Customer Reviews for

The Wolf Gift (Wolf Gift Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 410 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Welcome Back to the Fantastical

Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the ...
Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the wolves do kill, they kill for a reason and its one of those moral gray areas which makes the reader think. I like it, I like Rice, and like all of her other very compelling novels...this book describes atmosphere and emotion better than anything. I am so glad to see her back in a supernatural genre where she belongs, if you want a slightly different take on the wolf myth, go for this book.

posted by FARIEQUEENE on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

From the Wolf's Gift: "Actually, I haven't accomplished one

From the Wolf's Gift:
"Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the...
From the Wolf's Gift:
"Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the time he was my age. But I'm a nothing and a nobody, actually. I've only been with the paper six months. I should have come with a warning label. But believe me, I'll make this a story you'll love."

Unfortunately it doesn't. This is a very sanitized PC correct retelling of the werewolf mythos and surprisingly the most believable aspect of the novel is that there is a werewolf in it. The actions and reactions of all others involved fail to ring with any truth to them. You are reading a book, by a talented author who brings nothing fresh, new and exciting to the genre.
For any story, especially a story that should be classified as horror there needs to be a definite suspension of belief and in this The Wolf's Gift fails. The protaginist meets an older women at a house he falls in love with and by connection falls in love with the older woman as well. Nevermind the fiance he left back in town. In the space of the single day he has dinner and sex and while he waits for her to return to bed, she calls her lawyers and wills the house to him. All in one night, must have been some night. But then she is attacked and so is he, but in the midst of the attack something comes to their rescue and bites him. She dies and he turns. The fiance and his family are incredibly understanding (the fiance is a DA who is involved now in the murder investigation. Hey he slept with the woman but he didn't kill her and it was a romantic night so she understands. His mom the surgeon is worried that he is healing so quickly.
As a werewolf he can only attack evil doers as shedding innocent blood is repugnant and the beast cannot kill innocence....
It gets more unbelievable from here.

I once read that horror, done poorly, becomes comedy. A farce. This is the Wolf's Gift.

posted by AlbertG on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome Back to the Fantastical

    Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the wolves do kill, they kill for a reason and its one of those moral gray areas which makes the reader think. I like it, I like Rice, and like all of her other very compelling novels...this book describes atmosphere and emotion better than anything. I am so glad to see her back in a supernatural genre where she belongs, if you want a slightly different take on the wolf myth, go for this book.

    47 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    A Gift to Her Fans

    I was excited to experiance another supernatural tale by A. Rice! A HUGE fan of her vampire series I was vey intrested to see her vivid twist on werwolves, and twist she did! Rice is never one to follow suit in "traditional" tellings of the supernatural and she leaves you with a taste in your mouth longing to know more, page after page.

    I feel this is a new series being developed, that we will need the rich back story as the mystery unfolds.....just as Interview with a Vampire lead us into her world of vampires, The Wolf Gift leads us into her impresive tales of the man wolf.

    It is my greatest hope the story does not end here as it has left me excited and yearning for more.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait to open it...

    Ive always been an Anne Rice fan, so I am excited to dive into her latest creation. I am expecting it to keep my attention locked just as her previous novels have done.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Classic Anne Rice

    Cant wait for the next book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Love it, but.. (SPOILERS)

    I love this book! I stumbled upon The Wolf Gift in a Walmart store, so I don't have this version (unfortunately) - but it was such a great read I thought I'd review it here, anyway.
    The writing was superb - the descriptions of the city - and the house our main character resides in - lush and vivid. The storyline was amazing in the way that Anne Rice almost made it believable.
    My only critique - and this is the reason why sadly, I only rated 4 stars - the werewolves' ability to swoop in, save someone, leave DNA at the scene - and have said DNA disintegrate before it gets to a forensics lab - rang a little false to me. I know its a fictional, supernatural creature; but they've been around for a LONG time.
    So why in, say, the 1700s would a werewolf need that ability? Did they evolve it or what?
    See what I mean - it didn't really make sense.
    Other than that, another awrsome book from the amazing Mrs. Rice!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Marvelous! Spellbinding!! Merrick and Lestat pale in comparison. Reuben has arrived...long life Morphenkinder...oh, please say there will be a movie!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2014

    Anne Rice will always be a literary legend!

    I have always loved Anne Rice and always will. She has a style and grace about her writing that captivates the audience. I understand that she is not for everyone, and that's probably why there are some poor reviews. New readers, you will never know for yourself till you open.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Great book!

    It's nice to see Anne Rice back in her element. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    great read

    could not put it down ....can't wait to start on next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    The Wolf Gift by Anne Rice

    I enjoyed this book and am glad Anne Rice is "back"-she has always been one of my favorite authors. This book is not the same as the Lestat series but still introspective and interesting. I look forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Seductive and gothic storytelling at it's best.

    The Anne Rice we know and love is back. Excellent storytelling, beautiful details, and gloriously gothic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    To wolf bloods...

    Ok scary... my teeth are sharp i'm called a vampire but i have more of a warm twmp. I don't have pointy ears but exellant hearing. Somtimes when im mad i growl but i cant hrrlp it. And i dont know my own strenth i hurt people without meaning to...i look weak and boys dare me to try to hurt them. I do it easily leaving them in pain. If i can twist their wrist i go for the nwck. Also im the violent scary perdon of the school and im also known for having no nerves... so yeah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    This is anne rice

    She writes about a lot of nothing, but its always get to the point. This story is very up dated with 400 pages. Very detailed in the killings, so you might think about that part. The book is very good and the up date to the present was really interesting and i enjoyed this book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Great read typical of Rice.

    Some of the long in depth explanations of the charters emotions can get tedious but over all Rice makes you want to be around the charters. Good book and I will be reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    I recommend this book to any Anne Rice fan and fans of books about werewolfs

    Nicely done. I really enjoyed this book and the way Anne Rice has of writing about the supernatural. It was easy to read and very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it ... awesome

    Wonderful book full of lots of interesting characters. Keeps you on the edge of your seat and wanting more. Not your usual werewolf story. Lots of interesting historical info too. Can't wait for the next one. Of course I do like werewolf and other such genere so that helps. Rice is not someone I normally read but this was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good read!

    Enjoyed this book, however it seemed to move a bit slowly at times. I would recommend it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Readable

    I know Anne Rice is a reknown author but I confess this is the first of her books I read. I enjoyed the story, and couldn't put it down. There were several things I didn't like much though: after the plot pretty much concluded there was an extensive discussion between the characters about the reason of their existence that, in my opinion, was unappealing. I believe that it was somehow necessary, since there is a sequel to the story, and still a lot of questions remain unanswered. I can't wait to kniw what happens on the upcoming book. I have a question though, how does a wolf man with fangs is able to kiss a normal woman without ripping her face off??? I just couldn't picture it though I really tried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    Although this book was pretty good, it was predictable and not u

    Although this book was pretty good, it was predictable and not up to the level I've grown to expect from Ms. Rice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    She does know how to keep you hooked.

    At the beginning, it was moving slow. But as only Anne Rice can do, the hook was imminent and the story starts to pick up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5