Customer Reviews for

The Wolf Gift (Wolf Gift Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(169)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Welcome Back to the Fantastical

Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the ...
Rice revisited her roots in Wolf Gift and I am glad she did. The plot, centering around a young journalist who goes through a most exotic and emotionally perplexing transformation is different from other werewolf books. The change isn't exactly horrific and while the wolves do kill, they kill for a reason and its one of those moral gray areas which makes the reader think. I like it, I like Rice, and like all of her other very compelling novels...this book describes atmosphere and emotion better than anything. I am so glad to see her back in a supernatural genre where she belongs, if you want a slightly different take on the wolf myth, go for this book.

posted by FARIEQUEENE on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

From the Wolf's Gift: "Actually, I haven't accomplished one

From the Wolf's Gift:
"Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the...
From the Wolf's Gift:
"Actually, I haven't accomplished one single thing in my life yet," he said with an ease that shocked him. "My mother's a brilliant surgeon; my big brother's a priest. My mother's father was an international real estate broker by the time he was my age. But I'm a nothing and a nobody, actually. I've only been with the paper six months. I should have come with a warning label. But believe me, I'll make this a story you'll love."

Unfortunately it doesn't. This is a very sanitized PC correct retelling of the werewolf mythos and surprisingly the most believable aspect of the novel is that there is a werewolf in it. The actions and reactions of all others involved fail to ring with any truth to them. You are reading a book, by a talented author who brings nothing fresh, new and exciting to the genre.
For any story, especially a story that should be classified as horror there needs to be a definite suspension of belief and in this The Wolf's Gift fails. The protaginist meets an older women at a house he falls in love with and by connection falls in love with the older woman as well. Nevermind the fiance he left back in town. In the space of the single day he has dinner and sex and while he waits for her to return to bed, she calls her lawyers and wills the house to him. All in one night, must have been some night. But then she is attacked and so is he, but in the midst of the attack something comes to their rescue and bites him. She dies and he turns. The fiance and his family are incredibly understanding (the fiance is a DA who is involved now in the murder investigation. Hey he slept with the woman but he didn't kill her and it was a romantic night so she understands. His mom the surgeon is worried that he is healing so quickly.
As a werewolf he can only attack evil doers as shedding innocent blood is repugnant and the beast cannot kill innocence....
It gets more unbelievable from here.

I once read that horror, done poorly, becomes comedy. A farce. This is the Wolf's Gift.

posted by AlbertG on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    Great book with great story line. Stayed up late to finish it.

    42 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    As only Rice can do

    Finally Anne has came full circle, and it dosent let you down. A little slow to start but the story finally held me in its grips to the weee hours of the morning. As good a tale as the Vampires, the Mayfair Witches or Ramese the Damned and I'd not mind seeing more from these age-old morphenkind, past and present. I know when a story has really hooked me, its when I think, please mamm may I have another.

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    Anne Rice is known for her well researched books, story lines and plots but this book was beyong wonderful. At times it seemed a hell of a lot to take in: the rich history and the lore, the whole idea of the werewolf in general...she managed to put a new spin on the subject. This book definitely will make one evaluate their beliefs in the lore and even God. She consistently offers a new way of thinking and explains the mass hysteria humanity is capable of as well as the sincere understanding so few posess. That inate ability for persistance and a belief in something greater, that humankind can be human and monster, hero snd villian all at once is an amazing concept. These morphenkind seem far more close to humans than her vampires and far more fallible to the world of today. This book is highly recommended if you like to think and ponder within yourself, and if you open yourself to new possibilities!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    INSTANT CLASSIC (a must read)

    I am on my second read of The Wolf Gift, 3/4 of the way done. I know as soon as Im done I will read it for the 3rd time.Yes its that good, the book is fantastic, Classic Anne Rice, Plot, fantastic characters, suspense, romance, it has it all. The details in Anne's writting puts your mind in a 3D movie. Another best seller for Anne Rice and a instant classic. I highly recommend this book to everyone, and give it a 5 star rating because thats the highest score, but it really deserves a 10 star rating. Henry Valdes (Miami FL)

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Fantastic Book.

    I loved this book and could not put it down. This is traditional Anne Rice. I can not wait to read the next. I was not real happy with her last series and I have read most her books from the beginning. This is Anne at her best on the Human Condition. Thanks Anne.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    HowlllllTastic :)

    This is the first Time I have ever written a review for a book. I wanted this to be a Moment that will never be forgotten, so Im about to review a book that has changed my life in so many ways. When I first heard about the wolf gift back last November, I was ecstatic and over whelmed with excitement as the days got closer to Feb.14th 2012 I met many fans of Anne Rice that had little or No money but these were good people that were saddened that the release date was approaching and they could not share the anticipation or joy with all the other fans, so discretely I began a collection of address's of fans that I knew would love this book and would give anything to have a copy. On Feb. 14th and the week following, I bought 16 copies of The Wolf Gift, one copy for myself and sent the rest of them to complete strangers around the globe so that they could share this moment with all of the Rice Fans. I had not read a book by Anne Rice since Interview with the Vampire in 1994 when I was a senior in High school and I carried that book from class to class and when I got bored in class I would read, It took me to a world that I could see and Imagine and all I knew is that I wanted to be apart of that world forever, I read it several times before the movie was introduced ohh yes! I was full forced into Vampire fever when I First saw the movie in the Theatre :) so now fast forward to 2012 on Feb. 14th, I spent my lovers day curled up wearing my snuggie on my new royal blue Micro Suede couch in my office and away I went into another world.. Anne's description of the redwoods was a feeling of home as I have touched these redwoods many times through out my life, I know the smell of the bark and I know the fog very well as I have grown up on the west coast and have been to California many times so I can feel what Reuben was seeing as he first came to Nideck Point and from those first couple of pages I was hooked and read three quarters of the book nearly finishing the book that night as it was the 5 most incredible hours of my decade. The most intense moment for me was when Reuben experienced his transformation into the unknown darkness that he was about to face for the very first time of his existence and that gave me the chills down to the core of my bones, as I preceded on I felt the desire to want to be the merchant and feel Reuben in my arms. Anne Rice gave me a chance to live inside The wolf Gift and I have never lusted any story quite like this in my whole life and I had great desire for more of this story as I read the last words of the book "and Lord, I thank you for the Wolf Gift.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Highly recommended

    At first it was a little slow. But then i really gobt into it. Reubban is a different kind of werewolf. Instead of killing humans for blood lust. He kills humans who are evil like murderers crueltly hes like a viglante. Its a new and refreshing twist on werewolf stories. Im not done with the book yet.but i know i will like it. Try it its a new angle on werewolf stories. (:

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    It is another must read

    I have just read one chapter and I can not wait to finish, I am really partial to wolves myself and now another wonderful wolf tale by a wonderful writer!!!!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mrs. Rice had done it again. The Wolf Gift introduces a great ne

    Mrs. Rice had done it again. The Wolf Gift introduces a great new cast of characters. This pack of werewolves will, no doubt, be featured in several more volumes in much the way that her wonderful vampires and witches were explored and developed in so many previous volumes. The main character of Reuben reminds me somewhat of the lovely Louis of the Vampire Chronicles, and Stuart brings to mind the little vampire girl of those novels. I suspect that Felix or one of the other guys introduced towards the end of the book will play a role similar to the vampire Lestat (including a wonderful historical backstory). The story in this novel unfolds in a unique way, with the werewolves sort of presented in the role of super hero. The novel also considers religion in interesting ways that I am sure reflects the author’s on-going personal evolution in her spiritual beliefs. One suspects that some aspects of this story probably reflect or ponder meaning and truths in the author’s gay son’s life. I can’t help but wonder if the blonde teen wolf (who is openly gay) represents at least some of her thoughts about her boy. I think it’s wonderful that she is more directly than ever focusing on this subject matter and how it co-mingles with all of society. I have very much enjoyed Anne’s books about angels and the life of Jesus, but no one is better than she with these supernatural beings and creatures of folklore. I eagerly await the next novel in what will hopefully be a large series.
    Michael Travis Jasper, author of the novel “To Be Chosen”

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Well worth reading!

    I enjoyed the story from beginning to end.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    The Wolf Gift Anne Rice the legendary Gothic writer is back wit

    The Wolf Gift Anne Rice the legendary Gothic writer is back with a vengeance.

    The Wolf Gift is truly a magnificent read, Anne Rice the legendary Gothic writer is back with a vengeance. Anne rice doesn’t just offer a tale of lycanthropy she has reinvented the mythology of werewolves. She gives the werewolf sophistication, eloquence and romance. As always with Anne’s signature writing style, Anne Rice takes you into a world of such description that you can feel that your in Nideck Point, smelling and feeling the Redwoods surrounding you. The cold moist mist of the forest creeping up your skin. Anne mixes the mundane and supernatural beautifully. You really become engulfed in the narrative, the narrative having a beautiful classic and modern mixture to it. One of the things that I loved about reading in Anne’s Novel is that she really goes into the psychological depth of the character. We see how Reuben goes through this transformation not only psychologically but spiritually and philosophically. Anne Rice has not only reinvented the genre she has given the werewolf purpose. We all know the old Cliche of lycanthropy lore, An ordinary man is suddenly bitten by a creature he can’t identify in the dead of night. And transforms into a werewolf on a full moon, turning him into a mindless beast that savagely tears anyone or anything apart, whether it be friend or foe, Only ending up dead by a silver bullet. One can hardly sympathize with a protagonist that can tear you apart when their in this state. There is really no character to the age old werewolf. But in Anne’s cosmology when the transform occurs, Reuben is in full control of his actions when his in his beastly transformation. Not only is he in full control he decides to do good with his newly found powers, Saving victims from violent crimes. Choosing not to become the predator of the innocent but saving those who are being preyed upon by evil doers. Choosing to make evil his prey.

    What’s also fascinating about The Wolf Gift is that not only are we witnessing the hero’s psychological development and knowing him more intimately. But we also get to know the beast when Reuben transforms, We read what Reuben is feeling, thinking when he becomes The Wolf Man, which he describes as something sensuous and invigorating. We’er in The Wolf Man’s mind when his hunting, running through the forest, listening to the cries of anguish from the innocent. As he runs to save them from their cruel fates. And The pleasure he feels when he kills evil doers. We fall in love with both man and beast which are both at once , and neither one at the same time.

    When we first meet Reuben Golding we see him as a sheltered, handsome, wise, and poetic young man. Who really wishes to be taken seriously amongst his family, friends and peers. which I think many of Anne’s younger readers can identify with. Reuben is a young reporter working for The San Francisco Observer trying to prove to himself and his family his worth. Reuben finds himself living a mundane, passionless life. Not living the life he hoped for himself. Until he mets Marchent Nideck, to write an article on the Nideck manor. Reuben quickly falls in love with the mysterious house which is a character all it’s own in the novel with secrets of it’s own. Reuben is not only drawn to this magnificent house and to the beautiful heiress Marchant Nideck. But is also drawn to Felix Nideck who mysteriously disappeared 20 years ago. Reuben see’s in Felix the man he himself wants to become. A nomad of the world, uncovering ancient secrets and ancient knowledge. When Reuben transforms into The Wolf Man Reuben not only changes physically but mentally. Reuben changes from a young naive, sheltered, inexperienced boy to a man. Reuben finds himself seeing the beauty of the world and the grotesque, Uncovering dark secrets and acquiring knowledge in ways he couldn’t have as an ordinary man. The title The Wolf Gift is more then it implies Anne Rice doesn’t just write about the gift of being a werewolf, but also the gift of life and the gift of knowledge we acquire from life its self, and what we choose to do with it. As always with Anne’s novels it has a mixture of Philosophy, Mythology, Classic horror, Mystery and science fiction. Overall I think anyone with the love of werewolf literature will appeal and love The Wolf Gift.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    This is the most fascinating book that I have read in a long tim

    This is the most fascinating book that I have read in a long time and I read about 11 books a week! I am a Christian and a science fiction fan and it satisfied both needs. I was really sad that it was finished and can hardly wait for the next "Wolf" book to come out. I can remember almost every detail of this book and it became very real to me. Her descriptions of both things and people are excellent! This is the first Anne Rice book that I have read and I never write reviews, but this was just too good to not commit on! I hope the next book is soon in coming!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Divine!

    This novel contains all the classic aspects of Anne Rice's writing that I have loved over the years. The mystery, the adventure, the philosophy and spiritual questioning, even the romance. Absolutley loved this book and I know I will read it again and again!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    Thank you Anne rice for this amazing story! Classic Rice finally! All I can say is more, more, more please!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    AMAZING TALE

    It's been awhile since I've read a book I enjoyed as much as The Wolf Gift! Anne Rice weaves a deeply rich and visual tale with a new spin on the Werewolf legacy. If you weren't a fan of werewolves before (which I was not), you will be when you finish this gem. HIGHLY recommended!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Wolf gift

    Classic anne rice!!!"""
    I love u more more more please how about the sequel to the mummy!!!!! Been a fan forever


    Pamela murphy dinuba ca

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Great look at modes werewolf

    This was well written and very descriptive. I admit I've never read anything by Anne Rice before but I may make up for that now.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Wonderful!

    All my old memories of Lasher and The Vampire Lestat are flooding back to me. High Recommended!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    love it!

    Anne rice is my top vampire author of all time! She has dipped you toes into the world of wolves and is off to a great start with both books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Loved it!

    Cant wait to read the next one!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9