BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Witch of Little Italy

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Eleanor Amore finally opens her eyes to the abusive relationship

Eleanor Amore finally opens her eyes to the abusive relationship with her boyfriend Copper once she realizes she is pregnant. She is hoping her mom will help her out, but to no avail. She decides she will go back to the one place she always felt she belonged, where she ...
Eleanor Amore finally opens her eyes to the abusive relationship with her boyfriend Copper once she realizes she is pregnant. She is hoping her mom will help her out, but to no avail. She decides she will go back to the one place she always felt she belonged, where she felt safe...back to Bronx. Back to her Amore family! Back to where Eleanor lost her memory when she was ten, but also where she feels she left her heart. 




When she returns to her family, she begins regaining flashes of memories from her earlier life. Learning more about her past pushes Eleanor to figure out the family mystery...what happened the day the Amore's died. The only way for her to have a future is the figure out the past. 




The Witch of Little Italy is filled with magic, family, and tradition. Once I had the chance to really sit down and read I really just didn't want to put it down. I was drawn into the magical world of the Amore's, I wanted to figure out the mystery. I wanted to know and understand the family history! 




The novel mainly goes back and forth between Eleanor's point of view and her Aunt Itsy. The Aunt Itsy chapters gives the reader more information, as well as more questions. Some parts of the mystery I was able to figure out, but man the ones I didn't!! Loved it! This is just a great read! I read a quote on the back of the book that truly sums up and I wanted to share it.




"I was utterly enchanted from the first page, and found myself continually marveling over the effortless grace with which this story unfolded. This is a complex, richly textured tale that practically sings with magic, and I know Suzanne Palmieri has a long and brilliant career ahead of her. In a word: I was charmed."




--Donna Ball, award-winning author of the Ladybug Farm series. 




I honestly agree with Ms. Ball's description of the book! I was charmed! I am highly recommending The Witch of Little Italy! 

posted by anovelreview_blogspot_com on May 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Wow! I'm really, really surprised by the reviews of this book! Everyone gave it five stars! I can't see it, at all! It's a cute little story, but really, five stars?? There's no depth. It's childish and quite silly, but I guess if that's what you're into, five sta...
Wow! I'm really, really surprised by the reviews of this book! Everyone gave it five stars! I can't see it, at all! It's a cute little story, but really, five stars?? There's no depth. It's childish and quite silly, but I guess if that's what you're into, five stars it is! I expected a lot more, so, for me, it's only two stars.

posted by 4155541 on June 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    Wow! I'm really, really surprised by the reviews of this book! Everyone gave it five stars! I can't see it, at all! It's a cute little story, but really, five stars?? There's no depth. It's childish and quite silly, but I guess if that's what you're into, five stars it is! I expected a lot more, so, for me, it's only two stars.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Eleanor Amore finally opens her eyes to the abusive relationship

    Eleanor Amore finally opens her eyes to the abusive relationship with her boyfriend Copper once she realizes she is pregnant. She is hoping her mom will help her out, but to no avail. She decides she will go back to the one place she always felt she belonged, where she felt safe...back to Bronx. Back to her Amore family! Back to where Eleanor lost her memory when she was ten, but also where she feels she left her heart. 




    When she returns to her family, she begins regaining flashes of memories from her earlier life. Learning more about her past pushes Eleanor to figure out the family mystery...what happened the day the Amore's died. The only way for her to have a future is the figure out the past. 




    The Witch of Little Italy is filled with magic, family, and tradition. Once I had the chance to really sit down and read I really just didn't want to put it down. I was drawn into the magical world of the Amore's, I wanted to figure out the mystery. I wanted to know and understand the family history! 




    The novel mainly goes back and forth between Eleanor's point of view and her Aunt Itsy. The Aunt Itsy chapters gives the reader more information, as well as more questions. Some parts of the mystery I was able to figure out, but man the ones I didn't!! Loved it! This is just a great read! I read a quote on the back of the book that truly sums up and I wanted to share it.




    "I was utterly enchanted from the first page, and found myself continually marveling over the effortless grace with which this story unfolded. This is a complex, richly textured tale that practically sings with magic, and I know Suzanne Palmieri has a long and brilliant career ahead of her. In a word: I was charmed."




    --Donna Ball, award-winning author of the Ladybug Farm series. 




    I honestly agree with Ms. Ball's description of the book! I was charmed! I am highly recommending The Witch of Little Italy! 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    A daughter ought to be able to rely on her mother, especially wh

    A daughter ought to be able to rely on her mother, especially when she is in an abusive relationship with a man who assaults her, when somehow, she finds herself pregnant by this very man. But suppose your mother turns her back? Where can you go then for help? With your questions about why you and your mother are so estranged and your sad, frightened heart? Not back to the boyfriend. At least you know that much. An ordinary woman in such circumstances would be very limited in her options. But suppose she had access to a little magic? Suppose she had just the thread, the glimmer of a memory from her childhood of a certain trio of sisters, her aunts and a grandmother, who might help her? The witch of Little Italy has these very assets, but she's also a bit leery. She can't quite remember the last times she visited these women other than she knows things happened, uncomfortable things. Secrets were uttered, and then hidden away, that were perhaps dangerous. Our budding witch has no idea of her powers. She's unsure of her welcome. There are more questions than answers, the odd, sulfurous gleam of a mystery. 

    Still, despite her misgivings, her trepidation, our girl sets off on her journey to a land that is enchanted, that spins threads of real-world wisdom with tendrils of magic. In a narrative voice that is at once delightful and poignant, Suzanne Palmieri, unfolds the history of the Amore clan until finally, in the end, the pieces of the puzzle fall into a wonderful and heartfelt symmetry. I was enticed and intrigued from the very first page.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    This is an amazing story... major character development that dr

    This is an amazing story... major character development that draws you into the book. The mystery of the Amore women drew me in from the first paragraph, I couldn't stop reading!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    I had the pleasure of meeting Suzanne at a book signing 5/21/13.

    I had the pleasure of meeting Suzanne at a book signing 5/21/13. She is such a remarkable lady. So sweetly spoken.So excited to share her knowledge with us. I starting reading her book right after she signed it and I couldn't stop. What a wonderful story. Suzanne is such a great writer. I can't wait for her next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Amazing

    I loved this book. The story line had twists and turns and kept me very interested. I can't wait for the author to write another book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Oh how I loved this book. Set in the Bronx, it's like all the be

    Oh how I loved this book. Set in the Bronx, it's like all the best parts of Practical Magic combined with an Italian version of Like Water For Chocolate (be prepared for mouth watering descriptions), and a pinch of YaYa Sisterhood thrown in. The romance between Elly and Anthony is delightful and sweet; the old ladies are easy to love, yet so deeply flawed;and  the mystery about what happened the day the Amores died will keep you turning pages long after your "just one more chapter" has expired.
    Wonderful debut. I can't wait to see what she comes up with next. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Wonderful

    I enjoyed this book very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    Such a wonderful book! Made me laugh, cry, think and I read it f

    Such a wonderful book! Made me laugh, cry, think and I read it fast! Can't wait for her next book~The Witch of Belladonna Lake? Creek? LOL. A wonderful writer!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    I was completely enchanted by this book.  

    I was completely enchanted by this book.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Moving delightful story

    If you've ever enjoyed the touch of magic this is a must read. Beautiful well written experience

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    Great read.  Made me laugh and cry.  Could not put it down.

    Great read.  Made me laugh and cry.  Could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Light and easy

    Nice easy read. Great for quick trip or sitting on the porch with a glass of wine.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1