Customer Reviews for

The Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 285 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(244)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

73 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

This book is beautiful. Beautiful? More like supermegafoxyawesomehot. And Chris Colfer. What the Hell can't he do?

posted by imbananasfordananas on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

While I enjoyed the book I found it to be over all average. At t

While I enjoyed the book I found it to be over all average. At times I found the plot predictable and was able to figure several things quite quickly. I'm not saying it wasn't an enjoyable read, because it certainly was, but it wasn't phenomenal.

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    While I enjoyed the book I found it to be over all average. At t

    While I enjoyed the book I found it to be over all average. At times I found the plot predictable and was able to figure several things quite quickly. I'm not saying it wasn't an enjoyable read, because it certainly was, but it wasn't phenomenal.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    A New Twist on Old Fairy Tales

    When Alex and Connor Bailey magically “fall” into a book of stories, they suddenly find themselves in the strange and enchanting world of fairy tales they grew up reading about.

    But this much-loved place is way more dangerous than they ever dreamed. And getting back home turns out to be much harder than they thought…

    This “fairy-tale-meets-modern-day” story has plenty of action, adventure and familiar characters from our childhood. It's full of characters who help one another and sacrifice for one another. It's loaded with magic - as you would expect for a book based on fairy tales. And it's a real page-turner. Our heroes seem to go from one dangerous situation after another in their quest to find a way home.

    There were just two things I wasn't thrilled about:

    1) The love triangle between the adult Red Riding Hood, Goldilocks and Jack (of Beanstalk fame) seemed out of place in a book written for 8 to 12-year-olds.

    2) It was hard to believe Alex and Conner were children. They didn't react like children - and they didn't interact with each other like a real brother and sister. They seemed more two-dimensional - like characters out of a TV sitcom. It was almost like they were the author's idea of what children are like without him ever really spending any time around kids.

    For example, what kid would immediately plan a sightseeing trip when discovering she had fallen into another dimension? Most kids would freak out. Heck, so would most adults!

    Another thing that bothered me about the kids was that they didn't change or grow at all as a result of their adventures. The only characters who changed at all were "Froggy" and Red Riding Hood.

    All this made Alex and Conner difficult for a child to relate to and root for.

    But overall, Chris Colfer of "Glee" fame crafted an imaginative, fast-paced story. Despite the lack of character development, I believe most children will enjoy reading it - if only for seeing their favorite fairy tale characters in a new light.

    For my full review, please visit the Inside Popular Kids Books website.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Like book but......

    Like book hate author. Gleee sucks

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Good

    Good?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    <3

    I really likeed this book. It did have some swear words that i just tried to ignore. The plot was very exciting and creative. And there eere also some twist and turns...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1