Customer Reviews for

The Wolf Gift (Wolf Gift Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 397 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Welcome Back to the Fantastical

Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the ...
Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the wolves do kill, they kill for a reason and its one of those moral gray areas which makes the reader think. I like it, I like Rice, and like all of her other very compelling novels...this book describes atmosphere and emotion better than anything. I am so glad to see her back in a supernatural genre where she belongs, if you want a slightly different take on the wolf myth, go for this book.

posted by FARIEQUEENE on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

From the Wolf's Gift: "Actually, I haven't accomplished one

From the Wolf's Gift:
"Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the...
From the Wolf's Gift:
"Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the time he was my age. But I'm a nothing and a nobody, actually. I've only been with the paper six months. I should have come with a warning label. But believe me, I'll make this a story you'll love."

Unfortunately it doesn't. This is a very sanitized PC correct retelling of the werewolf mythos and surprisingly the most believable aspect of the novel is that there is a werewolf in it. The actions and reactions of all others involved fail to ring with any truth to them. You are reading a book, by a talented author who brings nothing fresh, new and exciting to the genre.
For any story, especially a story that should be classified as horror there needs to be a definite suspension of belief and in this The Wolf's Gift fails. The protaginist meets an older women at a house he falls in love with and by connection falls in love with the older woman as well. Nevermind the fiance he left back in town. In the space of the single day he has dinner and sex and while he waits for her to return to bed, she calls her lawyers and wills the house to him. All in one night, must have been some night. But then she is attacked and so is he, but in the midst of the attack something comes to their rescue and bites him. She dies and he turns. The fiance and his family are incredibly understanding (the fiance is a DA who is involved now in the murder investigation. Hey he slept with the woman but he didn't kill her and it was a romantic night so she understands. His mom the surgeon is worried that he is healing so quickly.
As a werewolf he can only attack evil doers as shedding innocent blood is repugnant and the beast cannot kill innocence....
It gets more unbelievable from here.

I once read that horror, done poorly, becomes comedy. A farce. This is the Wolf's Gift.

posted by AlbertG on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    From the Wolf's Gift: "Actually, I haven't accomplished one

    From the Wolf's Gift:
    "Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the time he was my age. But I'm a nothing and a nobody, actually. I've only been with the paper six months. I should have come with a warning label. But believe me, I'll make this a story you'll love."

    Unfortunately it doesn't. This is a very sanitized PC correct retelling of the werewolf mythos and surprisingly the most believable aspect of the novel is that there is a werewolf in it. The actions and reactions of all others involved fail to ring with any truth to them. You are reading a book, by a talented author who brings nothing fresh, new and exciting to the genre.
    For any story, especially a story that should be classified as horror there needs to be a definite suspension of belief and in this The Wolf's Gift fails. The protaginist meets an older women at a house he falls in love with and by connection falls in love with the older woman as well. Nevermind the fiance he left back in town. In the space of the single day he has dinner and sex and while he waits for her to return to bed, she calls her lawyers and wills the house to him. All in one night, must have been some night. But then she is attacked and so is he, but in the midst of the attack something comes to their rescue and bites him. She dies and he turns. The fiance and his family are incredibly understanding (the fiance is a DA who is involved now in the murder investigation. Hey he slept with the woman but he didn't kill her and it was a romantic night so she understands. His mom the surgeon is worried that he is healing so quickly.
    As a werewolf he can only attack evil doers as shedding innocent blood is repugnant and the beast cannot kill innocence....
    It gets more unbelievable from here.

    I once read that horror, done poorly, becomes comedy. A farce. This is the Wolf's Gift.

    29 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Disappointing

    As a fan of paranormal genre I was excited to see The Wolf Gift from Anne Rice. However I was terribly disappointed. The book started out promising and then just never developed. The only part of the book that seemed to have any effort from her were the gorry scenes of him "feasting on flesh". Save your money.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Not so much

    The story opened with possibility.
    Then it quickly just dragged along.

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Disappointed

    I was excited to see Ms. Rice had went back to this genre. I was disappointed that the quality was not the same. This book seemed to drag in many places. I would not buy another of this series.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Not so impressed....

    I'm a long time Anne Rice fan, her Witching Hour series were my favorite, so I was anxious to read this book and it got great reviews. I really was not very impressed. Yes it's beutiful writing (classic Anne Rice) but the story itself did not grab my interest. The ending felt hurried and cut short.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    I had to review this work as below average, because it just does

    I had to review this work as below average, because it just does not have the necessary qualities to grade it any higher. I love Anne Rice and have always found her books and characters compelling, intelligent and mesmerizing, but this book had nothing of that feel to it. I feel like Anne Rice did not even write it, which I'm thinking maybe she didn't, because it was so not like her other works. I notice other reviewers saying they hated the protogonist and I did as well. He was highly unlikeable and boring. I don't really know what Rice was thinking makinh her new "Wolf" so bland. He should have been bad-ass and totally hot, not some quirky, boring journalist with not much of a personality. Sorry. I just could not get into it as much as I really wanted to. I would not recommend buying it. It is not worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Disappointed....

    Maybe I should finish the book before I write a review but...honestly...I'm finding that hard to do. I'm a huge Anne Rice fan and was super excited when she started writing again. However, this book feels as if she took a single night to think it up and write it out. The writing and character build up is poor and the storyline seems a bit all over the place and very unexciting. I'm disappointed Anne Rice, but I still adore you and I'm hopeful for your future work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Typical self-indulgence

    I found this book to be so typical of Ms. Rice's recent offerings, drawn out ramblings from character's that do not draw you in or make you care about what ultimately happens to them. In fact I find her writing style extremely self-indulgent-not revealing the many facets of her obviously well thought out characters but writing in such a way that satisfies her need to show us she still has "it". I enjoyed her writing so much more when her character/story development was fresh and original, not just a re-gurge of what brought her to the forefront of modern fiction so many years ago.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    meh...

    As an avid Anne Rice lover, I found this story to be pretty bottom-rung. If you loved "interview with a vampire" you will be bored and irritated by this one. What starts out as a very promising setup soon dissipates into boredom due to a very shallow plotline. I don't know why someone who is such a great writer at her best, would waste a potentially great new serial opportunity as she does here. Sorry, Anne.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Poor ending

    I have been a fan of this author for about twenty years now. Some books are better than others. I was actually looking forward to this one, because I enjoy the author's prose and originality. However, I felt halfway through the book that the concept felt contrived, and I thought the ending was dreadful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Back to the usual Anne Rice but...

    Back to the usual Anne Rice but not as good as the Vampire books at all. Decent read, quick and easy - good for daily travel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Fancy

    A little too high-falutin' for me. Storyline was ok but could've been more intriguing, definitely more exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Need A Book That Won't Keep You Up At NIght?

    This book enticed me as I am a fan of Anne Rice's Vampire series. I was expecting the same passion and articulation for these fabled beasts. I did not find it this time. The Wolf Gift visits the world of the werewolf or man wolf. This story begins very well, but quite soon swoops into goofiness and the irresponsible inanity of a "B" movie. Though disappointing, it is still readable, but altogether easily set down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    I really wanted to love this book, unfortunately I didn't. It i

    I really wanted to love this book, unfortunately I didn't. It is very wordy and boring. It reminded me of a middle school essay where a certain amount of wrods were required and the author just threw words in to make the count. I love werewolf novels and like I said I really wanted to love this book, but it is so boring and tedious I just couldn't force myself to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Back to her roots? I was so intrigued by the possibility of Anne

    Back to her roots?
    I was so intrigued by the possibility of Anne Rice returning to her supernatural roots until I read this book. I've read all her vampire and witch novels and enjoyed them. She had a flair for descriptive language and intricate characterizations that is sadly lacking from this book. These characters are neither believable, likeable, nor fully fleshed out. There isn't one you'd want to meet and converse with even if you were their next evil victim (they don't eat innocent people, although little birdies and bunnies are fair game). Blah! Then she finishes with a philosophical and religious discussion among the werewolves...oops make that Morphenkind; her term, not mine. Pretentious to the max and in no way believable or enjoyable. I finished it hoping it would improve as I read through it, but have no intention of reading the sequel. This was more than enough and certainly not a gift, nor a page turner one stays up until the wee hours to finish. The only mystery was why I wasted my time on a book so easily put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Meh

    The introduction of characters is clumsy and awkward, but the story is interesting and has a nice pace. I enjoyed most of the book but the dinner scene in which Margon shares the history of Morphenkind is a huge sleeping pill. The tone and feel of the story shifts to something cheesy and dramatic. Its at this point the characters lose validity. The 16 year Stuart loses all pretext with youthful culture. I won't be reading any more of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Freeze to all

    HALO IS DEAD!!! DADDY IS DEAD!!!*Collapses sobbing on the groumd.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Slow

    Slow boring plot. Not up to Anne Rice standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    The predictable and boring forced myself to read to page 300 but

    The predictable and boring forced myself to read to page 300 but could not finish no matter how hard I tried, very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Save your money & check it out of the library

    Definitely not up to previous Rice efforts. Loved the vampires, mummy, etc. but this is is just bad on all levels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2