when she turns nineteen. Zora makes her way to a coastal town and enrolls in the Davenport School of Beauty, where she learns the ins and outs of styling and fixing hair. Along the way, Zora finds great friendship with a fellow hair stylist named Sara Jane; and she also finds herself falling in love with a young widower named Winston. While learning how to fix and style hair, Zora finds herself learning much more about life, love, and friendship than she bargained for.

    This was a truly uplifting and captivating novel that is the epitome of women's fiction. Zora is a great main character and the reader will easily identify with her. She is a devoted friend and daughter, but realizes that her dreams are far from her life living in a small town with her drunk of a mother. Although Zora has wonderful qualities, like every real person, she also has flaws - which I thought made her more accessible and realistic. She learns a lot throughout the course of the novel and the reader gets to watch her character grow and mature. The topics that the book deals with are common but important - lessons that all of us must learn at one point or another in life. It deals with life, love, family, forgiveness, friendship, and finding yourself - all of which are deep yet uplifting for the reader to experience alongside Zora. The setting was perfect and I loved reading about the town on the coast along with the assortment of smaller characters that Zora comes across. The descriptions were vivid and detailed, which enabled me to really immerse myself in Zora's life. The writing was very well done with a quick pace and seamless flow. I definitely recommend this novel for fans of women's fiction and chick lit.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Zora lost her dad at a young age and has to deal with an alcohol

    Zora lost her dad at a young age and has to deal with an alcoholic mother who dresses like Judy Garland. When she turns 19 she finally has enough and leaves her mountain home to go to a beauty school. In the school along with learning how to do hair she makes the best friend she has ever. Sara Jane is different from Zora in many ways but they become more like sisters than friends. Zora has a problem tho she is in love with Winston a handsome widower who seems to be an alcoholic. Zora soon learns life has many twist and turns and you never know we're you will find your true family.




    Zora is a sweet girl who you like instantly. She really tries her best to do what is right. You see she is a wonderful friend and is very caring for people. She woke hard to accomplish her goals. Like a lot of people she thinks she can save someone she loves. I highly enjoyed her story. Sara Jane is the best friend a girl can have. She isn't book smart but in many ways she is very smart in the way or real life. There is tons of other fascinating characters to get to know in this book. I will say another favorite for me was Sara Jane's parents. At first I wasn't sure what o think of them but by the end I just wanted to hug these fictional characters myself.




    I was so excited to get the chance yo read this book. I loved the sound of it from the blurb. What pulled me in was the time 1983, and the whole plot. I remember going to a beauty school with my grandmother in the 80's and this book brought back so many fond memories. You get to see Zora really grow up and realize many things about her past in this book. This is one girl's journey from childhood and into her future. Thais book with it's wonderful range of characters to not knowing what will go on next kept me wanting more. I did get a few laughs out of this book especially a scene in a Wafflehouse. The author did a great job writing about the beauty school, the time period and the characters. It all seemed very believable and was like reading about a real person life unfolding. You get love, friendship and true family all wrapped up in a wonderful book. Who would I recommend this to? That's easy everyone!




    I adore this cover!  It's perfect for the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    Wisdom of Hair is very much a coming of age story. It also has

    Wisdom of Hair is very much a coming of age story. It also has a Steel Magnolias feel to it, which I love!

    Zora is a character you either love, or hate. I have a feeling for her that's somewhere in between. When she decides it's time to liver her life away from her mother, she is so strong. Zora tries so hard not to become her mother, but there are times it seems she's headed down that same path. Her friend Sara Jane is pretty awesome. She's the friend all girls wish they had. She doesn't judge Zora for her decisions, and runs to her side anytime she needs the help.

    The pacing is slow, but in a good way. It's a lazy, summer day read. Zora doesn't always make the right decisions, but she's done great in deciding who to place her trust in. It's easy for her to make friends, and the ones she has will do anything for her. Emotions run high at times. There are times you are laughing your butt off, and times that you want to curl into a ball and cry.

    This is a very realistic storyline. Although it takes place in 1983, the same events still happen everywhere today. You just hope that those in this situation find a great outcome. I definitely recommend this book. Even if you want to tell Zora how dumb she's being, you'll still empathize with her. She does what she thinks is right at the time, and deals with whatever the consequences may be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    I really enjoyed my time with Zora May Adams. What a great chara

    I really enjoyed my time with Zora May Adams. What a great character! I took a lot away from this book; a lesson in courage, though it took Zora some time to uncover all that she had, and an enduring sense of family and the idea that blood isn't always the necessary ingredient to make one. The descriptive writing is so well done and one of the reasons I love to read... so I can visit places I've never been..smell them, taste them, feel the air. It's a charming story with a wonderful character. I'm looking forward to Kim"s next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    LOVED the book. While some may not enjoy it due to the lack of e

    LOVED the book. While some may not enjoy it due to the lack of explicit sex and graphic language, it is a beautifully written book about the importance of friendship and love, and how changing your life can be as simple as chaning your hair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    Beautifully Written Southern Novel - Kim Boykin explores the cor

    Beautifully Written Southern Novel - Kim Boykin explores the core of female relationships and all the layers as well in The Wisdom of Hair. I love, and can relate to, the idea of wanting to change your hair because you really want to change your life. Boykin does justice to the calling of being a hairdresser, and the hairdresser-client relationship. But she also speaks eloquently about the nurturing sisterhood among women who are connected to each other--and the sometimes toxic relationships we have to extricate ourselves from to survive.

    The voice of Boykin's main character, Zora, is compelling and true. I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    The Wisdom of Hair is an emotional story of family, friendship,

    The Wisdom of Hair is an emotional story of family, friendship, self-discovery, love and forgiveness. The year is 1983 in the mountain town of Cleveland, SC. Nineteen year old Zora Adams has had enough of taking care of her narcissistic, alcoholic, man chasing, Judy Garland obsessed mother. Striking out on her own is the only way that Zora can have a better life of her own. Taking advice from her high school teacher, Zora leaves her mountain hometown for a coastal town in South Carolina, where she enrolls in the Davenport School of Beauty. Zora's journey of self-discovery will provide her a chance to grow, make friends, embark on a career in hair styling, find love, learn life lessons, and gain the courage to let go of her past.




    I am a huge fan of Southern Women's Fiction, and in The Wisdom of Hair, author Kim Boykin weaves a thoroughly enjoyable tale that fulfilled my expectations.




    Written in the first person narrative, Zora Adams takes the reader along for the ride on her journey of self-discovery. When the reader first meets Zora, she is a shy young woman who is wiser than her years because she is the enabling caretaker of an alcoholic mother. Suffocating in her role, Zora strikes out on her own in search of making a better life for herself. Her journey takes her to a coastal town in South Carolina where she enrolls in the Davenport School of Beauty. Zora grows as she makes new friends who will ultimately change her life: Mrs. Cathcart, owner of the beauty school; outgoing classmate Sara Jane Farquhar, whose close friendship provides Zora with a family that she desperately craves; and a romantic relationship with Winston Sawyer, a young widower who is drowning his grief in alcohol. Each of these people will help redefine, shape, and change Zora's life in a profound way.




    This beautifully written and captivating story engages the reader to follow along as Zora's journey of self-discovery leads her on a path of experiencing life at its fullest, while embracing life's challenges and lessons, and having the courage to let go of her past as she forges a life of her own. This story has shades of Steel Magnolias running through it, as it gives the reader a warm and fuzzy feeling as they follow Zora, Sara Jane and Winston's stories. I loved that the author chose the 1980s time period for this story, it embodied all the fun that made up that decade. I also love the hair salon setting, it brought to mind many fond memories of spending time in my family's salons in both NJ and NC.




    With a quirky cast of characters; witty dialogue and interactions; a richly descriptive setting; and a storyline that delves into the complications of family, friendships, love and life; The Wisdom of Hair is an entertaining tale of hair styling and self-discovery that simply made me smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    It¿s always a great read when the main character is shaped in pa

    It’s always a great read when the main character is shaped in part from a childhood of extreme poverty in the Appalachian mountains, the 480 million year old North American mountain range that stretches from north Georgia in the United States into parts of southeast Canada. If you enjoy stories with roots in central and southern Appalachia, a nice complement to Kim Boykin’s The Wisdom of Hair would beElizabeth Flock‘s Emma & Me. In Boykin’s book, the main character, Zora May Adams, moves away from the mountains to a coastal town to attend beauty school, but is reminded of her mountain upbringing in a story-changing scene during a chance encounter that is so harrowing to Zora, I wanted to reach into the pages and pull her into a warm embrace. This, coupled with a visit to her childhood home give much for the reader to contemplate about life in Appalachia as well as the old adage, ‘You can take the girl out of [Appalachia] but you can’t take the [Appalachia] out of the girl.’

    The Wisdom of Hair is a story about love, healing and forgiveness and shines a light on the devastating effects of alcoholism, especially when one particular character in the story is both an alcoholic and a narcissist who believes she is Judy Garland. Through the shadows of narcissism come intense shame and convenient distortions of reality making this a truly remarkable story of courage and letting go.

    I sensed a tinge of a doppelganger, a literary device taken from the German language which means ‘double walker’ in which one character acts as a copy of another character. I saw a hint of this through the mother-daughter relationship between Mrs. Cathcart, the owner of the Davenport School of Beauty, and her mother – as compared to the mother-daughter relationship between Zora, the main character, and her mother. Ironically, both mothers in this tale, I believe, suffer from a form of Narcissistic Personality Disorder which brings with it warped realities (both mothers are “confused” about their lives as performance stars) and deep feelings of shame for the daughters raised in this mania. I found Zora’s reaction (or lack thereof) to Mrs. Cathcart’s upbringing quite interesting.

    There’s more than one character in the story that is tragic from beginning to end which gives the storyline an honesty that is needed for Zora to heal and I found it refreshing that those characters did not suddenly up and cure themselves by the closing of the book. Sometimes disease and pain do not simply go away, they have to be confronted, dealt with, and at times, cut from our lives – like a haircut.  

    Two love stories in the book, that of Zora and Winston, and that of Sara Jane and Jimmy served as good contrasts to each other. I found it ironic that Zora found herselfliterally feeding Winston through cooking that provided her with shelter and figurativelyfeeding Winston’s many needs.

    Readers will love the young women at the Davenport School of Beauty which serves as the portal for change, not just for the young beauticians seeking a different life, but the clients they serve. Book clubbers will enjoy discussing how Boykin’s book compares with other books that celebrate strong sisterhood and the important role of having strong women in our lives.

    NOTE: I read from a publisher’s proof copy before the book was printed. Therefore, I cannot supply direct quotes from the version I read unless the quotes are then checked against the final bound copy. But trust me, there were many great sentences I highlighted while reading on my Kindle. Rest assured, you will enjoy both the story and the actual writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1