BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Wisdom of Insecurity: A Message for an Age of Anxiety

Average Rating 5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    Great Book!

    Alan Watts is clearly one of the best when it comes to writing about spirituality and consciousness! He explains things so well that his books enable us to see ourselves without the lenses of the ego that we usually wear in our everyday lives. After pursuing other works for many years to further understand consciousness, I finally came across another book that was even better at explaining these things. It's called 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato and I highly recommend it if you like these types of books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2001

    I have one hero in life

    and his name is Alan Watts. I truly love this man. Not only is he a great speaker/writer/phillosopher, he's also damn funny. This was the first Watts book I bought after hearing some of his lectures on a college radio station in New York. I have given this book to my friends that have thanked me for turning them 'on' to the late great Watts. I plan to give this book to my children and hopefully they will be as inspired and uplifted as I was.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    Not a 'what to do' book, but a 'what is' book

    A wonderful book, maybe even more timely than when it was written. In contrast to some of the reviews of the book, it is trying to get people to realize that life and self are movement, an endlessly changing present that we can not hold on to. Our sense of 'insecurity' is our trying to make things permanent--typically by regretting the past, worrying about the future, but always doing so in a present moment of which we thus are not aware. As Watts uses the term, 'insecurity' does not refer to a psychological state to be overcome, but rather is a reference to the changing nature of everything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    It frees your mind!

    If you want to truly free your mind and feel fulfilled in your life, this is the book you should read! It tells you where its at straight into your face and makes you face and overcome (or let go of) your own insecurities. I really enjoyed this book. I also recommend Rhythm, Relationships, and Transcendence by Toru Sato if you want to learn more about this view of existence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2000

    One of the books that can change your life

    Wonderful book - my first introduction to Buddism. A great gift to me to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    A Little Book With A Lot To Say

    This deceptively small book points the way to a view of life and the world I'll probably be at least thinking about, if I can't attain it, for the rest of my life. Watts gets as close to describing the indescribable as any writer from the West I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Strongly recommend

    This isn't a light, easy or quick read. It is very insightful. It was recommended to me by a dear friend to help me worrk through my anxiety issues. Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Nice work!

    I like this book. It is clear, concise and makes a good point. It also corroborates my belief that a little uncertainty is a good thing to feel. : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    Deep wisdom on every page

    This book is full of wisdom, and no review less than 30 pages could do justice to it. Watts takes the reader on a tour of human nature and explains the human condition of suffering and the path out of suffering. As Watts explains, human nature is to try and accumulate pleasure and good, and avoid the bad. But good and bad cannot be separated they're complementary opposites of one another. Creating a concept of good creates the concept of bad, and trying to seek one to the exclusion of the other is absurd. Instead of worrying about the suffering that the future will bring 'insecurity' we should embrace the present moment, and realize that behind our insecurity lies a deep truth, that the universe is constantly changing, that everything is impermanent, and that trying to hold onto anything 'clinging, desire' is futile. Happiness and freedom lay in acceptance of the present moment as it is, opening our hearts, and looking into the nature of the self that tries to cling hopelessly. Highly, highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    One of the best in the field!

    I was recommended this book by a great friend who is always an inspiration to me. Though I expected it to be a good book, this book turned out to be an even bigger inspiration for me than I had expected. Although insecurity is what drives us all, it is the same insecurity that keeps us away from the truth. An even better book I read recently on this topic was, 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato. It is so excellent in explaining how we become insecure and how a large part of life is a process to figure a way out of it. These books are so great I would recommend it to anyone ready to see the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    incredible book

    While the title of this book is a bit off-putting...the contents brought me to several ah ha moments. Watts plainly reveals the simplicity of appreciating each moment of the present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1