Customer Reviews for

The Witness

Average Rating 4.5
( 708 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(425)

4 Star

(153)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

The Witness

I like most of Nora Roberts books but this is a great read! I read it as quickly as I could because I liked the characters and dialog. Of course, I wanted the happy ending. I have read Nora Roberts books since she started publishing them. But I am really pleased at ...
I like most of Nora Roberts books but this is a great read! I read it as quickly as I could because I liked the characters and dialog. Of course, I wanted the happy ending. I have read Nora Roberts books since she started publishing them. But I am really pleased at how strong her women characters are.

posted by 4877384 on April 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

I have read everything written by Nora Roberts and love her styl

I have read everything written by Nora Roberts and love her style. The book flows and I read it in a matter of two nights. I love the characters but I admit that I miss her earlier style where there is more suspense and a bit more emotional highs and lows. Lately her bo...
I have read everything written by Nora Roberts and love her style. The book flows and I read it in a matter of two nights. I love the characters but I admit that I miss her earlier style where there is more suspense and a bit more emotional highs and lows. Lately her books seem to get you on that heightened emotional state early and then the intensity plateaus until the end, which is a bit anticlimactic for this author. Still, love her books and will continue to read them and hoping for a bit more excitement.

posted by PeruvianPrincess on April 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Good book

    I have been reading Roberts books for years, and have always gotten the new releases, but now I'll just be waiting for the paperback books to come out. Her books are getting to be the same thing over and over again, just different characters and situations. This had a good storyline, and it could have been better, if Roberts had spent more time on it. She has so much going on with her different series (will always buy hardcover, just released JD Robb books), that she's neglecting the book she's currently working on.
    This story didn't have any action, which was kind of expected at the end. Big let down, the ending. And the male lead character is so unbelievable, with how quickly he wants a relationship. A happy love story, but pretty much 'Same old, Same old'.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Typical and predictable

    I love Nora Roberts but found this book to be a little disappointing. No surprises, very easy to predict what would happen next. Wish I had waited for my library to carry it instead of paying $15!!!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    I look for Roberts' hard covers to be more hard-edged; this read

    I look for Roberts' hard covers to be more hard-edged; this read ,to me, more like a Harlequin romance novel. Well written of course, but not what I expected.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Its was ok

    Not one of her best. Started off good but sorta fell flat.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    I really want to give this 3.5 stars. It was a little better th

    I really want to give this 3.5 stars. It was a little better than good, certainly better than the first BoonsBoro book, but the female character reminded me SO much of Temperance Brennan from the TV show Bones, that I heard her dialogue in Bones's voice. I didn't find it quite as predictable as some others did, but I was disappointed in the character development of some of the minor characters. That is what drew me to Nora Roberts' writing in the first place, the multi-dimensional minor characters and villains. Lately I've missed that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Very good!

    Got lost a few times in the beginning but then it all fell into place and could hardly put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Questionable

    I am a huge Nora fan but must say I was somewhat disappointed. What happened to the Russia Mafia? Do not co-mingle Nora and J.D. Just my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    A good read

    starts off suspenseful, then looses momentum, but the characters along the way are memorable. Suspense, Love, Some sex eventually, and the sheriffs delightful family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    I liked the story itself, my issue is with the format of the boo

    I liked the story itself, my issue is with the format of the book. Why can't Nora Roberts books be released in a normal mass market paperback size? I mean, I know it will be eventually, but why release it in this size at all except to charge more money? I love Nora Roberts and will continue to read her, but I am getting really fed up with all her re-releases of the same book in different formats. I will most likely not buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Another good read

    As always a great read. Believable characters and truly relatable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Spoiler

    Boring , hated the end . Only a few sentences that she gets killed. What about notifying next of kin?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Not the best Nora Roberts

    I've finished The Witness today. It's a long book--almost 4oo pages on my Nook, and I think it's a decent read but the sub-plot with the town jerk who wants to kill Abigail and Brooks just doesn't need to be there at all--and why the part about the private investigator? That whole part could have been deleted. Why do we need to know that he was walking around her property? To show that Brooks is very intuitive? Why did we need to know he had a baby on the way? Why did he have to get arrested and sent home? Yeah, the rich guy is a jerk and his son is an idiot but they don't even show up in the climax! I know it adds to the character development and conflict, but I was really hoping for The Russian mob guy to go after her and have a stand-off. I think it would have been so much more suspenseful had she done that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Fair

    Not as. Good as.my friend said it would be. A little slow and boring. The setting in Ark. Could be a little hickey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Brooks character.. Needs more...

    I don't think the Brooks character was done justice... There is emphasis on his role in changing Abigail's life but the way his character is built and portrayed falls short of this expectation... Also I would have enjoyed a greater reference to the Russian mob involvement... One more thing some dimensions are very similar to Stieg Larsson's The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo... Have to say I loved latter.. This book has potential though...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    I would appreciate some help w/ the search thing

    What the heck do i do

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Recommended for die-hard fans. Roberts created a unique characte

    Recommended for die-hard fans. Roberts created a unique character in Abigail Lowery. The Witness has an excellent and beautiful ending. The Witness has a similar theme for Romantic Suspense. A young beautiful woman is in danger and the handsome law enforcement official or general good guy is there to save the day and of course provide love & romance. I love the formula especially when it's written by Nora Roberts. The Witness is better than Chasing Fire and The Search in the Romantic Suspense Dept.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4