Customer Reviews for

The Wolf Gift (Wolf Gift Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 405 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Welcome Back to the Fantastical

Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the ...
Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the wolves do kill, they kill for a reason and its one of those moral gray areas which makes the reader think. I like it, I like Rice, and like all of her other very compelling novels...this book describes atmosphere and emotion better than anything. I am so glad to see her back in a supernatural genre where she belongs, if you want a slightly different take on the wolf myth, go for this book.

posted by FARIEQUEENE on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

From the Wolf's Gift: "Actually, I haven't accomplished one

From the Wolf's Gift:
"Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the...
From the Wolf's Gift:
"Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the time he was my age. But I'm a nothing and a nobody, actually. I've only been with the paper six months. I should have come with a warning label. But believe me, I'll make this a story you'll love."

Unfortunately it doesn't. This is a very sanitized PC correct retelling of the werewolf mythos and surprisingly the most believable aspect of the novel is that there is a werewolf in it. The actions and reactions of all others involved fail to ring with any truth to them. You are reading a book, by a talented author who brings nothing fresh, new and exciting to the genre.
For any story, especially a story that should be classified as horror there needs to be a definite suspension of belief and in this The Wolf's Gift fails. The protaginist meets an older women at a house he falls in love with and by connection falls in love with the older woman as well. Nevermind the fiance he left back in town. In the space of the single day he has dinner and sex and while he waits for her to return to bed, she calls her lawyers and wills the house to him. All in one night, must have been some night. But then she is attacked and so is he, but in the midst of the attack something comes to their rescue and bites him. She dies and he turns. The fiance and his family are incredibly understanding (the fiance is a DA who is involved now in the murder investigation. Hey he slept with the woman but he didn't kill her and it was a romantic night so she understands. His mom the surgeon is worried that he is healing so quickly.
As a werewolf he can only attack evil doers as shedding innocent blood is repugnant and the beast cannot kill innocence....
It gets more unbelievable from here.

I once read that horror, done poorly, becomes comedy. A farce. This is the Wolf's Gift.

posted by AlbertG on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 405 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    This book is a mish mash of faulty philosophy, ersatz catholicis

    This book is a mish mash of faulty philosophy, ersatz catholicism, and such burning questions as "Is it okay to kill and eat people as long as they're badddd people? Really? If she intended to ask the big questions about good and evil and what constitutes moral behavior, she missed. What a waste of paper.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Really?

    The central love story is terrible and ridiculous. The characters arent likeable. Theyre pretensious and unrealistic. I was very disappointed. As an Anne Rice reader, I'm shocked at the way this book dragged on. The book was often super predictable or totally mind boggling because of the inorganic actions of the characters. Most of the book was unbelievable not because it was a werewolf involved, but because the series of thoughts, actions and conversations made no sense. There were short bursts of interest, but they were far and few between.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great Disappointment from Rice...

    I'm recognizing several different "hand" signatures in the writing. Almost as if Ms. Rice does a chapter and then a high school freshman does a chapter. We spend way too much time with characters asking themselves questions about their motivations and what they shall do next, instead of just showing what they will do. Did no one edit this mess?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Don't waste your time or money

    I hadn't read any Anne Rice books since the Interview with the Vampire series so thought I would give this a try. I can't even begin to tell you how unbelievably stupid and moronic this book was. I mean really, a woman who falls in love with a werewolf and has sex with him while he is in his wolf form. Ugh.. Seriously the whole storyline was pitiful. The only reason I finished reading it was because I paid for it. It was actually kind of painful to read it was so bad. I will never read another Anne Rice book again.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Well worth reading!

    I enjoyed the story from beginning to end.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Classic Anne Rice

    Cant wait for the next book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Love it, but.. (SPOILERS)

    I love this book! I stumbled upon The Wolf Gift in a Walmart store, so I don't have this version (unfortunately) - but it was such a great read I thought I'd review it here, anyway.
    The writing was superb - the descriptions of the city - and the house our main character resides in - lush and vivid. The storyline was amazing in the way that Anne Rice almost made it believable.
    My only critique - and this is the reason why sadly, I only rated 4 stars - the werewolves' ability to swoop in, save someone, leave DNA at the scene - and have said DNA disintegrate before it gets to a forensics lab - rang a little false to me. I know its a fictional, supernatural creature; but they've been around for a LONG time.
    So why in, say, the 1700s would a werewolf need that ability? Did they evolve it or what?
    See what I mean - it didn't really make sense.
    Other than that, another awrsome book from the amazing Mrs. Rice!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Not worthy of Anne Rice

    Ugh. Who wrote this book and used Anne Rice's name? I made it slightly past the part where the werewolf has tender sex with a strange woman he mysteriously comes across in a cabin in the woods. Not only isn't she afraid when she sees a werewolf hanging out in her yard, she welcomes him in, in more ways than one. Then he goes to his brother the priest to confess that he's the werewolf... In a confessional in a church, no less. Your eyes should be bleeding about now. Not scary, not smart, and not even mildly enjoyable. The second book in my life that I couldn't finish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    The Wolf Gift Anne Rice the legendary Gothic writer is back wit

    The Wolf Gift Anne Rice the legendary Gothic writer is back with a vengeance.

    The Wolf Gift is truly a magnificent read, Anne Rice the legendary Gothic writer is back with a vengeance. Anne rice doesn’t just offer a tale of lycanthropy she has reinvented the mythology of werewolves. She gives the werewolf sophistication, eloquence and romance. As always with Anne’s signature writing style, Anne Rice takes you into a world of such description that you can feel that your in Nideck Point, smelling and feeling the Redwoods surrounding you. The cold moist mist of the forest creeping up your skin. Anne mixes the mundane and supernatural beautifully. You really become engulfed in the narrative, the narrative having a beautiful classic and modern mixture to it. One of the things that I loved about reading in Anne’s Novel is that she really goes into the psychological depth of the character. We see how Reuben goes through this transformation not only psychologically but spiritually and philosophically. Anne Rice has not only reinvented the genre she has given the werewolf purpose. We all know the old Cliche of lycanthropy lore, An ordinary man is suddenly bitten by a creature he can’t identify in the dead of night. And transforms into a werewolf on a full moon, turning him into a mindless beast that savagely tears anyone or anything apart, whether it be friend or foe, Only ending up dead by a silver bullet. One can hardly sympathize with a protagonist that can tear you apart when their in this state. There is really no character to the age old werewolf. But in Anne’s cosmology when the transform occurs, Reuben is in full control of his actions when his in his beastly transformation. Not only is he in full control he decides to do good with his newly found powers, Saving victims from violent crimes. Choosing not to become the predator of the innocent but saving those who are being preyed upon by evil doers. Choosing to make evil his prey.

    What’s also fascinating about The Wolf Gift is that not only are we witnessing the hero’s psychological development and knowing him more intimately. But we also get to know the beast when Reuben transforms, We read what Reuben is feeling, thinking when he becomes The Wolf Man, which he describes as something sensuous and invigorating. We’er in The Wolf Man’s mind when his hunting, running through the forest, listening to the cries of anguish from the innocent. As he runs to save them from their cruel fates. And The pleasure he feels when he kills evil doers. We fall in love with both man and beast which are both at once , and neither one at the same time.

    When we first meet Reuben Golding we see him as a sheltered, handsome, wise, and poetic young man. Who really wishes to be taken seriously amongst his family, friends and peers. which I think many of Anne’s younger readers can identify with. Reuben is a young reporter working for The San Francisco Observer trying to prove to himself and his family his worth. Reuben finds himself living a mundane, passionless life. Not living the life he hoped for himself. Until he mets Marchent Nideck, to write an article on the Nideck manor. Reuben quickly falls in love with the mysterious house which is a character all it’s own in the novel with secrets of it’s own. Reuben is not only drawn to this magnificent house and to the beautiful heiress Marchant Nideck. But is also drawn to Felix Nideck who mysteriously disappeared 20 years ago. Reuben see’s in Felix the man he himself wants to become. A nomad of the world, uncovering ancient secrets and ancient knowledge. When Reuben transforms into The Wolf Man Reuben not only changes physically but mentally. Reuben changes from a young naive, sheltered, inexperienced boy to a man. Reuben finds himself seeing the beauty of the world and the grotesque, Uncovering dark secrets and acquiring knowledge in ways he couldn’t have as an ordinary man. The title The Wolf Gift is more then it implies Anne Rice doesn’t just write about the gift of being a werewolf, but also the gift of life and the gift of knowledge we acquire from life its self, and what we choose to do with it. As always with Anne’s novels it has a mixture of Philosophy, Mythology, Classic horror, Mystery and science fiction. Overall I think anyone with the love of werewolf literature will appeal and love The Wolf Gift.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    This is the most fascinating book that I have read in a long tim

    This is the most fascinating book that I have read in a long time and I read about 11 books a week! I am a Christian and a science fiction fan and it satisfied both needs. I was really sad that it was finished and can hardly wait for the next "Wolf" book to come out. I can remember almost every detail of this book and it became very real to me. Her descriptions of both things and people are excellent! This is the first Anne Rice book that I have read and I never write reviews, but this was just too good to not commit on! I hope the next book is soon in coming!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Divine!

    This novel contains all the classic aspects of Anne Rice's writing that I have loved over the years. The mystery, the adventure, the philosophy and spiritual questioning, even the romance. Absolutley loved this book and I know I will read it again and again!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Not so impressed....

    I'm a long time Anne Rice fan, her Witching Hour series were my favorite, so I was anxious to read this book and it got great reviews. I really was not very impressed. Yes it's beutiful writing (classic Anne Rice) but the story itself did not grab my interest. The ending felt hurried and cut short.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    Thank you Anne rice for this amazing story! Classic Rice finally! All I can say is more, more, more please!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    AMAZING TALE

    It's been awhile since I've read a book I enjoyed as much as The Wolf Gift! Anne Rice weaves a deeply rich and visual tale with a new spin on the Werewolf legacy. If you weren't a fan of werewolves before (which I was not), you will be when you finish this gem. HIGHLY recommended!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    A big disappointment. When does a 'writing style' cross the lin

    A big disappointment. When does a 'writing style' cross the line and simply become the same scenes from previous works recycled again and again? (Especially those scenes describing intimate situations). I am not certain. However, there is no question that Rice crosses that line in this book. For the first time in my experience, I chucked a Rice novel. It was downright annoying, and the one intimate incident I forced myself through was nauseating in its description of what amounts to bestiality. This IS the first Rice novel I did not finish. It is also the last one I will ever attempt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Boring

    Yawn, boring, poorly written not in the least bit frightening waste of time and money. On star is one too many

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Dumb, dumb, dumb.  Lets see the most gorgeous guy in Northern Ca

    Dumb, dumb, dumb.  Lets see the most gorgeous guy in Northern California, meets the best looking older woman who falls for him in about 15 minutes, sets him up with the house of a lifetime and then how lucky can you get he gets the gift of were wolf and because of this he finds the second most gorgeous older woman.   I don't expect a lot, but maybe a scar or on his butt or something.  Dumb, dumber than the twilight series if that is even possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    I had to review this work as below average, because it just does

    I had to review this work as below average, because it just does not have the necessary qualities to grade it any higher. I love Anne Rice and have always found her books and characters compelling, intelligent and mesmerizing, but this book had nothing of that feel to it. I feel like Anne Rice did not even write it, which I'm thinking maybe she didn't, because it was so not like her other works. I notice other reviewers saying they hated the protogonist and I did as well. He was highly unlikeable and boring. I don't really know what Rice was thinking makinh her new "Wolf" so bland. He should have been bad-ass and totally hot, not some quirky, boring journalist with not much of a personality. Sorry. I just could not get into it as much as I really wanted to. I would not recommend buying it. It is not worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Wolf gift

    Classic anne rice!!!"""
    I love u more more more please how about the sequel to the mummy!!!!! Been a fan forever


    Pamela murphy dinuba ca

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Disappointed....

    Maybe I should finish the book before I write a review but...honestly...I'm finding that hard to do. I'm a huge Anne Rice fan and was super excited when she started writing again. However, this book feels as if she took a single night to think it up and write it out. The writing and character build up is poor and the storyline seems a bit all over the place and very unexciting. I'm disappointed Anne Rice, but I still adore you and I'm hopeful for your future work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 405 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21