Customer Reviews for

The Witness

Average Rating 4.5
( 739 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(447)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

The Witness

I like most of Nora Roberts books but this is a great read! I read it as quickly as I could because I liked the characters and dialog. Of course, I wanted the happy ending. I have read Nora Roberts books since she started publishing them. But I am really pleased at ...
I like most of Nora Roberts books but this is a great read! I read it as quickly as I could because I liked the characters and dialog. Of course, I wanted the happy ending. I have read Nora Roberts books since she started publishing them. But I am really pleased at how strong her women characters are.

posted by 4877384 on April 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

I have read everything written by Nora Roberts and love her styl

I have read everything written by Nora Roberts and love her style. The book flows and I read it in a matter of two nights. I love the characters but I admit that I miss her earlier style where there is more suspense and a bit more emotional highs and lows. Lately her bo...
I have read everything written by Nora Roberts and love her style. The book flows and I read it in a matter of two nights. I love the characters but I admit that I miss her earlier style where there is more suspense and a bit more emotional highs and lows. Lately her books seem to get you on that heightened emotional state early and then the intensity plateaus until the end, which is a bit anticlimactic for this author. Still, love her books and will continue to read them and hoping for a bit more excitement.

posted by PeruvianPrincess on April 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 739 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    The Witness

    I like most of Nora Roberts books but this is a great read! I read it as quickly as I could because I liked the characters and dialog. Of course, I wanted the happy ending. I have read Nora Roberts books since she started publishing them. But I am really pleased at how strong her women characters are.

    47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read many books by this author, so naturally had to get the

    I've read many books by this author, so naturally had to get the next book. It did not disappoint!

    30 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Nora's books tend to be excellent, and this one did not disappoi

    Nora's books tend to be excellent, and this one did not disappoint. The romance was a bit quieter than in some of her books, but that was in keeping with the characters. I was especially moved by Abigail's realizations about the nature of love, and what it means to be part of a relationship. I started the book last night, intending to read for about an hour, but ended up finishing the book-- it was engrossing enough that I didn't notice the passing of time!

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    I admit to being a diehard Nora Roberts fan so I always assume I

    I admit to being a diehard Nora Roberts fan so I always assume I'll like a book she writes. This one is going to the top of my list as an all-time favorite. The characters were great and I enjoyed seeing them develop. Got to love a man who can love a strong woman!

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    I have read everything written by Nora Roberts and love her styl

    I have read everything written by Nora Roberts and love her style. The book flows and I read it in a matter of two nights. I love the characters but I admit that I miss her earlier style where there is more suspense and a bit more emotional highs and lows. Lately her books seem to get you on that heightened emotional state early and then the intensity plateaus until the end, which is a bit anticlimactic for this author. Still, love her books and will continue to read them and hoping for a bit more excitement.

    19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. I bought the audio book and the nar

    I really enjoyed this book. I bought the audio book and the narrator was also good.

    19 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book, but every time Abigail spoke, I kept picturing Amy Farrah Fowler from Big Bang Theory. It put a unique twist on the story.

    18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Good book

    Good book

    13 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    This book was great! I do love her romantic suspense stories li

    This book was great! I do love her romantic suspense stories like this one. Reminds me a little of Angel's Fall. Loved the story and the different dynamics of the characters. This was a really satisfying book - great romance, great mystery, great conclusion. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good read.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Outstanding!

    No one weaves a more believable tale than Ms. Roberts. Engaging, at times fast paced, highly charged and moving. I loved this book!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Enjoyable!!

    As a devoted NR fan, I can't help but read her books as soon as they are published. Her last few novels have been rather ho-hum, in my opinion. This one however, reminded me of why I came to enjoy her writing to begin with. Wonderful characters, suspense, and romance.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    THE WITNESS is fast-paced, hard hitting and even harder to put d

    THE WITNESS is fast-paced, hard hitting and even harder to put down. Need to a lot enough time for it because it’s huge. Interesting, fully developed characters such as a social retard genius in the midst of small town, down to earth populous and always the bad guys round out the cast. Suspenseful plot-twists kept my nose in the book barely pausing to make a quick bathroom visit. I like this much better than the wedding series that I found quite “Ho hum”. This is one you should have no regrets having read it.


    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent job as always

    I found this book to be highly entertaining, the plot was not predictable and it was easy flowing. Abigail was a loveable character and one of which I could relate to. Three dimensional characters and overall great dialogue. I definitely will recommend this for anyone who loves a great book and especially if you are a fan of Nora's. Loved it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    This is one of the best books by Nora Roberts in a long time. T

    This is one of the best books by Nora Roberts in a long time. The character, Abigail, is really out of the norm for one of Roberts' books. A lot of Roberts' strong female characters sound like Eve Dallas. Abigail is tough, but her dialogue seems completely true and honest for a very intellectual woman. I loved the way she plotted her revenge and how she found justice for her friends without risking her new identity. Bravo, Ms. Roberts!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    If you like Nora's books you are going to love Witness. If you n

    If you like Nora's books you are going to love Witness. If you never read Nora's books then this is the one to read, you'll be hooked on all of her books just like I am.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    I love Nora Robert's books and this one did not disappoint.. I a

    I love Nora Robert's books and this one did not disappoint.. I actually bought the audio version and could not get over how believable the characters were. Elizabeth/Abigal's voice sounds just like her character should, I don't know if I would have felt the same way about her if i had read the book instead of listening to it?.?
    If you're looking for high suspense and lots of action this isn't the Nora Roberts book for you....stick with Eve and Rourke if you want action, but it was an excellent and believable love story without being sappy (if you know what I mean). Excellent book!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    What to say...

    I really don't know where to begin regarding everything I found annoying about this book. I bought it, expecting high suspense, likeable characters, a little realistic romance....a flowing plot. It was none of these things. Frankly, if thisis typical of Nora Roberts, I can't say I'd want to read another one.
    It started out semi-interesting...then lapsed into full-fledged ridiculous. It was tiring to read of something happening, only to read it retold from one character to another. That got old and it happened quite a bit in the nook.
    And there sure were a lot of random, unnecessary characters!!

    I also don't get why we, the readers, should be expected to enjoy the romance of Liz/Abigail with Brooks when he was nothing short of uncharmingly pushy, as was his mother.
    If you really must read, get it free from the library. Save yourself the money. I wish I had.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Good book

    I have been reading Roberts books for years, and have always gotten the new releases, but now I'll just be waiting for the paperback books to come out. Her books are getting to be the same thing over and over again, just different characters and situations. This had a good storyline, and it could have been better, if Roberts had spent more time on it. She has so much going on with her different series (will always buy hardcover, just released JD Robb books), that she's neglecting the book she's currently working on.
    This story didn't have any action, which was kind of expected at the end. Big let down, the ending. And the male lead character is so unbelievable, with how quickly he wants a relationship. A happy love story, but pretty much 'Same old, Same old'.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Boring!

    This book is not exciting at all. Nora Roberts uaually writes a great romantic suspense noval, but this one is an unsexy born!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Typical and predictable

    I love Nora Roberts but found this book to be a little disappointing. No surprises, very easy to predict what would happen next. Wish I had waited for my library to carry it instead of paying $15!!!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 739 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37