Customer Reviews for

The Wolf Gift (Wolf Gift Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 405 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Welcome Back to the Fantastical

Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the ...
Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the wolves do kill, they kill for a reason and its one of those moral gray areas which makes the reader think. I like it, I like Rice, and like all of her other very compelling novels...this book describes atmosphere and emotion better than anything. I am so glad to see her back in a supernatural genre where she belongs, if you want a slightly different take on the wolf myth, go for this book.

posted by FARIEQUEENE on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

From the Wolf's Gift: "Actually, I haven't accomplished one

From the Wolf's Gift:
"Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the...
From the Wolf's Gift:
"Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the time he was my age. But I'm a nothing and a nobody, actually. I've only been with the paper six months. I should have come with a warning label. But believe me, I'll make this a story you'll love."

Unfortunately it doesn't. This is a very sanitized PC correct retelling of the werewolf mythos and surprisingly the most believable aspect of the novel is that there is a werewolf in it. The actions and reactions of all others involved fail to ring with any truth to them. You are reading a book, by a talented author who brings nothing fresh, new and exciting to the genre.
For any story, especially a story that should be classified as horror there needs to be a definite suspension of belief and in this The Wolf's Gift fails. The protaginist meets an older women at a house he falls in love with and by connection falls in love with the older woman as well. Nevermind the fiance he left back in town. In the space of the single day he has dinner and sex and while he waits for her to return to bed, she calls her lawyers and wills the house to him. All in one night, must have been some night. But then she is attacked and so is he, but in the midst of the attack something comes to their rescue and bites him. She dies and he turns. The fiance and his family are incredibly understanding (the fiance is a DA who is involved now in the murder investigation. Hey he slept with the woman but he didn't kill her and it was a romantic night so she understands. His mom the surgeon is worried that he is healing so quickly.
As a werewolf he can only attack evil doers as shedding innocent blood is repugnant and the beast cannot kill innocence....
It gets more unbelievable from here.

I once read that horror, done poorly, becomes comedy. A farce. This is the Wolf's Gift.

posted by AlbertG on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 405 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome Back to the Fantastical

    Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the wolves do kill, they kill for a reason and its one of those moral gray areas which makes the reader think. I like it, I like Rice, and like all of her other very compelling novels...this book describes atmosphere and emotion better than anything. I am so glad to see her back in a supernatural genre where she belongs, if you want a slightly different take on the wolf myth, go for this book.

    44 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    Great book with great story line. Stayed up late to finish it.

    42 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    From the Wolf's Gift: "Actually, I haven't accomplished one

    From the Wolf's Gift:
    "Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the time he was my age. But I'm a nothing and a nobody, actually. I've only been with the paper six months. I should have come with a warning label. But believe me, I'll make this a story you'll love."

    Unfortunately it doesn't. This is a very sanitized PC correct retelling of the werewolf mythos and surprisingly the most believable aspect of the novel is that there is a werewolf in it. The actions and reactions of all others involved fail to ring with any truth to them. You are reading a book, by a talented author who brings nothing fresh, new and exciting to the genre.
    For any story, especially a story that should be classified as horror there needs to be a definite suspension of belief and in this The Wolf's Gift fails. The protaginist meets an older women at a house he falls in love with and by connection falls in love with the older woman as well. Nevermind the fiance he left back in town. In the space of the single day he has dinner and sex and while he waits for her to return to bed, she calls her lawyers and wills the house to him. All in one night, must have been some night. But then she is attacked and so is he, but in the midst of the attack something comes to their rescue and bites him. She dies and he turns. The fiance and his family are incredibly understanding (the fiance is a DA who is involved now in the murder investigation. Hey he slept with the woman but he didn't kill her and it was a romantic night so she understands. His mom the surgeon is worried that he is healing so quickly.
    As a werewolf he can only attack evil doers as shedding innocent blood is repugnant and the beast cannot kill innocence....
    It gets more unbelievable from here.

    I once read that horror, done poorly, becomes comedy. A farce. This is the Wolf's Gift.

    30 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    As only Rice can do

    Finally Anne has came full circle, and it dosent let you down. A little slow to start but the story finally held me in its grips to the weee hours of the morning. As good a tale as the Vampires, the Mayfair Witches or Ramese the Damned and I'd not mind seeing more from these age-old morphenkind, past and present. I know when a story has really hooked me, its when I think, please mamm may I have another.

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Borrow- do not buy.

    I love Anne Rice but this is beneath her. Or perhaps I'm getting a more developed BS detector. First, the characters were AWFUL. When Rice wasnt using them to suffer the reader through descriptive fireplaces, herb salad, or redwood forests... she made them dialogue in the most ridiculous manner. I dont know who the hell talks the way Reuben does. It was irritating, unneccesary, and distracting. Reuben himself was completely unlikeable. When he was with Laura, he tells himself whatever 'thing' he had with Marchent wasn't love. Then when Felix shows up, he mourns the love he lost that was Marchent. So either Rice was lazy, or Reuben is exactly what I thought he is-- a tool. Someone reviewed that 'reading this is akin to a creative writing assignment in highschool.' You know, the awful story your friend wrote that you pretend to like but just sucked 3 hours of your time? There's so much more to pick on... lack of plot, the forced presence of religion, that Laura came from practically nowhere, or the unintended hilarity of an orgasmic transformation....

    22 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Insufferably Boring

    I have always been a fan of the werewolf genre; (movies, books, etc.) and I had to force myself to finish this book. The characters were flat and boring, the dialogue was the worst I've come across since George Lucas' wooden dialogue in the Star Wars prequels, the pacing felt rushed, like Rice just wanted to be finished with the book, and even the descriptive language felt like a high schooler's attempt at creative writing. I wish I could get my money and my time back after reading this incredibly disappointing book. I wish I could give less than a one star rating.

    16 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Zero Stars

    I don't know what happened to Anne Rice, her earlier stories were riveting, her characters fully fleshed and dynamic, and despite the absurdity of the world she still sold it. Not so with The Wolf Gift. The premise is a joke, the characters wooden, and the situation's are implausible to say the least.
    What's worse is despite the fact that the main character is a homicidal werewolf, she tries to sell you that he's still a good christian man, complete with sending the werewolf to confession. She never felt the need to sell Lestat as a good guy. He wasn't, yet we still loved him, faults and all.
    Sorry Anne, you may have found god, but you lost your soul.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    Anne Rice is known for her well researched books, story lines and plots but this book was beyong wonderful. At times it seemed a hell of a lot to take in: the rich history and the lore, the whole idea of the werewolf in general...she managed to put a new spin on the subject. This book definitely will make one evaluate their beliefs in the lore and even God. She consistently offers a new way of thinking and explains the mass hysteria humanity is capable of as well as the sincere understanding so few posess. That inate ability for persistance and a belief in something greater, that humankind can be human and monster, hero snd villian all at once is an amazing concept. These morphenkind seem far more close to humans than her vampires and far more fallible to the world of today. This book is highly recommended if you like to think and ponder within yourself, and if you open yourself to new possibilities!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    INSTANT CLASSIC (a must read)

    I am on my second read of The Wolf Gift, 3/4 of the way done. I know as soon as Im done I will read it for the 3rd time.Yes its that good, the book is fantastic, Classic Anne Rice, Plot, fantastic characters, suspense, romance, it has it all. The details in Anne's writting puts your mind in a 3D movie. Another best seller for Anne Rice and a instant classic. I highly recommend this book to everyone, and give it a 5 star rating because thats the highest score, but it really deserves a 10 star rating. Henry Valdes (Miami FL)

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Fantastic Book.

    I loved this book and could not put it down. This is traditional Anne Rice. I can not wait to read the next. I was not real happy with her last series and I have read most her books from the beginning. This is Anne at her best on the Human Condition. Thanks Anne.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    This book was a complete disappointment. It started out like cla

    This book was a complete disappointment. It started out like classic Anne Rice and I loved it, but it guickly turned to complete stupiity. I had to give up onthe book. Anne needs to get off this religious high horse and stop involving the Church in everything she does. When the wereeolf goes to confession AS A WEREWOLF, the boundry has been crossed and can not be recovered. such a sham to see an amazing author go to waste

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    HowlllllTastic :)

    This is the first Time I have ever written a review for a book. I wanted this to be a Moment that will never be forgotten, so Im about to review a book that has changed my life in so many ways. When I first heard about the wolf gift back last November, I was ecstatic and over whelmed with excitement as the days got closer to Feb.14th 2012 I met many fans of Anne Rice that had little or No money but these were good people that were saddened that the release date was approaching and they could not share the anticipation or joy with all the other fans, so discretely I began a collection of address's of fans that I knew would love this book and would give anything to have a copy. On Feb. 14th and the week following, I bought 16 copies of The Wolf Gift, one copy for myself and sent the rest of them to complete strangers around the globe so that they could share this moment with all of the Rice Fans. I had not read a book by Anne Rice since Interview with the Vampire in 1994 when I was a senior in High school and I carried that book from class to class and when I got bored in class I would read, It took me to a world that I could see and Imagine and all I knew is that I wanted to be apart of that world forever, I read it several times before the movie was introduced ohh yes! I was full forced into Vampire fever when I First saw the movie in the Theatre :) so now fast forward to 2012 on Feb. 14th, I spent my lovers day curled up wearing my snuggie on my new royal blue Micro Suede couch in my office and away I went into another world.. Anne's description of the redwoods was a feeling of home as I have touched these redwoods many times through out my life, I know the smell of the bark and I know the fog very well as I have grown up on the west coast and have been to California many times so I can feel what Reuben was seeing as he first came to Nideck Point and from those first couple of pages I was hooked and read three quarters of the book nearly finishing the book that night as it was the 5 most incredible hours of my decade. The most intense moment for me was when Reuben experienced his transformation into the unknown darkness that he was about to face for the very first time of his existence and that gave me the chills down to the core of my bones, as I preceded on I felt the desire to want to be the merchant and feel Reuben in my arms. Anne Rice gave me a chance to live inside The wolf Gift and I have never lusted any story quite like this in my whole life and I had great desire for more of this story as I read the last words of the book "and Lord, I thank you for the Wolf Gift.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Highly recommended

    At first it was a little slow. But then i really gobt into it. Reubban is a different kind of werewolf. Instead of killing humans for blood lust. He kills humans who are evil like murderers crueltly hes like a viglante. Its a new and refreshing twist on werewolf stories. Im not done with the book yet.but i know i will like it. Try it its a new angle on werewolf stories. (:

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Disappointing

    As a fan of paranormal genre I was excited to see The Wolf Gift from Anne Rice. However I was terribly disappointed. The book started out promising and then just never developed. The only part of the book that seemed to have any effort from her were the gorry scenes of him "feasting on flesh". Save your money.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    It is another must read

    I have just read one chapter and I can not wait to finish, I am really partial to wolves myself and now another wonderful wolf tale by a wonderful writer!!!!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Not so much

    The story opened with possibility.
    Then it quickly just dragged along.

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Disappointed

    I was excited to see Ms. Rice had went back to this genre. I was disappointed that the quality was not the same. This book seemed to drag in many places. I would not buy another of this series.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    A Gift to Her Fans

    I was excited to experiance another supernatural tale by A. Rice! A HUGE fan of her vampire series I was vey intrested to see her vivid twist on werwolves, and twist she did! Rice is never one to follow suit in "traditional" tellings of the supernatural and she leaves you with a taste in your mouth longing to know more, page after page.

    I feel this is a new series being developed, that we will need the rich back story as the mystery unfolds.....just as Interview with a Vampire lead us into her world of vampires, The Wolf Gift leads us into her impresive tales of the man wolf.

    It is my greatest hope the story does not end here as it has left me excited and yearning for more.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mrs. Rice had done it again. The Wolf Gift introduces a great ne

    Mrs. Rice had done it again. The Wolf Gift introduces a great new cast of characters. This pack of werewolves will, no doubt, be featured in several more volumes in much the way that her wonderful vampires and witches were explored and developed in so many previous volumes. The main character of Reuben reminds me somewhat of the lovely Louis of the Vampire Chronicles, and Stuart brings to mind the little vampire girl of those novels. I suspect that Felix or one of the other guys introduced towards the end of the book will play a role similar to the vampire Lestat (including a wonderful historical backstory). The story in this novel unfolds in a unique way, with the werewolves sort of presented in the role of super hero. The novel also considers religion in interesting ways that I am sure reflects the author’s on-going personal evolution in her spiritual beliefs. One suspects that some aspects of this story probably reflect or ponder meaning and truths in the author’s gay son’s life. I can’t help but wonder if the blonde teen wolf (who is openly gay) represents at least some of her thoughts about her boy. I think it’s wonderful that she is more directly than ever focusing on this subject matter and how it co-mingles with all of society. I have very much enjoyed Anne’s books about angels and the life of Jesus, but no one is better than she with these supernatural beings and creatures of folklore. I eagerly await the next novel in what will hopefully be a large series.
    Michael Travis Jasper, author of the novel “To Be Chosen”

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait to open it...

    Ive always been an Anne Rice fan, so I am excited to dive into her latest creation. I am expecting it to keep my attention locked just as her previous novels have done.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 405 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21