Customer Reviews for

The Wisdom of Psychopaths: What Saints, Spies, and Serial Killers Can Teach Us About Success

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

When the Psychopath Next Door MIght Be a Good Thing

In a world where we have to wonder if everyone who is in power or deals with high finance is a psychopath, the author does a good job of showing us just how close saints and psychopaths are in nature. While it is not light reading, it is a very enlightening read. It giv...
In a world where we have to wonder if everyone who is in power or deals with high finance is a psychopath, the author does a good job of showing us just how close saints and psychopaths are in nature. While it is not light reading, it is a very enlightening read. It gives us a new appreciation of psychopaths and the radar to spot them. It allows us to know when a psychopath next door is not always a bad thing.

posted by gtutty1 on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A view from the garbage pit of life.

The author uses a lot of slang, which is sometimes difficult to read. His thesis is very interesting but a bit depressing. Personality characteristics leading to success are presented as being types of psychoses. Just as many medicines would be poisen if taken in too...
The author uses a lot of slang, which is sometimes difficult to read. His thesis is very interesting but a bit depressing. Personality characteristics leading to success are presented as being types of psychoses. Just as many medicines would be poisen if taken in too large a dose, too many of certain personality traits and a lack of self discipline can lead to evil. This is a facsinating dichotomy, but the good sides of it were described in such a negative way, that one comes away feeling that all humans are crazy. Very depressing.

posted by 843954 on November 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    A view from the garbage pit of life.

    The author uses a lot of slang, which is sometimes difficult to read. His thesis is very interesting but a bit depressing. Personality characteristics leading to success are presented as being types of psychoses. Just as many medicines would be poisen if taken in too large a dose, too many of certain personality traits and a lack of self discipline can lead to evil. This is a facsinating dichotomy, but the good sides of it were described in such a negative way, that one comes away feeling that all humans are crazy. Very depressing.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Exceeded my expectations and possibly the author's.

    Not since "Without Conscience" the seminal ouvre by Hare have I read a treatment of psychopaths that gave the subject the thorough, scientific treatment that it merits. Without losing sight of his goal of creating a serious addition to the scarce, but necessary, body of work suitable for lay readers, the author has created a work that is thoroughly researched, yet easily accessible. It is rare to find the adaptive psychopathic traits treated respectfully without inadvertently glamourizing psychopaths. In this aspect, this work is clearly distinguished. If I were to find any fault with this book, it would be that I would have enjoyed an exploration of how the impulsivity that is often associated with psychopathology can be adaptive, given the right set of circumstances.In his acknowledgements, the author states the following: "For me, writing a book that makes people laugh would, notionally, be relatively easy. Writing a book that makes people laugh and think--as I did previously with Spli-Second Persuasion (or so I am toldby those who like me)--is a little more difficult. Writing a book that just makes people think, well...that doesn't come easy at all."I commend him for doing something that was difficult for him because it created something enjoyable and useful for others

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    When the Psychopath Next Door MIght Be a Good Thing

    In a world where we have to wonder if everyone who is in power or deals with high finance is a psychopath, the author does a good job of showing us just how close saints and psychopaths are in nature. While it is not light reading, it is a very enlightening read. It gives us a new appreciation of psychopaths and the radar to spot them. It allows us to know when a psychopath next door is not always a bad thing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Good read

    Gotta love a good short read
    Good use of humor, lots of clinical information giving the reader some food for thought

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    6 stars...out of 5 possible.

    Wisdom is "Moneyball" for anyone interested in the eccentrics who excel, yet piss others off. This was as easy and entertaining to read as a Grisham. Highly educational, practical and applicable to those of us who have family, friends, co-workers with socio-/psycho-pathic tendencies. My favorite read in the past 2 years. Highest recommendation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Expertly written, this book has the exact combination of true ba

    Expertly written, this book has the exact combination of true background stories, interviews with key thought leaders and research results needed to deepen the layperson's understanding of psychopaths. I don't like to label people. This book provides a spectrum of traits that we can use to better understand the people in our lives. A must read for someone with a psychopath in their life. And we all have one in our lives.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Eeeeennnteresting...

    The gist is repeated a lot more than I thought it would be. Somehow I was expecting more but really when you read the first half of the book you can stop because the second half just felt like more of the same. The examples and related personal stories from the author were sometimes funny but also repetitive. Quick read though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Nice

    Nice

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1