Customer Reviews for

The Witness

Average Rating 4.5
( 741 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(449)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

The Witness

I like most of Nora Roberts books but this is a great read! I read it as quickly as I could because I liked the characters and dialog. Of course, I wanted the happy ending. I have read Nora Roberts books since she started publishing them. But I am really pleased at ...
I like most of Nora Roberts books but this is a great read! I read it as quickly as I could because I liked the characters and dialog. Of course, I wanted the happy ending. I have read Nora Roberts books since she started publishing them. But I am really pleased at how strong her women characters are.

posted by 4877384 on April 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

I have read everything written by Nora Roberts and love her styl

I have read everything written by Nora Roberts and love her style. The book flows and I read it in a matter of two nights. I love the characters but I admit that I miss her earlier style where there is more suspense and a bit more emotional highs and lows. Lately her bo...
I have read everything written by Nora Roberts and love her style. The book flows and I read it in a matter of two nights. I love the characters but I admit that I miss her earlier style where there is more suspense and a bit more emotional highs and lows. Lately her books seem to get you on that heightened emotional state early and then the intensity plateaus until the end, which is a bit anticlimactic for this author. Still, love her books and will continue to read them and hoping for a bit more excitement.

posted by PeruvianPrincess on April 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 449 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    The Witness

    I like most of Nora Roberts books but this is a great read! I read it as quickly as I could because I liked the characters and dialog. Of course, I wanted the happy ending. I have read Nora Roberts books since she started publishing them. But I am really pleased at how strong her women characters are.

    47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read many books by this author, so naturally had to get the

    I've read many books by this author, so naturally had to get the next book. It did not disappoint!

    30 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    I admit to being a diehard Nora Roberts fan so I always assume I

    I admit to being a diehard Nora Roberts fan so I always assume I'll like a book she writes. This one is going to the top of my list as an all-time favorite. The characters were great and I enjoyed seeing them develop. Got to love a man who can love a strong woman!

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Good book

    Good book

    13 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    This book was great! I do love her romantic suspense stories li

    This book was great! I do love her romantic suspense stories like this one. Reminds me a little of Angel's Fall. Loved the story and the different dynamics of the characters. This was a really satisfying book - great romance, great mystery, great conclusion. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good read.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Outstanding!

    No one weaves a more believable tale than Ms. Roberts. Engaging, at times fast paced, highly charged and moving. I loved this book!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    THE WITNESS is fast-paced, hard hitting and even harder to put d

    THE WITNESS is fast-paced, hard hitting and even harder to put down. Need to a lot enough time for it because it’s huge. Interesting, fully developed characters such as a social retard genius in the midst of small town, down to earth populous and always the bad guys round out the cast. Suspenseful plot-twists kept my nose in the book barely pausing to make a quick bathroom visit. I like this much better than the wedding series that I found quite “Ho hum”. This is one you should have no regrets having read it.


    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent job as always

    I found this book to be highly entertaining, the plot was not predictable and it was easy flowing. Abigail was a loveable character and one of which I could relate to. Three dimensional characters and overall great dialogue. I definitely will recommend this for anyone who loves a great book and especially if you are a fan of Nora's. Loved it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    This is one of the best books by Nora Roberts in a long time. T

    This is one of the best books by Nora Roberts in a long time. The character, Abigail, is really out of the norm for one of Roberts' books. A lot of Roberts' strong female characters sound like Eve Dallas. Abigail is tough, but her dialogue seems completely true and honest for a very intellectual woman. I loved the way she plotted her revenge and how she found justice for her friends without risking her new identity. Bravo, Ms. Roberts!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    If you like Nora's books you are going to love Witness. If you n

    If you like Nora's books you are going to love Witness. If you never read Nora's books then this is the one to read, you'll be hooked on all of her books just like I am.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    I love Nora Robert's books and this one did not disappoint.. I a

    I love Nora Robert's books and this one did not disappoint.. I actually bought the audio version and could not get over how believable the characters were. Elizabeth/Abigal's voice sounds just like her character should, I don't know if I would have felt the same way about her if i had read the book instead of listening to it?.?
    If you're looking for high suspense and lots of action this isn't the Nora Roberts book for you....stick with Eve and Rourke if you want action, but it was an excellent and believable love story without being sappy (if you know what I mean). Excellent book!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have read almost all of Nora Robert and J.D. Robb's books and

    I have read almost all of Nora Robert and J.D. Robb's books and I can truly say that this book is one of the best I have ever read!
    This book is a Murder/Crime, Romance and Comedy!! You can't find this type of book very often and if you do, it a treasure!
    I am so sad that it's over!! This book is 406 pages and I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN, I finished it in a day and a half! Ha. I wish it could have gone on forever..or at least a novella to give a little up date.
     There's always hope! ;) h

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    The Witness

    Nora Roberts is a fabulous story teller. You cannot go wrong with this book. It kept me turning pages late into the night. definitely recommend this book..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    I'm a tough grader

    Usually, if I like a book, I will give it four stars, but only a few can earn that last star. This was one of them! I began not particularly liking the hero but in the end, he was just what Elizabeth needed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Sweet book

    Very interesting story with a good ending

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Loved it!

    Another great Nora Roberts book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Nora Roberts does it again!

    This story sucks you in and doesnt let you go untol the very last page.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply loved it. All of her books are phenomenal. I enjoy her

    Simply loved it. All of her books are phenomenal. I enjoy her style of writing, so effortlessly the words flow. The character Abigail was strong and believable. THe plot was very good and it got better towards the end. I would recommend it, I read it in one day!

    I read another book that was really good too "The Chief's Niece." I'd recommend that too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Loved it... spoiler alert!

    I love the twist in the Elizabeth section... thank you Nora for not going where my mind was going! I was so anticipating that she'd be kidnapped by by the Russians and I love how it ended up instead.

    I really wasn't sure I was going to love this book... but I ended up loving it!

    Delightfully done yet again, Nora!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    This was the best book I have read in a long time!!! You have do

    This was the best book I have read in a long time!!! You have done it again Nora.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 449 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23