Customer Reviews for

The Wolf Gift (Wolf Gift Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 405 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Welcome Back to the Fantastical

Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the ...
Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the wolves do kill, they kill for a reason and its one of those moral gray areas which makes the reader think. I like it, I like Rice, and like all of her other very compelling novels...this book describes atmosphere and emotion better than anything. I am so glad to see her back in a supernatural genre where she belongs, if you want a slightly different take on the wolf myth, go for this book.

posted by FARIEQUEENE on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

From the Wolf's Gift: "Actually, I haven't accomplished one

From the Wolf's Gift:
"Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the...
From the Wolf's Gift:
"Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the time he was my age. But I'm a nothing and a nobody, actually. I've only been with the paper six months. I should have come with a warning label. But believe me, I'll make this a story you'll love."

Unfortunately it doesn't. This is a very sanitized PC correct retelling of the werewolf mythos and surprisingly the most believable aspect of the novel is that there is a werewolf in it. The actions and reactions of all others involved fail to ring with any truth to them. You are reading a book, by a talented author who brings nothing fresh, new and exciting to the genre.
For any story, especially a story that should be classified as horror there needs to be a definite suspension of belief and in this The Wolf's Gift fails. The protaginist meets an older women at a house he falls in love with and by connection falls in love with the older woman as well. Nevermind the fiance he left back in town. In the space of the single day he has dinner and sex and while he waits for her to return to bed, she calls her lawyers and wills the house to him. All in one night, must have been some night. But then she is attacked and so is he, but in the midst of the attack something comes to their rescue and bites him. She dies and he turns. The fiance and his family are incredibly understanding (the fiance is a DA who is involved now in the murder investigation. Hey he slept with the woman but he didn't kill her and it was a romantic night so she understands. His mom the surgeon is worried that he is healing so quickly.
As a werewolf he can only attack evil doers as shedding innocent blood is repugnant and the beast cannot kill innocence....
It gets more unbelievable from here.

I once read that horror, done poorly, becomes comedy. A farce. This is the Wolf's Gift.

posted by AlbertG on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 54 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Flame to silver and grey

    That woul be hao and niah....state your buisness....ahe growled.her wings flared

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    I had trouble finishing this book. There was a bit too much of t

    I had trouble finishing this book. There was a bit too much of the good-evil, god-devil, why am I a wolf but boy am I glad I am a wolf going on for me. Too prosy, too much detail on eating entrails and killing animals...etc. I have read better Anne Rice books and am sorry that she didn't do a better job on this one. I had the feeling she was trying to work out her own relationship with God in this book. I also wondered what was up with the older woman younger man theme. Oh well...win some lose some and this one was not a winner in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    I was hoping for a good read and got a story about a wimp turne

    I was hoping for a good read and got a story about a wimp turned into a gentle werewolf to stupied to know what he has become

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Blurb is a put off

    Too much info state genre or combo of this sounds like same old just a different species of or a sub author mom

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Just no

    I love Anne Rice and her work, but this was just awful. Cheesy, predictable, and not enticing. It is as if her publisher demanded books and she just wrote one quickly to shut them up. I couldnt even finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

    I have been trying to get through this entire book but I keep putting it down and hoping by some miracle the words will draw me back in when I return. It has been much like opening an empty refrigerator, nothing has appeared of interest since I last left it. I am incredibly disappointed, I have made it to Chapter 15 but still can't seem to enjoy it! It is not like me not to complete an entire book, but I am going to discontinue this and move on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Sorry, didn't like it.

    Predictable and dull. Didn't care for any of the characters, especially Laura and Reuben who were so unrealistic. No sexual or romantic chemistry between the two. Went long on architecture, herb salads, and psedophilosophy...I skimed over those parts in hopes to get to the story which never came. At places, the story felt like a retelling of Interview. Forced myself to finished it, sorry Anne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    I couldn't even finish this book, which is rare for me. I never

    I couldn't even finish this book, which is rare for me. I never got into it and hated the main character. The prose is forced, none of the characters are developed, and the entire story was constrained. Like another reviewer, I got the impression Rice felt obligated to write a new book and pounded it out just to get it out of the way.

    The story went from dull to completely ridiculous. I read Anne Rice's vampire series ages ago when they first came out, so I had high hopes for this. She has completely lost her touch. I know she is known for some of the racy scenes in her books, but the ones in The Wolf Gift were absurd. Without ruining the story, Rice lost me after the second laughable "love scene". The main character is in werewolf form, comes across a cabin in the woods where he sees a woman on the porch, decides he has to have her, goes onto the porch, says 2 sentences to her, sweeps her off to bed and not only does she go willingly, she has the night of her life. Please. I only made it a few chapters after that when I just couldn't stomach it any more.

    I normally enjoy these types of books and really like some of Anne Rice's earlier works. As far as I'm concerned, this was a huge waste of $13 dollars. There are so many other books that are much better written and have much better stories. Even if you like Anne Rice, I suggest you stay away from The Wolf Gift or borrow it so you're not out of pocket.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Not up to Rice standards

    I was very disappointed and forced myself to complete the novel. The vampire books were riveting and each book was complete but left you wanting more. Books I love I read again and again, as well as authors that I collect every one of their stories, Nooks are great but I still love the feel of a hardback, and the beauty of books on the wall,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Claptrap

    Psudo anthropology, religous meandering and a story that could scare 8 year olds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Anubis

    Haha wha do u want to do now?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Borrow it - don't spend the money.

    I am an avid Anne Rice fan, but I found this book extremely dissappointing. Because I listened to the book, at first, I wasn't sure whether it was the reader that I was reacting to or the writing. Ultimately, I decided it was a bit of both. The reader didn't have much to work with. The charachters, which are usually so enticing, were not developed enough to relate to and their interactions were mechanical. Seriously, a wherewolf shows up on your back step and you invite him into bed?!? It felt as if this was one of the first books Anne Rice ever wrote and she pulled it off of the closet shelf just to get some extra income. I wish she had returned to Angel time or even the Jesus books. I am sorry I wasted the money on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    interesting, but ...

    Soooooo much conversation. This really took me back to her Vampire Chronicles, which I quit reading because there is so much conversation and thinking going on it eventually felt like "slogging" through it. Yes, the character is definitely created, but I think maybe Laura's character could have been a little more filled out and Reuben's a little less. I'm not finished with the book quite yet, and I'm getting a bit impatient with it.

    Besides, it's kinda delving into a bit of bestiality, I think, making it sexy instead of the disgusting thing it really is.

    And how on earth can Reuben swing through the trees like a monkey when he has paws, not fingers?

    I don't think I'm going to bother finish reading it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Sensor a bit then sell under religion & spirituality for teens.

    I read the low rated reviews however I had to read for myself because I <3 Anne rice books. Maybe it should have been put under the correct genre. Maybe a new one should be made for it. Idk? But :(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 54 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3