Customer Reviews for

The Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 349 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(300)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

78 out of 132 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

This book is beautiful. Beautiful? More like supermegafoxyawesomehot. And Chris Colfer. What the Hell can't he do?

posted by imbananasfordananas on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

While I enjoyed the book I found it to be over all average. At t

While I enjoyed the book I found it to be over all average. At times I found the plot predictable and was able to figure several things quite quickly. I'm not saying it wasn't an enjoyable read, because it certainly was, but it wasn't phenomenal.

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    OK so after looking over some of the reviews for this story, I c

    OK so after looking over some of the reviews for this story, I could tell most people either did it just because they could or because they love Chris. So I'm going to give my full and honest review so people can actually know what to expect, without giving too much away. Chris proves he can do anything in this story. It's an almost utterly brilliant take on fairytales. Aside from some minor issues, such as a few bits of repetativeness, the story flows quite well. Its fairly fast paced, but does have a few moments that are slow (but what story doesn't?). The character of Alex isn't nearly as likeable as he brother Conner, who is quite hilarious. Both however, are very relatable. Chris, through Conner's character, gives an interpretation of fairytales in which I completely agree with. He looks at things in a realistic point of view and thus has a few quips here and there that will make you think back on some of the fairy tales we all loved as children. All in all this is a wonderful story for anyone to read. Most adults will find it to be dumbed down a bit, but it IS a childrens book after all. Great job Chris. I hope to read more from you in the future.

    66 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    amazing! Although the book is intended for young readers, i kno

    amazing!
    Although the book is intended for young readers, i know adults will love it too.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    breath taking

    breath taking

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Magical Fairytale Brought to you by OBS reviewer Karolina Ava

    A Magical Fairytale

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Karolina Avalon


    I’m going to start this review by saying one thing – I ‘m a huge Chris Colfer fan. I love almost everything the man does, and, along with thousands of others like me, I preordered this book at my earliest opportunity. However, once I received my copy, I was determined to read the book – and not let the name of the front of the book sway my impression of the story. I wanted to start with a relatively clean slate.

    And, let me tell you – the story is amazing. The premise is one that is known to fantasy fans. Kids fall into a world that they are unaware existed before, and need to find their way back home. What’s great about this, is that Mr Colfer gives credit where credit is due, and gives nods to not only the obvious Hans Christian Anderson and the Brothers Grimm, but also C.S Lewis and even a small nod to Gregory Maguire. All of this is done really tastefully, and there is some wonderfully insightful meta about fairy tales made by Alex and Conner Bailey, and their teacher, Mrs Peters.

    Even with the nod to the classics, Mr Colfer manages to make the characters his own. The Evil Queen has some fantastic (and real) insight about people’s perceptions of others actions – and is a great example of that. The Evil Queen also has a really amazing back story. Goldilocks has to deal with the ramifications of her altercation with the 3 bears, while Sleeping Beauty faces the trials and tribulations of sleeping for 100 years. The Land of Stories world is a fantastic mix of Fantasy with Real Life problems.

    My absolutely favourite characters would have to be Goldilocks and The Evil Queen, who I’ve already mentioned, and Froggy (a frog man the twins meet on their journey and who tells them about the Wishing Spell that will get them home), the mermaids and Conner and Alex Bailey themselves. I could relate so much with Alex and Conner – remembered being both of them at one point in my life- and they are the smartest, sassiest and funniest protagonists I could wish for to take me through the Land of Stories. Honestly? The writing style facilitates this feeling too. As I was reading the book , it feels like Mr Colfer had grabbed my hand (as well as the twins’ ) and said “ Here, let me show you my world.”

    There are some twists of the story that I could guess almost immediately (and moments where I felt that a point was being repeated needlessly) , and then there were others that I couldn’t have picked in a million years. And, even with the twists that I had guessed – Mr Colfer managed to present it in a unique way that still had an element of surprise to it, and it was still a very enjoyable read. The illustrations by Brandon Doorman also is a wonderful facilitation into the journey of the Land of Stories (I was lucky enough to receive an American copy of The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell. Unfortunately, the map of the Land of Stories – which was created by Mr Colfer and drawn by Mr Doorman – is not in the Australian version of the book). This is a great kids’ book, or a great book for the people who are still kids at heart, and always wondered what happened after the fairytale ended.....

    For the FULL review and more visit openbooksociety dot com

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Once Upon a Time...

    I might be just biased because I absolutely love Chris Colfer, but I loved this book! It was great reading about the fairy tales I loved but with a twist. It sort of reminded me of the show Once Upon a Time. I never knew Colfer was such a good writer! It was a creative approach and I like the fact that a map of the Land of Stories was included. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of his books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Really enjoyed reading it.

    although its a predicable story line I found it quite enjoyable. I liked how the storybook characters that we have grown up loving are going on living their lives. and the twist at the end was good. I was also glad at how i was able to finish it within a few days and not in one sitting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Cute

    this was very cute and my son loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    If you love fairy tales and always wondered what happened after

    If you love fairy tales and always wondered what happened after the happily ever after you will love love LOVE this book. It shows the personalities that maybe one of your favorite fairy tale characters are really like and what happened to them after their story was told.

    I could not put this book down...i was so jealous of the main characters Alex & Connor because they get to go on this huge exciting adventure through the land of stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    highly recommend

    I loved this book. Tells a story behind the fairy tales. A happy and fairly predictable ending. Left room for a sequel. I hope he continues to write.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    I completely enjoyed the story, although I felt some additional

    I completely enjoyed the story, although I felt some additional editing could have improved the story. At times I would read something and then a page later it would repeat with different wording.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    Good

    This book is well done. It did jump around a little bit. Yet it was fun to read. I think intime chris colfer will better wit his writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    An excellent take on fairy tales! I can't believe how talented C

    An excellent take on fairy tales! I can't believe how talented Chris Colfer is. It really feeds your inner child and imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Though "The Wishing Spell" is very obviously a debut n

    Though "The Wishing Spell" is very obviously a debut novel, with a novice writer's rough patches, the enchanting and very engaging characters, dialogue and the plot show so much potential that I was drawn in and have now adopted the series. Particularly after the 2nd in the series, "The Enchantress Returns" made good on that promised potential. The same sparkle, wit and wonderful characters, but with an much more mature writing style and technique. I have no doubt that I will be reading and enjoying Chris Colfer's books for a very long time to come! A further note: I do not typically like audiobooks, but I listened to these on audiobooks and am spoiled for any others now. Colfer's amazing voicing (I think I recall 65+ different characters in "The Wishing Spell" and 80 or so in "The Enchantress Returns") and mesmerizing narration have ruined me for any other audiobooks (except the Harry Potter ones). When I finished "The Enchantress Returns," I was already itching to read the 3rd book (coming out in July), "A Grimm Warning."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    The story reader

    I am looking for writing talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    love

    I love this guy he's from Glee :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-:-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) z:-) :-) :-) zz:-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) zz:-) :-) :-) z:-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) d:-$ :-) :-) =-O :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Fun Read--Definitely worth the time!!

    It's a great story with twist on the old fairy tales, a continuation of them that no one really thinks about after the happily ever after. This was just a fun and exciting story to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1