Customer Reviews for

The Witch's Ladder (Detective Marcella Witch's series, book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended.

Great insight into the unseen world of the paranormal and supernatural. I could not put it down. You would never guess the killer is....

posted by NookReader01 on January 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Junior High Writing Style

I had high hopes when I first started reading this book, but that didn't last. The plot would have been interesting except for the juvenile writing and lack of character development. And what abysmal detecting! Two bumbling detectives try to solve a series of murders...
I had high hopes when I first started reading this book, but that didn't last. The plot would have been interesting except for the juvenile writing and lack of character development. And what abysmal detecting! Two bumbling detectives try to solve a series of murders with techniques that are laughable.

I'm usually not so negative on reviews, but I think from now on, I'll pass up the 99 cent bargain books.

posted by 10154075 on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Highly Recommended.

    Great insight into the unseen world of the paranormal and supernatural. I could not put it down. You would never guess the killer is....

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Great series.

    Great series. Read them in order.

    Good characters and dialogue.

    Great mix of mystery and the supernatural. Character interaction if fun and witty.

    Would not read in my book club.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Excellent! Loved this book. The pool scene was unbelievable! I h

    Excellent!
    Loved this book. The pool scene was unbelievable! I have read the first two books now, this is going to be a great series. Both of the books so far have been excellent, and I will definitely be reading them again. But for now, on to the others!


    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Enjoyable and surprising mystery. Well worth the time.

    Definitely a mystery with paranormal background rather than paranormal story with mystery. For me this is a very good thing. Will be starting third book in series in 15 seconds. Can't be clearer. I liked it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    A gift!!

    I reviewed this book as lend me. I am glad i was lended this book; easy read, didn' t want to put it down. Sequal is next!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Must Read!!!!!

    Great book!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Very good

    Good read good characters

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    highly recommended

    great characters. story grabbed ne right away

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Excellent

    I loved it. Thought i knew who the killer was. It takes a lot to stump me and it did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Five stars

    Can't wait to start next book in series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Much better than I expected

    I love paranormal and mystery. This book is great at both. A lot of twists and turns. Every time I thought I knew who the killer was, I was proven wrong. Cant wait to read the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Loved it!

    Im new to the paranormal genre, & I got this and the 2nd book on a whim, really, because one was free (& Thank you author/pub for that! Great bait!). I started reading, not expecting much...however, I became swept up in the mystery and all the twists and turns that I finished 498 pages in a 24 hr period! Moving on, now, to book 2! Thanks again for the book 2 freebie & a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    The witches ladder

    This is.a great book if.you.like witch stories this.is.good.a.bit
    Gross has details.this is more of a murder mystery but it has alot of psychic. Phenomenom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Awesome!

    Awesome book. Different from your typical paranormal read. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Loved the CSI/supernatural mix.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great read

    Great detective story with a twist. Looking foward to other stories by this aurhor

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Excellent

    I just started reading the second of the series and so far it is every bit as good as the first. I will be reading all eventually. My husband read the first one and ordered the rest all at once.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Looks like the start of a good series

    A group of people with some interesting powers, a murder and the line between good and evil starts to blur quickly with some complex and interesting characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Great read!

    This book kept me turning the pages. Looking forward to the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Witches

    Loved it. It had me trying to figure out who did what.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3